Status message

COVID-19 update

Stanford Libraries e-resources are available to support you during remote instruction.
Physical access to library materials and locations remain closed at this time. read more

Bay Area music ethnography resources

Resources in support of the study of San Francisco Bay Area music making and musical culture.

Archival resources

Archive of Recorded Sound

The San Francisco Traditional Jazz Foundation Collection
Ken Ackerman Collection (jazz)
Bob Arnold Collection (pop)
James Schwabacher Collection (opera)

 

Music Library / Department of Special Collections, Green Library

Women’s Philharmonic (Bay Area symphonic group)

  • Scores, recordings, and video are in Music; business papers and correspondence are in Special Collections
  • Materials in this collection are listed in SearchWorks.

 

Department of Special Collections, Green Library

Photographs (1974-2001) from Alejandro Stuart, Director of the Latin American Cultural Center in San Francisco

  • MSS 210--includes photos of local musicians;
  • MS 138 Large Map Folder 1-- may contain additional ephemera (programs, announcements, etc.)

 

Beyond Stanford

Online Archive of California

  • a research gateway to unique and historical materials in archives, libraries, and museums throughout California

San Francisco Public Library, Bernard Osher Foundation Center

  • collects materials on artists, musicians, and other art professionals, primarily thos who have worked and/or lived in the Bay Area

WPA California Folk Music Project (at the Library of Congress)

Books

Ethnomusicology: new arrivals

  1. Bonnie B. McConnell. 2020

  2. edited by Anna Morcom and Timothy D. Taylor. 2020

    This handbook is currently in development, with individual articles publishing online in advance of print publication. At this time, we c...

  3. edited by Gregory Barz and William Cheng. 2020

  4. Margaret B. Wan. 2020

Ethnology field work: new arrivals

  1. Alan Barnard. 2007

  2. edited by Ullrich Kockel and Máiréad Nic Craith. 2007

  3. edited by Antonius C.G.M. Robben and Jeffrey A. Sluka. 2007

  4. Allaine Cerwonka and Liisa H. Malkki. 2007

  5. by Aimee Hess. 2007

For further reading

San Francisco : Work Projects Administration, Northern California, 1939-<1942 >
Music Library » Locked stacks: Ask at circulation desk » ML200.8 .S2 H6
Berkeley : University of California Press, c2012.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3917 .U6 M55 2012
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking