Children's books with an African theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library about Africa or its people.

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .T45 O73 2019
Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
Cover of Sing to the moon
American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3609 .S33 S56 2018
Lexile measure AD770L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
First edition. New York : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9387.9 .N9335 B87 2018
Gr.8 and up
[English edition].
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6712 .O625 A9613 2017
Lexile measure 550; Ages 5-9; K-Gr.3
Cover image for Illegal
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6344 .C65 2018
Lexile measure GN490L; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6519 .A6 W35 2018
Ages 6-9; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS8635 .A427 W44 2017
Gr.8 and up; Children’s African Book award for older readers, 2018
Cover image of Rhino in the house : the true story of saving Samia
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U63 K57 2017
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.3
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9387.9 .A823 B33 2017
Lexile measure AD$60L;  Ages 5-7; Mathical Award, 2018
Cover image of The wooden camel
American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9381.9 .K289 W66 2017
Lexile measure AD490L; Ages 4-8;  K-Gr.2
American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3609 .S33 S54 2017
Lexile measure AD570L; Ages 4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .M29 E77 2017
Ages 6-10; Gr.2-5
Cover image of Auma's long run
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .D55 A96 2017
Lexile measure 740; Ages 8-12; Gr.5 and up
 Cover image of City of saints & thieves
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N54443 C58 2017
Gr.7 and up

Elementary

1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, ©1991
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3559 .S2 A8 1991
Lexile measure 260; Ages 5-11; Gr.3-5; Guided reading K
1st American ed. New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9369.3 .L43 J34 1994
Age 4-7; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading H
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .K67 C45 2015
Ages 5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD4485 .A358 P38 2015
Lexile measure AD480L; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR350 .N25 2015
Ages 7-9; Gr.2-4
First US edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GE56 .M33 P7413 2015
Ages 6-9; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV3013 .Y43 T56 2015 F
Lexile measure AD770L; Ages 5-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3559 .S2 O44 2013
Ages 3-5; Gr.Prk-1
Boston ; New York : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .U445 R35 2010
Lexile measure 420; Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .U4673 F67 2006
Lexile AD760L; Grades K-2; Guided reading level K
1st ed. New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .U4673 D44 2013
Lexile measure AD 890L; Ages 5-8; Gr.K-3
San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O63 P37 2005
Lexile measure 680; Book level 2.9; Ages 2-4; K-2; Guided reading L
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I7695 B86 2014
Ages 3-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .D54 A38 2013
Lexile measure 890; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7
New York : HarperCollins, c1977.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R39416 A65 1977
book level 2.5; general fiction;multicultural; poetry, PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR351.6 .C86 2002
Book level 4; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » TJ140 .K36 A3 2012
Lexile 850L; Ages 5-14
1st American ed. New York : Cobblehill Books, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT515.45 .I33 O5938 1997 F
Ages 4-8
1st ed. New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .U4673 C48 2011
Lexile measure 760; Ages 3-7, gr. PreK-1
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ8.1 .B4187 1996
Ages 5-8
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt & Co., 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR352.2 .D36 P39 2002
Ages 5-8; Gr. PreK-2
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TR729 .W54 H33 2010
Ages 6-14; Gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I12 I2 2006
Lexile 620L; PreK-5; Guide reading N
London : Frances Lincoln, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT515.4 .O585 2007
Ages 6-8; Children's Africana Book Award, 2008, Winner, Best Book for Young Children
Victoria, BC ; Custer, WA : Orca Book Publishers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .W3527 M38 2012
Ages 5-9; Children's Africana Book Award, 2013, Winner, Young Children
New York : Doubleday Book for Young Readers, 1993, c1981.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ3989.2 .D55 M3613 1993
Gr.Prk-5
1st ed. New York : Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Books, c1987.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3569 .T3868 M8 1987
Lexile measure 720; Book level 4.3; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-2; Guided reading N
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT1974 .N43 2013 F
Lexile measure 960; Ages 6-10; Guided reading Q
1st U.S. ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9369.3 .W544 B55 2011
Lexile 650L; Ages 6+
Toronto ; Tonawanda, NY : Kids Can Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I59197 O54 2008 F
Ages 6-11; Children's Africana Book Award, 2009, Winner, Best Book for Young Children
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U57 H38 2006
Lexile AD920L; Gr. PreK-5; Guided Reading Level R
London : Frances Lincoln Children's Books, 2011, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6111 .O39 P37 2011
Ages 8-11; Gr.3-6
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, c2008 +
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SB63 .M22 N58 2008
Lexile AD870L; Ages 7-11; Gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SB63 .M22 J646 2010
Lexile 820L; Ages 7-12; Children's Africana Book Award, 2011, Winner, Younger Children
Morton Grove, Ill. : Albert Whitman & Co., 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .E2384 S48 2000
Lexile 610L; Ages 6-10
1st Amer. ed. La Jolla, CA : Kane/Miller Book Publishers, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .A764 S67 2002
Lexile 760L; Ages 6-11
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R48847 V55 2002 F
Ages 5-10; Gr. 2-5
Toronto, Ont. : Tundra Books ; Plattsburgh, N.Y. : Tundra Books of Northern New York, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .K675 W56 2012
Ages 7-11, gr. 2-5
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c1975.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .A56 W49 1975
Lexile measure 770; Book level 4; Ages 3-9; Gr.k-2; Guided reading N
Saint Paul, MN : Minnesota Humanities Center/Somali Bilingual Book Project, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR356.3 .M67 2007
Ages 4-8

Middle school

1st ed. New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .K67 S48 2007
Lexile Measure 660; Grades 6-8; Ages 11+
First edition: September 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 R44 2014
Lexile measure HL620L; Age 8-12; Gr.6-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6112 .E934 S54 2013
Gr.7-12
Gr.7-12
Ghana edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR351.62 .E83 C68 2013
Children's Africana Book Award, 2014, Winner, Older Reader
2nd ed. London : London Strategic Policy Unit, 1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT20 .S944 1988
Middle school
1st ed. Chicago, Ill. : Chicago Review Press, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT22 .C76 2006
Ages 9-13
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I55867 B76 2005
Lexile 610L; Ages 9-13; Coretta Scott King Book Award, 2006, Honor Book, Illustrator
1st ed. New York, NY : Scholastic Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .C463 E53 2012
Lexile 900L; Gr. 6-12; Guided Reading Z
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT433.545 .M33 L45 2003
Lexile 720L; Ages 10-14; Gr. 5-8
Toronto ; Berkeley : Groundwood Books / House of Anansi Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .I19 Z46 2010
Ages 9-14; Gr. 5-8
1st American ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6054 .O36 G57 2008
Lexile 790L; Ages 11-15; Gr. 5-8
New York : Viking, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E38955 L56 2007
Ages 11-18; Gr. 7-12
Boston ; New York : Clarion Books, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A6739 L66 2010
Lexile 720L; Ages 10-14; Gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : Harper & Row, c1983.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7.H1828 M35 1983
Lexile measure 620; book level 4.2; gr. 6-9
1st North American ed. Toronto ; Berkeley : Groundwood Books, House of Anansi Press, 2005, c1990.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9381.9 .M87 L58 2005
Lexile 700L; Ages 9-14; Children's Africana Book Award, 2006, Winner, Best Book for Older Readers
1st American ed. New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DT1974 .N47 2009 F
Ages 11-18
New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 N48 2011
Lexile 710L; Ages 10-14; Grades 5-9
Markham, Ont. : Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA643.86 .A35 E44 2005
Ages 11-17
1st American ed. New York : Holiday House, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6123 .A4544 O98 2011
Lexile HL710L; Ages 12+
Toronto : Tundra Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .K422 S86 2011
Ages 9-13; Gr. 6-9

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A8492 L67 2014
Lexile measure 770; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12
1st ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » KRX46 .M36 .G48 2012
Gr. 10-12
1st ed. New York, NY : Harper Teen, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .S835 C49 2008
Lexile 530L; Ages 13-18; Young Adult Book Award, 2009, Winner
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking