Children's books about women

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature about women in Cubberley Education Library.

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3503 .R82184 Z37 2019 F
Ages 4-8; Gr.1-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F444 .C68 B69 2019
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 10-12; Gr.4-6; Boston Globe/Horn Book Nonfiction Award, 2019
Cover of Planting stories : the life of librarian and storyteller Pura Belpré
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Z720 .B426 P57 2019
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND497 .C376 M37 2019
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.4
New York : Bloomsbury/Walker, 2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .S67 K78 2015
Lexile measure 880; Ages 6-9; Gr.1-4
Cover image of Fiesta femenina : celebrating women of Mexican folklore
Paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR115 .G47 2018
Ages 9-14; Grades 4-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .N374443 Z46 2019
Ages 12+
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 Z46 2019
Young adult
Cover image of Born to swing : Lil Hardin Armstrong's life in jazz
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A747 R63 2018
Lexile measure 670; Ages 8-10; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .M53 S53 2018
Lexile measure 1110; Ages 11-13; Gr.5-8; Robert F. Sibert winner, 2019
Lexile measure 950; Gr.6 and up
Cover image of Americanized : rebel without a green card
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .I5 S23 2018
Lexile measure 1030; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV6322.3 .A7 J35 2017
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F2849 .P37 F56 2017
Elementary
Lexile measure 580; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.2
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1155 .F4463 2018
Cover image of Sonia Sotomayor : a judge grows in the Bronx = Sonia Sotomayor : la juez que creció en el Bronx
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, ©2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .S67 W566 2009
Lexile measure NC840L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA29 .J64 B43 2018
Lexile measure 710; Ages 8-10; Gr.1-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL51.2 .G7 V35 2018
Lexile measure AD800L; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
Cover image of Spring after spring : how Rachel Carson inspired the environmental movement
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH31 .C33 S57 2018
Lexile measure AD790L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV994 .A1 C55 2018
Lexile measure 1030; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-5
Cover image of Dolores Huerta : a hero to migrant workers
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD6509 .H84 W37 2012
Lexile measure AD520L; Ages 6-9; K-Gr.3; Amelia Bloomer List, 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TA157.5 .A24 2018
Ages 10-13; Gr.5 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .S67 A3 2018
Lexile measure AD1000L;  Ages 5-8
Cover image of So tall within : Sojourner Truth's long walk toward freedom
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .T8 S34 2018
Lexile 950; Ages 8-10;  Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR5398 .B35 2018 F
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD6509 .H84 B75 2018
Ages 9-12; Gr.5-8
Cover image of The girl with a mind for math : the story of Raye Montague
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O778687 G57 2018
Ages 5-10; K-Gr.2
Ages 4-8; Gr.2-3
Ages 6-9; Gr.1-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .C67 V45 2018
Lexile measure 580; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 W56 2002
AD520L;  K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .H464 T66 2017
Lexile measure 980; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6;   Américas Award winner, 2018
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL620 .B62 S65 2017
Lexile measure 790; Ages 8-10; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9144.9 .A364 M34 2018
K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NK9112 .R84 2017
Lexile measure 970; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q141 .L4235 2017
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 8-12
Lexile measure 720; Ages 5-10; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7797 .S74 Z634 2017
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U63 K57 2017
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .T82 C56 2017
Ages 6-10; Gr.3-6; Coretta Scott King Award Illustrator honor , 2018
Primera edición. México, D.F. : CIDCLI, S.C., 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F1230 .B37 2011
Elementary; middle school
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E98 .W8 N68 2017
Lexile measure 910; Ages 14 and up
New York : Franklin Watts, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ211 .B699 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Y
New York : Franklin Watts, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HM479 .T54 O36 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Y
New York : F. Watts ; Washington, D.C. : Joseph Henry Press, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH31 .K62 P37 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading X
New York : Franklin Watts, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB454.2 .O23 H67 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading X
New York : Franklin Watts, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC16 .J33 O36 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Y
New York : Franklin Watts, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB36 .H36 B67 2005
Gr.7-9; Guided reading Y
New York : F. Watts ; Washington, D.C. : Joseph Henry Press, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .V37 E24 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Z
New York : Franklin Watts, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC858 .F86 S54 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading X
New York : Franklin Watts ; Washington, D.C. : Joseph Henry Press, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RC394 .H85 G556 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Z
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E664 .L68 H36 2018
Gr.3-5
Lexile measure 730; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN2287 .C645 H37 2017
Gr.4-6

Elementary

Young readers' edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA27.5 .L44 2016B
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Guided reading U
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC2330 .Y6825 2017
Gr.3 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.96 .H338 2017
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 8-12; K-Gr.4
Reading level 2.8; Ages 6-8; Gr.3-5; Guided reading L
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 T87 2017
Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .G56 W56 2017
Gr.3 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .M29 E77 2017
Ages 6-10; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .A7832 L83 2017
PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL540 .L273 L36 2016
Lexile measure AD700L; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH31 .C72 S53 2017
Lexile measure 670; Ages 6-9; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .H677 W43 2017
Gr.3-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .G56 L48 2016
Lexile measure 710; Ages 5-8; Gr.3-5; Sydney Taylor Book Award, younger reader, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .T4885 F55 2016
Ages 10 and up; Gr.4-8
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » GA407 .T43 B87 2016 F
Lexile measure 750; Ages 5-8; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD4485 .A358 P38 2015
Lexile measure AD480L; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O315228 T96 2016
Lexile measure AD430L; Ages 6-8; Gr.K-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF228 .R56 G66 2016
Lexile measure 770; Ages 7-10; Gr.1-4
First US edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GE56 .M33 P7413 2015
Ages 6-9; Gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA29 .L72 W35 2015
Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .H35 W43 2015
Lexile measure 820; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7
Lexile measure 800; Ages 6-9; Gr.3-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .L566 R87 2014
Ages 4-8; Gr.1-3; Coretta Scott King illustrator honor book, 2015
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .K33 M66 2014
Ages 4-8; gr.2-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N8354 .O86 2014
Ages 7-13
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .S75 H486 2014
Ages 9-12; Gr.3-7; Pura Belpre award author honor, 2015
Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3; Coretta Scott King illustrator award winner, 2015
1st ed.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .F5 O65 2010
Lexile measure 820; Book level 4.7; Ages 6-10; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .D54 A38 2013
Lexile measure 890; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD5325 .C62 1909 M37 2013
Lexile Measure AD760L; Ages 7-9
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 P54 2013
Lexile Measure AD570L, Ages 6-12; gr.2-4
New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL540 .E3 F58 2011
Lexile 930; grade level 6.6; Ages 8-14; Non-fiction biography, Awards: Orbis Pictus Honor, 2012. gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E276 .A53 2008
Ages 6-11; book level 6.1, gr. 1-6
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7296 .J6 Z6993 2002
Ages 5-10; Book level 3.7; Historical fiction, gr. 1-3
1st ed. San Diego : Harcourt, 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1236 .K8 2000
Lexile measure 1150; ages 8-14; book level 8.5; biography, gr. 1-5
New York : Viking Children's Book, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QD22 .C8 K75 2007
Ages 9-12; biography, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Hyperion Books for Children, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .T82 W43 2006
Lexile measure 660; ages 5-10; Book level 4; Historical fiction, gr. 1-4
1st impression. Flagstaff, Ariz. : Rising Moon, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .C96 B76 2004
Lexile measure 850; ages 8-12; book level 4.1, gr. 3-6
1st ed. New York : Beach Lane Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC2410 .A3 W56 2009
Lexile measure 630; Ages 6-10, gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .T8 R63 2000
Lexile measure 790; Book level 5.2; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-8
New York, N.Y., U.S.A. : Viking, 1991.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF8745 .O25 G46 1991
Gr. 2-5
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » G535 .Y65 2008
Lexile measure 1040; ages 8-14; book level 7.1, gr.4-7
New York : Orchard Books, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TK540 .C546 G75 2002 F
Lexile measure 970; Book level 6.1; Ages 5-12; Gr.4-6
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1057 .M33 2011
Awards: Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young people, 2012; Lexile measure 1280; Book level 8.5; Ages 11-15, gr. 4-8
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A5 R93 2002
Lexile measure 780; ages 7-10; book level 5.2; biography; gr. K-5
1st ed.; Advance reader's ed. New York : Christy Ottaviano Books/Henry Holt and Co., 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » R692 .S755 2013
Lexile measure AD560, gr. K-3

Middle school

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1190 .H54 2016
Lexile measure 1170; Ages 12 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RT37 .N5 R44 2016
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1154 .H47 2017
Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E445 .D6 C66 2015
Lexile measure 1160; Ages 12 and up; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .G58 S55 2015
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 8-13; Gr.4-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA644 .T8 B37 2015
Lexile measure 980; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN4874 .C59 N65 2016
Lexile measure 1210; Ages 11 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .J59 K35 2014
Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .M766 W55 2014 V.1
Lexile measure GN450L; Ages 11-17
First edition: September 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 R44 2014
Lexile measure HL620L; Age 8-12; Gr.6-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .A4795 H69 2014
Ages 10 and up; Gr.7-12; Autobiography and biography; Poetry and rhymes; Coretta Scott King Author Award honor, 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .B3 P68 2014
Lexile measure 790; gr.5-8
[Reprint edition]. Boston, MA : Sandpiper/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2013], c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.96 .P565 2013
Lexile measure 940; Book level 7.2; Ages 8-12; gr.5-8
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL789.85 .A1 S79 2008
Lexile measure 980; ages 10-up; autobiography and biography, gr. 5-8
New York, N.Y. : Franklin Watts ; Washington, D.C. : J. Henry Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN50.6 .F8 H66 2005
Lexile measure 950; ages 10-14; biography, gr. 7-10
Minneapolis, MN : Twenty-First Century Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1420 .G67 2008
Ages 13-18, gr. 7-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LA2317 .C73 J87 2005
Lexile measure 920; Ages 9-14; Grade level 6.2; History, gr. 5-8
New York : Clarion Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E628 .S555 2008
Gr. 5-9
New York : Clarion Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV28 .A35 F73 2006
Lexile measure 1190; ages 10-18; book level 8.3, gr. 6-12
Library ed. Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » CT3260 .K56 2006
Ages 10-15; book level 9.1; autobiography and biography, gr. 6-9
Minneapolis, MN : Twenty-First Century Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1420 .G68 2008
Ages 13-18, gr. 7-12
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JK1896 .B38 2004
Lexile measure 1080; Ages 10 and up; Book level 8.3, gr. 5-10

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R4886 U54 2014
Lexile measure HL760L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.10-12
1st ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » KRX46 .M36 .G48 2012
Gr. 10-12
1st trade pbk. ed. New York : One World, 2004, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .D76 D84 2004
Lexile measure 380; book level 8.1, gr. 9-12
1st trade pbk. ed. New York : One World, 2004, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .D76 D84 2004
Lexile measure 380; book level 8.1, gr. 9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking