Archives projects at Stanford

Archives Projects at Stanford - Spring 2016

Resources for the English Department graduate student group Archives Projects at Stanford.

A useful guide to research resources in literary studies

6th ed. [New York] : Modern Language Association.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Finding special collections materials beyond Stanford

Use these resources to find rare books and archival collections beyond Stanford.

Dublin, Ohio : OCLC,
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » Z695.83 .O3
WorldCat contains records for rare books and collection level records for archival collections at major research institutions around the world.
[Ann Arbor, Michigan] : Hathi Trust, [2008?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
HathiTrust is a repository of millions of books digitized by major research institutions. Log-in as a "Stanford University" user.
Oakland, CA : California Digital Library, [199-?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Online Archive of California (OAC) hosts the finding aids of major research institutions in California, including Stanford University Libraries. Choose "Browse institutions" to search finding aids at a specific institution.
[Mountain View, Calif.] : RLG
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
ArchiveGrid indexes collection level records and finding aids of major research libraries around the world.
[Alexandria, VA] : Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., [2008]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
ArchiveFinder indexes collection records for archival collections in the US, UK, and Ireland.

Historical newspaper collections

For individual newspaper or magazine titles, search for the title in SearchWorks. Use these resources to search across multiple newspapers.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
From the ProQuest platform, you may search across muliple historical newspapers by clicking "Change databases," selecting the newspapers you wish to search, and clicking "Use selected databases." Other newspapers include major American daily newspapers, such as the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and the Atlanta Constitution, as well as the Guardian and the Times of India.
[United States?] : Cengage Learning
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Specializes in British newspapers from the 17th century to the 20th century. Includes the Times, Punch, the Daily Mail, and the Times Literary Supplement, as well as many provincial newspapers from around the U.K.
[Chester, Vt.?] : Readex, [2004?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Specializes in American newspapers, including African-American newspapers.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : Proquest Information and Learning
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
British periodicals from the late 17th to the early 20th century, including the "Great Eight" illustrated papers.