Children's books about those with special needs

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library about those with special needs: those challenged physically or mentally, those with learning differences, etc.

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L58637 R46 2018
Lexile measure 490; Ages 5-9; K-Gr.4; Schneider Family book award honor, 2019
Cover of Song for a whale
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E4518 S66 2019
Lexile measure 800; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O5479 T78 2018
Lexile measure 310; Ages 8-10; Gr.5-7; National Book Award finalist, 2018; Schneider award winner, 2019
Cover image of The face at the window
New York : Clarion Books, ©1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A54373 F33 1997
Ages 6-9; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Winner, 1997
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I45825 Y68 2018
Lexile measure 810; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .L462 B46 2017
Gr.1-2
Cover image of 100 days of cake
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O454 A615 2016
Lexile measure 900; Ages 14 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 S55 2017
Lexile measure 790; Ages 11-13; Gr.3-7
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E4464 H45 2017
Lexile measure 690; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Newbery Award Winner, 2018
Cover image of Mighty Jack
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .H383 M54 2016 BK.1
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I8464 T75 2017
Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .K565 O235 2016
Lexile measure 560; Gr.6-12; Guided reading Z+
Cover image of The someday birds
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .L3 S66 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O4126 L58 2017
Lexile measure HL820L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3626 .A668 E45 2017
Lexile measure HL750L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Grendel's guide to love and war
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A65 G74 2017
Lexile measure HL700L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I5515 A78 2017
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .A7298 Y68 2017
Lexile measure HL610L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up
Cover image of History is all you left me
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I55234 H57 2017
Lexile measure HL820L; Ages 14 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .I99 I87 2015
Lexile measure 620; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9130.9 .D89 O5 2016
Lexile measure HL640; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of A list of cages
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O366 L57 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up

Elementary

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV1624 .B65 B793 2016
Lexile measure 590; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-4; Schneider family book award, 2017
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A54744 R43 2015 F
Lexile measure AD120L; Ages 3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV3013 .Y43 T56 2015 F
Lexile measure AD770L; Ages 5-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS8629 .D64 C38 2015
Lexile measure 490; Ages 7-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV2534 .B44 A3 2014
Lexile measure 420; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A72322 R35 2014
Lexile measure 720; Ages 9-12; Gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .A957 P37 2013
Lexile measure 940; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7
Grand Rapids, Mich. : Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, 2012, ©2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .L35373 B33 2012 F
Lexile measure 800; Ages 4-7, gr. PreK-2
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press/Editorial Libros para Niños, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558.E79 .F48 2004
Book level 2.4; Ages 6-8, gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E217 A47 2009
Lexile measure 800, ages 10-14; book level 5.1; realistic fiction, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Feiwel and Friends, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RJ496 .C4 T46 2007
Ages 4-10; book level 5.1, gr. K-2
1st ed. [New York] : Joanna Cotler Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .R3373 G73 2003
Lexile measure 810; Ages 8-15; Grade level 4.5; General fiction, gr. 2-6
1st ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .R3564 H53 2001 F
Lexile measure 700; Ages 4-9; Grade level 3.5; Realistic fiction, gr. 3-5
1st ed. Perry Hall, MD : Mainstream Connections, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .S53 I3 2008
Ages 4-8
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .B3486 B37 2004
Lexile measure 880; Ages 5-10; Grade level 4.7; Biography, gr. 1-4
New York : H. Holt, 1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A723256 K66 1987
Lexile measure 480; ages 4-8; book level 2.8; fables, folk tales and myths, gr. K-2
New York : Scholastic Inc., c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .O912 M36 1993
Lexile measure 750; Ages 2-6, gr. PreK-1
New York, NY : Philomel Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .R853 M63 2010
Lexile measure 630; Ages 11 and up; Book level 3.6; Realistic fiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. Perry Hall, MD : Mainstream Connections, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .S53 M77 2008
Ages 4-8
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O55 R83 2006
Lexile measure 560; Ages 6-9; Book level 3.8, gr. 3-4
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O73 R85 2006
Lexile measure 780; Ages 9-12; Book level 3.9, gr. 4-7
1st ed. Boston : Little, Brown, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .S559173 W75 2001
Lexile measure 570; Ages 5-10; Grade level 3.3; Fiction, gr. K-2

Middle school

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .A5197 K48 2014
Lexile measure 970; Ages 10-12; Gr.5-7
Orlando : Harcourt Brace, [2007], c1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .L65 T36 2007
Lexile measure 680; Book level 4.3; Ages 12 and up: gr.7-12
1st rev. ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A8192 M36 2010
Awards: Schneider Family Book Award; Lexile measure 770; Book level 4.7; Ages 9-13, gr. 6-10
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .H5847 A63 2004
Lexile measure 600; ages 10-15; book level 3.5; historical fiction
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 B43 2004
Lexile measure 830; ages 9-13; book level 5.4; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A72322 C67 2002
Lexile measure 750; ages 11-14; Grade level 6.1; Realistic fiction, gr. 6-8
New York : Scholastic, [2001?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .H474 F74 2001
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 10-15; Grade level 6.3; Realistic fiction, gr. 6-8
1st American ed. Oxford ; New York : David Fickling Books, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6104 .O88 L66 2008
Lexile measure 640; ages 10-14; book level 4.1, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .R24 O98 2010
Lexile measure 700; Ages 12-16; book level 4.3; Realistic fiction, gr. 5-8
1st American ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6063 .O746 P75 2003
Lexile measure 860; ages 10-up; historical fiction, gr. 7-12
1st Simon Pulse ed. New York : Simon Pulse, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .W82129 2002
Lexile measure 780; Ages 12-17; Book level 4.6, gr. 6-10
1st ed. New York : Knopf, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3572 .A4296 R86 2011
Lexile measure 650; Book level 4.1; Ages 12-16, gr. 7-10
1st Harper Tempest ed. New York : Harper Tempest, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .R826 S78 2001
Lexile measure 820; Ages 10 and up; Book level 5.7, gr. 6-10
New York : Puffin Books, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .L3957 T48 2004
Lexile measure 690; Ages 11-15; Grade level 6.2; Science fiction & fantasy, gr. 7-10
1st ed. New York, N.Y. : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .O459 V54 1996
Lexile measure 870; Ages 9-12; Book level 5.9. gr. 5-7
1st ed. New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O5478 W35 2008
Lexile measure 570; ages 10-up; book level 3.7, gr. 5-7

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .H357 H54 2016
Lexile measure HL700L; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .H6316 B43 2015
Lexile measure HL660L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .T68 U55 2015
Lexile measure HL620; Ages 12-18: gr.8-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .I3443 G57 2014
Lexile measure HL570L; Ages 11-8; Gr.8-12
1st Simon Pulse hardcover ed. New York : Simon Pulse, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A9165 O33 2013
Ages 14 and up
1st ed. New York : Holt, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O345 A62 2006
Lexile measure 690; Ages 12 and up; Book level 4.5, gr. 8-11
1st ed. New York : Hyperion, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A76984 J47 2012
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 15-18, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T6489 M37 2009
Lexile measure 700; ages 14-up; book level 4.6; realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster BFYR, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .A9816 S66 2012
Lexile measure 640; ages 12 and up; Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .O347 S76 2002
Lexile measure 490; Ages 14 and up; Book level 3.5, gr. 8-12
Markham, Ont. : Red Deer Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS8553 R382 W45 2012
Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking