Children's books with an Asian theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library about Asia or the people of Asia.  This also includes India, South Asia, and Southeast Asia.

Recent received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I233 P38 2019
Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
Cover of A circle of elephants
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I468 C57 2019
Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ3979.2 .C49 P7513 2018 F
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
[Board book edition].
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BL1239.82 .H65 S56 2018
Lexile measure AD390; Ages 3-5; PrK-K
Cover image of My brother's husband
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .J33 T255613 2017 V.1
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I763 N54 2018
Lexile measure 700; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
[1st ed.] New York, Weatherhill [1975]-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR265 F65 1975 BK.2
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A3533 A43 2018
Lexile measure HL600L;  Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Cover image of A big mooncake for Little Star
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 B54 2018
Ages 4-6; PrK-Gr.1
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TD388 .V93 2017
Ages 12-14; Gr.5-8
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.1
Cover image of Home for Chinese New Year : a story told in English and Chinese
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PL2966 .E455 H66 2017
Lexile measure AD590L; Prk-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .H43 S66 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .U13 H39 2018
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Aru Shah and the end of time
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H655 A78 2018
Lexile measure  630; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TA732 .C55 2017
Lexile measure 610; Ages 5-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A327 C36 2017
Lexile measure 830; Ages 4-9; K-Gr.2
Cover image of The serpent's secret
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A823 S47 2018
Lexile measure 730; Ages 9-13; gr.5-7
First Little Simon edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E7449 R37 2017
Ages 2-4; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .A4566 N53 2016
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Festival of colors
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E417 F47 2018
Ages 2-8; PrK-Gr.3
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PL2912 .A5344 B76 2017
Lexile measure 790;  Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8
New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2017.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C34153 F58 2017
PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of  The Chinese emperor's new clothes
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O4846 C45 2017
K-Gr.3

Elementary

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR308.5 .H67 C63 2014
Lexile measure 850; Ages 7-10
San Francisco : Children's Book Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .R3348 G65 2003
Gr.1-3
San Francisco : Children's Book Press : Distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .R558 C56 2006
Prk-Gr.2
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .R558 C48 2003
Ages 5-9; K-Gr.3
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BL1215 .D45 C55 2017
PrK-Gr.2
Reading level 2.8; Ages 6-8; Gr.3-5; Guided reading L
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c1991.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » GR310 .S63 1991
Lexile measure 560; Ages 4-7; K-Gr.3
Rev. ed. San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press : Distributed by Talman, ©1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PL4378.9 .T64693 C613 1987
Gr.1-3
San Francisco : Children's Book Press, ©1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL795 .T5 B55 1989
Lexile measure 470; Ages 3-9; PrK-Gr.6; Guided reading K
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I454533 W48 2017
K-Gr.2
First Chronicle Books LLC paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A86649 G36 2015
Lexile measure AD580L; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C415 P37 2017
Ages 10-14; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PL975.7 .C55 W75 2013
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » M1817.18 .S36 2014
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Walnut Creek, Calif. : Shen's Books, ©2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E743 G73 2008
Lexile measure 580; Reading level 3.1; Ages 6-9; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R3983 M47 2017
Lexile measure AD540L; Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » M1817.18 .S36 2014
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Walnut Creek, Calif. : Shen's Books, ©2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E743 G73 2008
Lexile measure 580; Reading level 3.1; Ages 6-9; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R3983 M47 2017
Lexile measure AD540L; Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .I333 L68 2016
K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .K755 B66 2016
Lexile measure 580; Ages 8-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .J347 M39 2016
Lexile measure AD610L; Ages 4-8; K-gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 W46 2016
Lexile measure 750; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E364 W49 2016
PrK-Gr.1
Ages 6-9; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E78867 T35 2013
Lexile measure AD610L; Ages 3-6; Gr.1-3; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Illustrator, 2014 Honor
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E6914832 T54 2015
Lexile measure 770; Ages 7-10; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .A555 I5 2015
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2
Tokyo : Rutland, Vt. : Tuttle, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN989 .C5 N86 2013
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6; Aesop Prize for Children's and Young Adult Literature, 2014
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O393 T37 2013
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 B69 2010
Lexile measure 480; Book level 3.3; Ages 5-9, gr. K-2
Terre Haute, IN : Tanglewood, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A5492 C48 2011
Lexile measure 830; Ages 8-12
Tokyo ; Rutland, VT : Tuttle Pub., c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .I6 C48 2004
Harmondsworth, England : Puffin Books, c1983.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3547 .A735 C76 1983
Lexile measure 690, gr. K-2
New York : Clarion Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A6739 F57 2004
Lexile measure 490; Ages 5-10; Grade level 2.5; Historical fiction, gr. K-3
New York : Margaret McElderry Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS481 .G3 D378 2001
Lexile measure 980; Ages 8-12; Grade level 5.9; Biography, gr. 3-6
Walnut Creek, CA : Shen's Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .C4523 G66 2011
Ages 4-8, gr. 2-4
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR342 .H46 1996
Lexile measure AD790; Ages 4-6; Gr.K-2; Guided reading L
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 K36 2005
Awards: Notable Book for a Global Society award winner, 2006; Book level 3.3; Ages 6-9, gr. 1-3
Boston : Tuttle Pub., 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PL991.415 .S5 S76 2004
Gr. 1-3
New York : Philomel Books, c1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3575 .O783 L66 1989
Lexile measure 670; Book level 3.5; Ages 5-9; Gr.K-2; Guided reading S
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS881.5 .N3 M33 2008 F
Ages 8-12; book level 4.9; historical fiction, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D804.3 .M63 1997
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.1; Ages 5-10, gr. 3-6

Middle school

1st pbk. ed. Watertown, Mass. : Charlesbridge, 2012, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E6914832 B36 2012
Lexile measure 680; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7 and up; Guided reading W; Asian Pacific American Award for Literature Honor, 2011
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS557.7 .F739 2016
Lexile measure 1220; Ages 9-13; Gr.6-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D767.25 .N3 S74 2016
Lexile measure 850; Ages 10-18
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS856.72 .M56 T87 2016
Lexile measure 950; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Lexile measure 1110; Ages 9-13; Gr.5-9
First edition. New York : First Second, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 B68 2013 V.1
Ages 11-14
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8
Olmpia, Wash. : Skyhook Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .H45423 M66 2008
Ages 10 and up
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS786 .S548 1998
Ages 10-up; book level 5.3; mystery and suspense, gr. 6-9
1st ed. Tokyo ; Rutland, Vt. : Tuttle Pub., c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR340 .U73 2008
New York, NY : Better Link Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR335 .L43913 2012
Ages 4-8

Young adult

1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C3828 N48 2012
Lexile measure 710; Ages 13 and up; Historical fiction, gr. 9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking