Children's books with a musical theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature about music and musicians.

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I555 B43 2019
Ages 3-6; PrK-K
Cover image of Born to swing : Lil Hardin Armstrong's life in jazz
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A747 R63 2018
Lexile measure 670; Ages 8-10; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .S26 M34 2018 F
Lexile measure 610; Ages 6-10; PrK-Gr.3; Pura Belpre illustrator honor,2019;  Robert F. Sibert honor, 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .S26 G65 2018 F
Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
Cover image of Frankie finds the blues
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A73 F73 2018
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BV330 .N48 W43 2018
Lexile measure AD600L; Ages 4-8; Gr.3-5
Cover image of Musical memories
[Burlington, Iowa] : Pizzacato Press, [2017]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E743 M87 2017
Elementary
1st American ed. New York : Scholastic, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9205.6 .D69 1996 F
Ages 4-8; Gr.2-4;  Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor book, 1991
1st Dragonfly Books ed. New York : Dragonfly Books, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .U478 D78 2010
Lexile measure 690; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Libba : the magnificent musical life of Elizabeth Cotten
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .C67 V45 2018
Lexile measure 580; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A53 A3 2018
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .L368 A65 2018
Lexile measure GN250L;  Ages 10-12; Gr.5-8
Cover image of La cucaracha
[Caracas] : Camelia Ediciones ; [Ciudad de México] : Ediciones Tecolote, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3570.6 .B47 2008
Elementary
1. ed. Ciudad de México : Ediciones Tecolote, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3570.8 .V47 B36 2008
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I4349 G53 2017
Lexile measure e700; Ages 9-12; Gr.4-6; Mathical honor book
Cover image of Korean nursery rhymes
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PL975.7 .C55 W75 2013
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » M1817.18 .S36 2014
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .M29 E77 2017
Ages 6-10; Gr.2-5
Cover image of Muddy : the story of blues legend Muddy Waters
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .M92 M34 2016
K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 G736 2004
PrK-Gr.5; Reading level 3.1; Guided reading O
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A86653 R36 2016
Lexile measure HL590L; Gr.10 and up; William C. Morris award finalist, 2017
Cover image of Feel the beat : dance poems that zing from salsa to swing
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .I546 F44 2017
Lexile measure 490; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .B63 H66 2016
Lexile measure 820; Ages 5-8; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .G29 S53 2016
Lexile measure 680; Ages 9-12; K-Gr.4
Cover image of Clayton Byrd goes underground
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 C53 2017

Elementary

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .E83 V36 2016
Lexile measure 910; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-6. Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor book, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .H677 W43 2017
Gr.3-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3556 .G73 2016
Lexile measure 1060; Ages 8-12; Gr.4 and up
New York : Orchard Books, ©1992.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .P24 R4 1992
Ages 3-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3929 .G59 2015
Ages 5-8; Gr.3 and up
First edition 2016.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .R45 J39 2016
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 K48 2015
Lexile measure 730; Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2; Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .U34 H36 2014
Ages 5-9; Gr.K-3; Lexile measure AD930L; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Writer, 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A53 A3 2015
Lexile measure 840; Ages 5-9; Gr.3-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 D78 2015
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .L566 R87 2014
Ages 4-8; Gr.1-3; Coretta Scott King illustrator honor book, 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML28 .C35 J469 2013
Lexile measure 1040L; Ages 7-10; Gr.1-4
1st ed.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .F5 O65 2010
Lexile measure 820; Book level 4.7; Ages 6-10; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .P83 B76 2013
Lexile Measure AD740L; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
New York : Holiday House, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 B58 2003
Poetry & rhymes, all ages, gr. K-8
1st ed. New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3929 .L47 2001
Lexile measure 1040, ages 9-12, gr. 3-8, African American music
1st ed. New York : Flash Point/Roaring Brook Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .R33 C57 2009
Awards: Schneider Family Book Award, Young Children, 2010.; Awards: Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2010; Lexile measure 700; Book level 4; Ages 5-9; Autobiography and Biography, gr. 3-6
1st ed. Orlando, [Fla] : Gulliver Books/Harcourt, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .I34 H37 2005
Lexile measure 700; Book level 3.3; Ages 6-11; Historical fiction, gr. K-3
San Francisco, CA : Children's Book Press, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3556 .I48 1998
Poetry & rhymes, ages 9-14, gr. 3-8
Boston : Clarion Books, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .H45 G65 2010
Lexile measure 900; Ages 3-9, Book level 5.6; Biography, gr. K-2
1st ed. Orlando : Harcourt, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A63564 L56 2007
Lexile measure 520, ages 6-9, gr. 2-3
New York : Knopf, c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML800 .T87 1996
Gr. 4-8
Minneapolis : Carolrhoda Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E99 .Y25 Z53 2011
Lexile measure 940, ages 8-12, gr. 2-5
New York : Clarion Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551.D66 R66 2011
Awards: Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2011; Notable Book for a Global Society 2012.; Ages 10-14, gr. 4-6
1st ed. Orlando : Harcourt, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .H744 T48 2006
Ages 3-7, gr. K-2
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O3253 W48 2011
Ages 4-8, gr. PreK-1
Toronto, Ont. : Tundra Books ; Plattsburgh, N.Y. : Tundra Books of Northern New York, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .K675 W56 2012
Ages 7-11, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A5 R93 2002
Lexile measure 780; ages 7-10; book level 5.2; biography; gr. K-5
1st ed. El Paso : Cinco Puntos Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .R323 L96 2011
Ages 8-12, gr. 3-5

Middle school

Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .B48 R83 2011
Guided Reading Level X, Lexile measure 970, ages 11-16, gr. 5-9
New York : Viking, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .G88 P37 2002
Lexile measure 1020, ages 12+, gr. 7+, folk music

Young adult

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .A35694 W56 2017
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .S4995 A53 2015
Lexile measure 990; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking