Chemical engineering resources for students

Home

Featured resources

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
[Columbus, OH] : McGraw-Hill
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
San Rafael, CA : Morgan & Claypool, 2005-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A library of 50- to 100-page “Lectures” covering core undergraduate course areas to more specialized upper-division and graduate-level topics in biomedical, environmental, and electrical engineering, as well as the state of the art in computer science and engineering research.

Books

Featured book

To find print and online books available at Stanford, use SearchWorks, the library catalog.   To do a full-text search of ebooks and view chapters, select eBooks on xSearch.  Subject categories in xSearch also include ebooks.

Managing Scientific Information and Research Data
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » Q180.55 .M3 B39 2015
Innovative technologies are changing the way research is performed, preserved, and communicated. Managing Scientific Information and Research Data explores how these technologies are used and provides detailed analysis of the approaches and tools developed to manage scientific information and data.

New chemical engineering books at Stanford

In the Library of Congress Classification Outline TP is Chemical Engineering.

No results

Books

Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings are grouped into four broad categories below. 

When you click on a link, a saved search is run in SearchWorks showing you items the library has acquired to date that was given that subject heading.

General Chemical Engineering

Biotechnology

Energy

Nanotechnology

Databases

Databases

  • Engineering Village, PubMed, and SciFinder are indepth subject databases for engineering, medicine, and chemistry. 
  • Scopus and the Web of Science are broad multidisciplinary databases. 
  • xSearch searches multiple resources at one time and includes full-text sources such as ebooks, ejournals, and reference titles, as well as databases. 
  • Derwent Innovations Index and Espacenet are international patent databases with links to full-text. 
Engineering Village logo 75percent
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The most important resource in EV is Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index. Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research and includes over 5,600 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports. Updated weekly, covers 1884-present.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
PubMed indexes journal articles in medicine and basic biomedical sciences. Links to NCBI molecular sequence and structure data are included in PubMed records.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
One-time registration (required) to create personal login ID. SciFinder is the most comprehensive coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world’s largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. 1907-present plus important scientific discoveries from mid-1800s. Updated daily.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts & humanities. Also includes articles in-press. Coverage: 1996-present.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search 10,000+ journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Move backward or forward in time using cited/citing references. Updated weekly, covers Sciences 1899-present, Social Sciences 1898-present, and Arts and Humanities 1975-present.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch allows you to search multiple databases at one time. Resources searched include abstracts and indexes that cover articles, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. xSearch resources also include full-text resources (books, journals, and reference materials). Go to Advanced Search page and choose the "Science & Engineering" category.

Patent Databases

  • Derwent Innovations Index and Espacenet are international in scope and include links to the full-text. 
  • Both databases are included as resources in the Science and Engineering section of xSearch (see Advanced Search page).
  • Patents are also included in SciFinder and are searchable by structure or chemical reaction. 
  • Because companies want to own the intellectual property from their research results, they publish in patents rather than in journals.
[Philadelphia] : Institute for Scientific Informtion, [1999?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Using information from 41 patent-issuing authorities, DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Updated weekly, covers 1963-present.
[Place of publication not identified] : European Patent Office.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Espacenet's worldwide database enables you to search for information about published patent applications from over 90 different countries and regions. Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide--most of them patent applications rather than granted patents--from 1836 today. Patent applications normally represent the first publication of a new idea, appearing ahead of journal articles and before new products reach the market. It is possible to print and download documents.

Journals

AIChE Journal

  

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)

Dictionaries

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
A indispensable reference that covers all aspects of chemical technology, including industrial processes and unit operations as well as fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Fully international in scope and coverage and published in the English language.

Handbooks

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Knovel provides access to over 4,000 leading reference works from leading societies, publishers, and authors. Its powerful full-text search engine includes the ability to search by keywords or numeric ranges of physical properties. Knovel also contains interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
[Columbus, OH] : McGraw-Hill
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Includes renowned engineering handbooks, powerful search tools, global engineering news, interactive tables and graphs, interactive videos and student study guides, and time-saving curriculum guides.
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » QD65 .H3 ED.99 2018/2019
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure.
4th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2012.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » TP149 .H285 2012
Fully revised throughout with new procedures, the Fourth Edition shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice. New calculations reflect the latest green technologies and environmental engineering standards.
Since 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook has delivered unrivaled, state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering—from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Featuring 2,700 pages and 1900 illustrations, the eighth edition is a comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, achievements, and methods in the field.
10th ed. / New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2003.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » TP145 .R53 2003
This is an accessible reference designed for professionals who need an orientation and overview on modern varied chemical processes, products and practices. It offers detailed data on the chemistry, engineering, economics and technological infrastructure of all major chemical industry segments.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Also includes a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.

* Biotechnology

Biotechnology Encyclopedias

Includes encyclopedias and major reference works.

2nd, completely rev. ed. Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-2001.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » TP248.2 .B5465 1991 INDEX
These twelve volumes are organized into three sections. The first four volumes consider the fundamentals of biotechnology from biological, biochemical, molecular biological, and chemical engineering perspectives. The next four volumes are devoted to products of industrial relevance. Special attention is given here to products derived from genetically engineered microorganisms and mammalian cells. The last four volumes are dedicated to the description of special topics.
[Bethesda, Md.] : John Wiley and Sons, 2011-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Comprehensive Physiology is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information that has ever been assembled. Browse by Topic
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researcher wishing to go into greater depth.
This encyclopedia is a new up-to-date resource for the global biotechnology industry. It is based on the Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology (Flickinger and Drew, 1999) and the Encyclopedia of Cell Technology (Spier, 2000). The content was fully revised, updated, and expanded to present all key aspects - theoretical and practical - of industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QP512 .W48 2009 V.1
This encyclopedia illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. Includes extensive linking to the primary literature and to other online resources.

Biotechnology Handbooks

2nd ed. New York : Stockton Press, 1991.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP248.3 .A853 1991
This work is intended to assist the development of both large and small biotechnological processes by establishing for the unit processes and unit operations involved: (1) their scientific and engineering basis; (2) their performance and operating characteristics; (3) the factors which influence their performance (4) their integration into complete processes.
Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP248.25 .C44 H36 2003
This handbook describes technologies for improving the biocatalytic capabilities of mammalian, microbial, and plant cells. The authors present techniques, methods, and strategies for industrial screening, cultivation, and scale-up of these cells, and describe their biotech and industrial uses.
Reviews techniques, approaches, and options in the use of microorganisms and other cell culture systems for the manufacture of pharmaceuticals, industrial enzymes and proteins, foods and beverages, fuels and fine chemicals, and other products.
1st ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2010.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TP248.6 .M478 2010
Presents a thorough and complete overview of the burgeoning field of metabolic pathway engineering. Focuses on the future areas of metabolic engineering and the impact of new technologies.

* Energy

Energy Encyclopedias

Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier Science, 2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Within the context of strict international regulatory guidance and mandatory performance characteristics, materials for modern nuclear systems need to demonstrate ever-increasing standards of dimensional stability, mechanical properties, reduction of waste byproducts and optimal cost-effectiveness.
Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This major reference work is arranged according to the most important themes in the field (Photovoltaic Technology; Wind Energy Technology; Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Technology; Biomass and Biofuels Production; Hydropower Applications; Solar Thermal Systems: Components and Applications; Geothermal Energy; Ocean Energy).
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.28 .E53 2004 V.1
This highly topical reference draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences. It provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic Press : imprint of Elsevier, c2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A interdisciplinary reference for those working with batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, supercapacitors, and photo-electrochemical cells.
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD553 .E53 2002
Electrochemical processes play an increasingly large role in our daily lives; whether in producing or saving energy, rust protection or nerve stimuli in our bodies. This 11 volume encyclopedia provides both an easy introduction to all topics related to modern electrochemistry as well as a comprehensive overview of the subject.
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2007.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers energy efficiency and conservation opportunities, renewable and alternative energy sources, the financial analysis of energy systems, environmental regulations, global climate change, green development, hydrogen-fueled vehicles, and more.
Oxford : Eolss Publishers, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. It attempts to forge pathways between disciplines in order to show their interdependence and helps foster the transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society.

Energy Handbooks

Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TK2896 .E485 2008
Discussing methods for maximizing available energy, "Energy Conversion" surveys the latest advances in energy conversion from a wide variety of currently available energy sources.
This book provides a comprehensive and systematic reference on the range of biomass conversion processes and technology. Part one reviews the key issues in the biofuels production chain, Part two reviews chemical and biochemical conversion, Part three reviews thermal and thermo-chemical conversion, and Part four reviews developments in the integration of biofuels production.
Chichester, England ; New York : Wiley, c2003-2009.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TK2931 .H36 2003 V.1
This handbook brings together for the first time in a single online reference work the fundamentals, principles and the current state-of-the-art in fuel cells. Its publication reflects the increasing importance and the rapidly growing rate of research into alternative, clean sources of energy. The Handbook is divided into four main themes: (1) Fundamentals and Survey of Systems (2) Fuel Cell Electrocatalysis (3) Fuel Cell Technology and Applications, and (4) Advances in Electrocatalysis, Materials, Diagnostics and Durability.
Oxford : Gulf Professional, 2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook presents an analysis of the process steps used to produce industrial hydrocarbons from various raw materials. It includes a thorough analysis of external factors effecting production such as: cost, availability and environmental legislation.
New York ; London : Springer, 2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This five volume work fills the need for an up-to-date condensed reference on nuclear engineering since 1958. It includes an introduction to new reactor types, such as Generation III, III+ and IV. This handbook describes the essential role nuclear energy plays in the future to ensure an adequate supply of non-polluting sustainable energy. Presents information accessible at multiple technical levels (students, professionals, researchers).
2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. : Wiley, 2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Fully revised and updated, the 2nd edition of this handbook incorporates the substantial technological advances and research developments in photovoltaics since its previous release. All topics relating to the photovoltaic (PV) industry are discussed with contributions by distinguished international experts in the field.
4th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, [2011]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides authoritative coverage of the characteristics, properties, and performance of every major battery type.
4th ed. Golden, Colo. : National Renewable Energy Laboratory, [2006]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains a wide selection of data and statistics on renewable energy power technologies from a variety of sources—collected in one convenient document. The Browse by Technology section is grouped by: Biomass, Geothermal, Hydroelectric, Solar, and Wind. Analysis at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory aims to increase the understanding of the current and future interactions and roles of energy policies, markets, resources, technologies, environmental impacts, and infrastructure.
Weinheim ; Chichester : Wiley-VCH, 2009-<2011>
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD553 .S65 2009 V.1
The only comprehensive handbook on this important and rapidly developing topic combines fundamental information with a brief overview of recent advances in solid state electrochemistry.
2nd ed. / Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TN870 .S6233 2005
This handbook provides you with the best coverage for every aspect of petroleum and natural gas engineering. With thousands of illustrations and 1,600 pages, this text is a handy and valuable reference book.

* Nanotechnology

Nanotechnology Encyclopedias

Nanotechnology and its underpinning sciences are progressing with unprecedented rapidity. This comprehensive work is designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its five volumes, covering a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences. The work focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure and applications.
Topics in this 5 volume work include fullerenes and carbon nanotubes, quantum dots and inorganic nanowires, interfacial chemistry, nanostructures, analytical and characterization methods, design and fabrication techniques of nanocomposites, properties of functional nanomaterials, nanostructured catalysts, molecular electronics, optical devices, bionanotechnology, colloidal phenomena—even future and environmental considerations about nanotechnology.
[1st ed.]. [Weinheim, Germany] : Wiley Interscience, c2007.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Combining the two highly acclaimed reference works – Nanotechnology for the Life Science and Nanomaterials for the Life Sciences - this first comprehensive source will give you a unique perspective to the fascinating field where nanoscale materials and living matter meet. The only reference work of this magnitude, it provides a broad, yet in-depth perspective of numerous facets.

Nanotechnology Handbooks

1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Many of the devices and systems used in modern industry are becoming progressively smaller and have reached the nanoscale domain. Nanofabrication aims at building nanoscale structures, which can act as components, devices, or systems, in large quantities at potentially low cost. Nanofabrication is vital to all nanotechnology fields, especially for the realization of nanotechnology that involves the traditional areas across engineering and science.
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook is the first comprehensive reference to cover both fundamental and applied aspects of physics at the nanoscale. It offers an introduction to established fundamentals in the field as well as a summary of the most significant developments in research. Contents: Vol. 1 Principles and Methods, Vol. 2 Clusters and Fullerenes, Vol. 3 Nanoparticles and Quantum Dots, Vol. 4 Nanotubes and Nanowires, Vol. 5 Functional Nanomaterials, Vol. 6 Nanoelectronics and Nanophotonics, Vol. 7 Nanomedicine and Nanorobotics
This handbook presents a unified, up-to-date account of the most promising technologies and developments in the nano field. It sets the stage for the next revolution of nanoscale manufacturing—where scalable technologies are used to manufacture large numbers of devices with complex functionalities. Areas covered: Nanotechnology overview, Molecular and nanoelectronics, Manipulation and assembly, Functional structures, Nano energy, and NanoBio, medicine, and life sciences.
2nd ed. / Amsterdam ; Oxford : Elsevier, 2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The updated and expanded second edition of the Nanoparticle Technology Handbook is an authoritative reference providing both the theory behind nanoparticles and the practical applications of nanotechnology.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » T174.7 .O94 2010 V.1
This Handbook presents frontier research in nanoscience and nanotechnology, describes fundamental issues and theories of nanomaterials, and explains state of art technologies in synthesis, manipulation and characterization of nanostructure materials.
3rd rev. & extended ed. Berlin : Springer, 2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook has established itself as the definitive reference in the Nanoscience field. It integrates the knowledge from nanofabrication, nanomechanics, materials science, and reliability engineering in just one volume.
2nd ed., completely rev. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2008.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This introductory reference handbook summarizes the terms and definitions, most important phenomena, and regulations occurring in the physics, chemistry, technology, and application of nanostructures.

Software

Site-licensed by Science Library

The Robin Li and Melissa Ma Science Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Websites

inksplosion: Go with the Flow

Description: A movie ink spreading in water.  Credits: Pery Burge, Artist, UK. Accessed: 20 February 2013 on eFluids.com

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking