You are here

CEE 178/276 Human exposure analysis

CEE 178/276 - Spring 2015 - Instructor: Kopperud, R.
Last Updated: 20-Sep-2016

This quide lists resources to help locate quality literature on exposure to toxic chemical substances, including peer reviewed articles, for students in Human Exposure Analysis and similar courses. 

Remember when checking a chemical substance to check by both the name and the chemical formula when searching.  It is also possible for names to be in different orders.  For example, Indium Gallium Arsenide, Gallium Indium Arsenide, GaInAs, and InGaAs are all valid names for the same chemical substance.  Don't forget the American/British spelling issue either: Aluminum or Aluminium or Al, should pick up almost all the papers, but you can miss a lot if you only use one or the other spelling.

Some databases will also allow you to search on the unique CAS registry number.  Those numbers can be found on SciFinder or Toxnet, or Google the chemical name and "CAS ID" or "CAS number" to get it from Google.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Online handbooks

The Knovel and CRC collections of online handbooks have mutiple titles which cover aspects of chemical exposure.  They are good for getting up to speed on particular chemicals or techniques.  Sometimes the articles include bibliographies you can mine for further information.  The other two listed are standard works which are now available online.

2nd ed. / Oxford : Elsevier, 2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » RA1199 .C648 2010 V.1
The 14-volume second edition of "Comprehensive Toxicology" reflects new advances in toxicology research, including content by some of the leading researchers in the field. It provides a unique organ-systems structure that allows the user to explore the toxic effects of various substances on each human system, aiding in providing diagnoses and proving essential in situations where the toxic substance is unknown but its effects on a system are obvious.
[Boca Raton, Fla.] : CRC Press ; London : Taylor and Francis Group.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Some of the relevant titles in this collection are: Handbook of Chemicals and Safety, Occupational Exposure Assessment for Air Contaminants, Agrochemical and Pesticides Safety Handbook, Essentials of Toxic Chemical Risk, Science and Society and Predicting Chemical Toxicity and Fate.
Sixth edition /
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A concise, yet comprehensive, reference on all aspects of industrial exposures and toxicants; this book aids toxicologists, industrial hygienists, and occupational physicians to investigate workplace health problems. Chapters cover regulatory toxicology, toxicity testing, physical hazards, high production volume (HPV) chemicals, and workplace drug use. Includes information on occupational and environmental sources of exposure, mammalian toxicology, industrial hygiene, medical management and ecotoxicology.
4th ed. Burlington : Elsevier Science, 2014.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides comprehensive coverage of basic toxicological data, emphasizing toxic effects primarily in humans, but also those of animals and biological systems in vitro. The fourth edition also contains several new chapters on important topics such as nanotoxicology, metals in prosthetics and dental implants, gene-environment interaction, neurotoxicology, metals in food, renal, cardiovascular, and diabetes effects of metal exposures and more.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Relevant titles in this collection include: Merck Index, Hazardous Chemicals Handbook, Sittig’s Handbooks (various) and Patty’s Toxicology.

Selected databases

These sources are all listed in the SearchWorks online catalog.  Most of these collections of articles do not have full text included, but link out to the articles.  If you need a refresher on searching these, check the left sidebar under "Research Skills" for the "Find articles" refresher.

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Llife sciences literature and biomedical sciences literature, with deep, global, coverage on a wide range of subject areas.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Topics include: detection, monitoring, and analysis of pollution; sewage and wastewater treatment; hazardous wastes and refuse; toxicology of pesticides; heavy metals; agricultural chemicals; risk assessment.  Has ”Review” as a document facet.  Offers a “peer reviewed” checkbox option.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes over 5,000 journals including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) provide a powerful tool for searching topics. Updated daily, covers 1946--present, with some older material.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers chemistry & chemical engineering and organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of  provides access to literature of the  Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE.  One-time registration is REQUIRED to create a personal login ID.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The world’s largest multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles. Has ”Review” as a document facet.
Bethesda, Md. : National Library of Medicine, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A network of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.  May point to literature reviews on specific chemicals as part of the record.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Abstracts literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Has” Review” as a document facet.  Offers a “peer reviewed” checkbox option.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.  Has ”Review” as a document facet.