Children's books with an LGBTQ theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about lesbians, gays, bisexual, transgender or queer people.

Recently received

Cover of The great American whatever
Simon & Schuster BFYR paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .E337 G74 2017
Lexile measure 860; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A432 M66 2019
Lexile measure 960; Ages 11-13; Gr.4-8
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E44435 W42 2019
Gr.8 and up
Cover image of Bloom
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .P3565 B56 2019
Ages 14+
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .L3415 G57 2018
Lexile HL740L; Ages 15+
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .K77 A63 2016
Lexile measure 940; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Dear Rachel Maddow
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I865 D43 2018
Lexile measure HL590L: Gr.8 and up
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6710 .A333 C58 2017
Elementary; middle school
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .L3415 I99 2018
Lexile measure 740; Ages 11-13; Gr.4-6
Cover image of Hurricane child
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A55 H87 2018
Gr.3-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A5375 P85 2018
Ages 14 and up; Gr.8 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .E59 T35 2011
Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.3
Cover image of My brother's husband
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6790 .J33 T255613 2017 V.1
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C5785 B53 2018
Lexile measure HL760; ages 13 and up; Gr.8 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E543 L68 2018
PrK-Gr.3
Ages 4-8; Gr.2-3
Cover image of Pride : the story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F869 .S353 M54569 2018
Lexile measure HL620L;  Gr.1-3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .I877 C49 2018
Ages 3-5; Prk-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .G55 A7 2017
Gr.6 and up; Stonewall Honor Books in Children's and Young Adult Literature, 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ73 .P73 2017
Lexile measure 1090L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O83395 J85 2018
Ages 4-7; Prk-Gr.2
Cover image of Leah on the offbeat
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .L3346 L43 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .U375 I87 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I55232 T44 2017
Lexile measure 870; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Spinning
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV850 .W25 A3 2017
Gr.6 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E22546 G46 2017
Lexile measure 900; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O4126 L58 2017
Lexile measure HL820L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
Cover image of  We are okay : a novel
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A3527 W42 2017
Lexile measure HL660L; Ages 14 an dup; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I5515 A78 2017
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I4457 M37 2017
Gr.9 and up
Cover image for Honestly Ben
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .O58475 H66 2017
Lexile measure HL660L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I55234 H57 2017
Lexile measure HL820L; Ages 14 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C5785 W48 2016
Lexile measure 920; Ages 14 and up
Cover image of  Gay and lesbian history for kids
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ76.8 .U5 P64 2016
Gr.5-8

Elementary

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .I877 T48 2014
Ages 4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I4582 G46 2015
Lexile measure 790; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
1st ed. Boulder, Colo. : Huntley Rahara Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ1075 .K54 2012
Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .B3498 M67 2014
Ages 3-7; Gr.PrK-3; Stonewall award honor book, 2015
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .O4695 A68 2005
Book level 3.2; Ages 5-9, gr. 1-5
1st ed. Berkeley : Tricycle Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 D33 2009
Awards: American Library Association Stonewall Book Awards Honor Book, 2010.; Ages 1-4
1st ed. Berkeley : Tricycle Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 M66 2009
Awards: American Library Association Stonewall Book Awards Honor Book, 2010.; Ages 1-4
Cover image of The accidental adventures of India McAllister
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .G4352 A57 2010
Lexile measure 690; Ages 8-11; Book level 4.2, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Macmillan, c1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .H7453 J3 1989
Lexile measure 810; Book level 4.7

Middle school

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E2526 B47 2016
Lexile measure 540; Gr.4-6; E.B. White Read Aloud Award, 2017, middle reader
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E69 L55 2016
Lexile measure 680; Ages 11-15; Gr.6-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .T33 S28 2016
Lexile measure 690; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D804.5 .G38 S48 2013
Lexile measure 1110; Ages 11-15
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .O5699 G73 2014
Lexile measure 720; Ages 10-13; Gr.5-8; Guided reading X
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .E334 B48 2013
Lexile measure 930; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
New York : Speak, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .Y73 K57 2004
Lexile measure 710; Book level 4.1: ages 13 and up, gr. 7-12
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .R4938 P88 2011
Awards: Stonewall Book Award, 2012; Lexile 820; Book level 5.4; Ages 12 and up; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A515 B35 2009
Lexile measure 630; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .U7295 M36 2006
Ages 9-12; Book level 5.2, gr. 6-9

Young adult

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .U7743 I3 2016
Lexile measure HL770L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O368 L37 2016
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .G576 G57 2016
Gr.9 and up; Morris award finalist, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .H357 H54 2016
Lexile measure HL700L; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A5375 A8 2016
Lexile measure HL670L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A3527 Y68 2016
Gr.9 and up
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O8755 C37 2015
Lexile measure HL570L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10-12
First Simon Pulse hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .U8595 W4 2016
Lexile measure HL800L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E78925 C88 2015
Ages 15 and up; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .C284 F36 2015
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I55234 M67 2015
Lexile measure 850; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E922175 H65 2015
Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ76.8 .U5 B38 2015
Lexile measure 1180L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9-12
Simon Pulse edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O77938 N68 2015
Lexile measure 910; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .L3347 S56 2015
Lexile measure HL640L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R483 N66 2015
Ages 14-18; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3617 .U5897 G33 2014
Lexile measure HL820L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HQ77.9 .K85 2014
Lexile measure HL600L; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9-12
1st ed. New York, N.Y. : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .O58473 O64 2013
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12; Guided reading Z+
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E922175 T96 2013
Lexile measure 780; Ages 13 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 O38 2012
Ages 13 and up, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A524 M57 2012
Lexile measure 1120, Ages 14 and up, gr. 9-12
New York : Speak, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .U7353 V37 2011
Lexile measure HL 730; Ages 14 and up
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A27 A75 2012
Lexile measure 380; Ages 15 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O2 H86 2011
Lexile measure 860; Ages 14 and up, gr. 8-12
New York : HarperTrophy, c1994 [i.e. 1995?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS509 .H57 A4 1995
Lexile measure 760; Ages 13 and up; Book level 5.4, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A7883 A63 2009
Awards: Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award, Lexile measure 620; Book level 4.5; Ages 14 and up, gr. 9-12
New York : Pocket Books, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .H3469 P47 1999
Lexile measure 720; Ages 15-18; Grade level 6.1; Mystery and suspense
1st Knopf trade pbk. ed. New York : Knopf, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E922175 R43 2006
Ages 12-18; Book level 5.2; General fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Dutton, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R43293 W55 2010
Ages 12-18; Book level 5.1; Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
New York : Dial Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .L82 M9 2008
Lexile measure 1030; ages 12-up; book level 6.1, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E75534 L86 2004
Lexile measure 500; ages 15-18; book level 3.5; general fiction, gr. 9-12
Farrar, Straus and Giroux paperback ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .A711266 A66 2007
Lexile measure 1000; ages 12-18; general fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : HarperCollinsPublishers, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .L617 D36 1998
Ages 14 -up, gr. 9-12
New York : Hyperion, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O5663 H47 2007
Lexile Measure 880; ages 12-18, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A4344 S66 2007
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 14-up; Book level 6, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T1229 F74 2007
Lexile measure 660; Ages 13-up; Book level 4.2, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Little Brown & Co., 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .P44158 .G75 2007
Ages 15-18
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E466 G73 2003
Ages 12-up; Book level 4.6, gr. 9-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E994 M9 2002
Lexile measure 700; Ages 15-18; grade level 5.6; General Fiction, gr. 9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking