Children's books by or about Asian Americans

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about Asian Americans.

Recently received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I233 P38 2019
Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
Cover of Enemy child : the story of Norman Mineta
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.8 .A6 W37 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A3577 A88 2018
Lexile measure HL670L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up; Asian/Pacific American award for literature Award Honor, 2019
First paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .E392 T78 2017
Gr.6 and up; Guided reading Z
Cover image of Dragon Pearl
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E34884 D73 2019
Lexile measure 780; Ages 9-13; Gr.4-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A6 K56 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O56267 W39 2018
Lexile measure HL670L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of The speaker
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H443 S64 2017
Lexile measure HL750L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .A4566 T35 2017
Lexile measure HL740L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 B54 2018
Ages 4-6; PrK-Gr.1
Cover image of Shadow of the fox
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A339 S48 2018
Gr. 9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .Y36 S43 2015
Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A6739 F67 2016
Lexile measure 700; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
Cover image of Drawn together
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E16 D73 2018
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .A54 F76 2018
Lexile measure 640;  Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.1
Cover image of Hazel and Twig : the birthday fortune
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .U13 H39 2018
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » KF228 .K59 A87 2017
Ages 10-13; Gr.4-6; Carter G. Woodson award winner, 2018; Jane Addams Children's Book Award honor, 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I423235 P53 2018
Lexile measure 890; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Cilla Lee-Jenkins : future author extraordinaire
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A68363 C55 2017
Lexile measure 940; Ages 8-12;  gr.3-5
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H655 A78 2018
Lexile measure  630; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A823 S47 2018
Lexile measure 730; Ages 9-13; gr.5-7
Cover image of A different pond
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .H467 D55 2017
Lexile measure 620; Ages 6-8;  K-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .U375 I87 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .H5822 L68 2018
Lexile measure HL660L; Ages 14 and up: Gr.9 and up

Elementary

First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E4464 H45 2017
Lexile measure 690; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Newbery Award Winner, 2018
San Francisco, CA : Children's Book Press : Distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3619 .H575 C66 2004
Gr.3-5
San Francisco : Children's Book Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .R3348 G65 2003
Gr.1-3
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .R558 C48 2003
Ages 5-9; K-Gr.3
Rev. ed. San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press : Distributed by Talman, ©1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PL4378.9 .T64693 C613 1987
Gr.1-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A3378 A65 2017
PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading H
Lexile measure 940; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .L5865 J37 2017
Lexile measure 560; Ages 6-10; Gr.1-3; Guided reading O
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .C415 P37 2017
Ages 10-14; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » M1817.18 .S36 2014
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H45978 S44 2017
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E16 L48 2016
Lexile measure AD450L; Ages 3-5; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A33788 G66 2016
PrK-Gr.1
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O255 B37 1993
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 7-9; Gr.3-5; Reading level 4.1;  Guided reading O
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » TX355 .L47 2016
Lexile measure AD860L; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .U54 U55 2016
Lexile measure 830; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .I934 M67 2016
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E45 L36 2016
Lexile measure 640; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .U745 D68 2015
Ages 5-8; PrK-gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 W46 2016
Lexile measure 750; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .H35467 W39 2015
Lexile measure 650; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A4 J86 2015
Lexile measure AD670L; Ages 5-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .U34 H36 2014
Ages 5-9; Gr.K-3; Lexile measure AD930L; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Writer, 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3565 .B662 I6 2015
Lexile measure AD140L; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .A953 G35 2014
Ages 8-11; Gr.4-6
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .A6715 F57 2013
Lexile Measure AD880L; Ages 5-9; Gr.3-5
North Mankato, Minnesota : Capstone Young Readers, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6465 .K56 2014
Gr.K-3
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .A3615 T48 2013
Lexile measure 700; Ages 10-14, gr. 4-8
1st American ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9520.9 .N12 H53 2012
Ages 2-6
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 S73 2012
Lexile measure 810; Ages 8-12, gr. 3-6
New York : Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, 1999, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA295 .A66 1999
Ages 5-8
New York : Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, 1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA246.5 .A5613 1983
New York : Philomel Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .I5 C65 2001 F
Lexile measure 660; Ages 5-12; Grade level 3.8; Historical fiction
Walnut Creek, CA : Shen's Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A9857 C67 2009
Ages 5-8; Book level 3.1, gr. 1-3
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 G73 1993 F
Lexile measure 650; ages 4-9; book level 3.6; general fiction; multicultural, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .H35467 G74 2011
Lexile measure 700; Book level 4.6; Ages 9-13, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O55 H46 2001
Lexile measure 520; Ages 4-8; Grade level 2.9; General fiction, gr K-2
Rev. Harper Trophy ed. New York : Harper Trophy, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O678 I5 2003
Lexile measure 730; Ages 8-14; Grade level 3.8; Historical fiction, gr. 3-6
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E3563 L36 2006
Lexile measure 790; Ages 7-12; Book level 4.9; Historical fiction, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .I46774 L56 2010
Lexile measure 390; Ages 4-7; Book level 1.8; Realistic fiction, gr. K-2
1st ed. [New York] : HarperCollins, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A354 M9 2002
Nonprose; Ages 5-8; Grade level 3.7; Poetry & rhymes, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Frances Foster Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E2848 M9 2003
Lexile measure 320; Ages 4-9; Grade level 1.6; Realistic fiction, gr. K-3
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press ; [Berkeley, CA] : Distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ49.31 .L44 2006
Lexile measure 790; ages 6-10; book level 3.9; historical fiction
New York : Clarion Books, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.8 .A6 C67 2002
Ages 8-14; Book level 7.4; History, gr. 4-8
San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .H747 R68 2000
Book level 2.9; Ages 2-6, gr. k-2
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN2287 .W56 Y66 2009
Lexile measure 970; Ages 6-11; Book level 6, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I76 A615 2008
ages 9-12, gr. 4-8

Middle school

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O56267 I23 2017
Lexile measure HL690L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
First Simon Pulse hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E4926 W54 2017
Lexile measure HL700L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.7 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .E238 E65 2017
Lexile measure 720; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E2233 N68 2016
Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A6967 A49 2017
Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.8 .A6 M329 2016
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E34854 O94 2016
Lexile measure HL780L; Ages 12-18; Gr.7 and up
First paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E447 B53 2016
Lexile measure 660; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I4666 F85 2015
Lexile measure 790; Ages 11-15
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A465 L57 2015
Lexile measure 800; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O55 A63 2014
Lexile measure 560; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-4
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .U2 L44 2011
Lexile measure 710; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z; Science fiction
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .F4 G54 2013
Gr.7 and up.  SPICE DVD and teacher's guide
New York : Clarion Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F868 .S156 F74 2013
Gr. 7-12
New York : Walker Books For Young Readers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.8 .A6 S26 2013
Ages 11-15, gr. 5-9
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A45957 E94 2005
Lexile measure 630; Ages 12-18; Grade level 5.8; Historical fiction, gr. 5-10
New York : Clarion Books, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.8 .A6 C66 2000
Lexile measure 1040; Ages 9-18; Grade level 7.9; General Nonfiction, gr. 5-12
New York : Amulet Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .R4158 H43 2010
Lexile measure 760; Book level 5.4; Ages 9-14; Adventure, Historical fiction, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York, N.Y. : Dutton Children's Books, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .A85 H57 2007
Lexile measure 610; ages 11-15; book level 3.6, gr. 7-10
1st ed. New York : Wendy Lamb Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A45957 H68 2006
Lexile measure 610; ages 12-15; book level 3.7; historical fiction, gr. 7-10
New York : Speak, 2002, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .A16 S74 2002
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-up; book level 4.2; realistic fiction
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .A3615 W44 2006
Lexile measure 750; ages 9-15; book level 4.8; historical fiction, gr. 6-8

Young adult

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E6914832 Y68 2017
Lexile measure HL720L;  Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .H665 L53 2017
Lexile measure HL720L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A6 F67 2017
Gr.10 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .T388 N67 2015
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD5325 .A29 B75 2014
Ages 12-18; Gr.9-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6728 .S4565 Y36 2014
Lexile measure GN420L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12
1st ed. New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .O6225 E94 2009
Young adult literature
New York : Soho Press, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3572 .I345 M68 2001
Lexile measure 980; ages 11-up; book level 6, gr. 9-12
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .A16 W35 2006
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-18; book level 4.3; general fiction; romance, gr. 8-11
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking