Civic education

This is a guide for those interested in education for furthering civic and community engagement and teaching citizenship--in the U.S. and globally--both research and practice.

Background information

New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1584 .H2748 2008
"Given its many disciplinary roots, competing perspectives about appropriate goals, and ongoing conflict over the content of the social studies curriculum, social studies will no doubt remain complex, challenging, and, one hopes, dynamic. It need not remain under-researched. We hope that this Handbook will not only outline the present state of things, but encourage the kind of new research needed to move the field forward and foster the civic competence that advocates for social studies have long claimed as a fundamental goal of the field."

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1091 .C97 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1091 .A347 2018
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC220.5 .C67 2018
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC89 .L53 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC220.5 .T38 2016
Practice-oriented

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

New York, N.Y. : Public Affairs Information Service, Inc., 1991-2015.
Green Library » Information Center
Indexes selected books, government documents, and periodical articles on contemporary public issues and the making of public policy.

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking