You are here

Classics

Primary tabs

tools of the trade

  = internet resource requiring Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy.

Many of these databases & corpora are also listed on the SUL Database page for "Ancient Greek and Roman Culture." For developments in digital Classics, Rome Wasn't Digitized in a Day: Building a Cyberinfrastructure . . . by Alison Babeu. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

VADE MECUM, INTRODUCTION TO THE SOURCES inter alia Schaps, D.  Handbook for Classical Research, 2011 | Goldberg, S.; Wheeler, S. Tools of the Trade: Bibliographies for Roman Studies, 2011 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.pngOxford Handbook of Hellenic Studies, 2009 | Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies, OUP, 2010 | Oxford Handbook of Byzantine Studies, 2008

AUTHORS & TEXTS
Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts & abbreviations for Ancient Authors and Titles of Works from New Pauly online
Classical Works Knowledge Base http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png "assembles data about Classical works (1,550 authors and 5,200 texts, with variants forms in the main modern languages of Classical studies and common abbreviations). The knowledge base also contains the linking heuristics to the passage level for 6,732 manifestations of Classical works". The full-text services linked to are:

translations & commentaries/reception:

SEARCH L'Annee philologique Stanford<br />
only (APh) indexing and abstracting virtually all publications related to classical antiquity. The database currently contains the listing from 1924 to the present (coverage runs about two years behind). The  "Index nominum antiquorum", "Index geographicus", and "Index nominum recentiorum" found in the printed volumes have no equivalent in the online database. Abbreviations used in APh http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  with links to journal entries in the UCB and Stanford onlines catalog > request journals from UCB via RLCP | Dissertation Abstracts Stanford<br />
 only | Google Scholar http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

JOURNALS Online/in print | BACKSETS in JSTOR Stanford<br />
 only ; Thematic Index of Classics in JStor http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png | Abbreviations used in APh http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  with links to journal entries in the UCB and Stanford onlines catalog > request journals from UCB via RLCP

INTERLIBRARY BORROWING  borrow books and journals not owned by Stanford

IMAGES/OBJECTS: Downloadable digital images (APA) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png | Art Library Images | Arachne (Deutsches Archäologisches Institut) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  provides archaeologists and Classicists with a tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes

NEW BOOKS & BOOK REVIEWS Bryn Mawr Classical Review 1990-

TIMELINES: Chronologies of the Ancient World -- Names, Dates and Dynasties | Oxford timeline of the Ancient World Stanford<br />
 only

ONLINE TEXTS/TEXTUAL SEARCHING

other early editions

Stanford

GREEK & LATIN LANGUAGE

Stanford Library guide to Latin dictionaries   

Some Greek resources on the web:

  • LSJ: The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon (TLG)
  • Henry George Liddell. Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones. with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford. Clarendon Press. 1940. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png (Perseus Project)
  • Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Stanford<br />
only
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Stanford<br />
only has digitized most surviving literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Constantinople in 1453 CE, and beyond. All bibliographical information and a subset of the texts are available to the general public.
  • Etymological dictionary of Greek

HANDBOOKS, GUIDES, ETC.

BIBLIOGRAPHY MANAGEMENT TOOLS SUL bibliography & citation management | RefWorks

CLASSICS AT STANFORD

The primary research collection is shelved in Green Library stacks. The Raubitschek Room, named in honor of the late professor emeritus Antony E. Raubitschek, is located in Room 351, Green Library East. It brings together the primary texts of Greek and Latin epigraphy and papyrology, together with the necessary secondary and reference literature. This collection does not circulate.

The Department of Special Collections is home to a large body of early printed books relevant to the history of classics as a discipline and to the reception of ancient texts in modern Europe. The department has extensive holdings of first and early editions of classical texts published by Aldus, the Estienne family, Froben, and other Renaissance printers and illustrated editions of all eras; it also collects heavily in the early secondary literature of the classics.

Purchase requests to rawlingsatstanford.edu

CLASSICS AT UC BERKELEY Classics/Art History Library Classics Resources http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png | Abbreviations used in APh http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  with links to journal entries in the UCB online catalog > request journals from UCB via RLCP

encyclopedias and handbooks etc.

research guides

= internet resource; = requires Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Barchiesi, Alessandro, and Walter Scheidel. The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green | Stacks DG209 .O94 2010

Durusau, Patrick. High Places in Cyberspace. 2nd ed. Atlanta: Scholars Press, 1996.
Green | Information Center CC82.9 .D87 1998. Internet resources on ancient civilizations.

Gullath, Brigitte, and Heidtmann, Frank. Wie finde ich altertumswissenschaftliche Literatur: Klassische Philologie, Mittel- und Neulatein, Byzantistik, Alte Geschichte und Klassische Archäologie. Berlin: Arno Spitz, 1992.
Green | Information Center Z6207 .G7 G85 1992. In addition to classical studies, this work covers medieval Latin, Neo-Latin, and Byzantine studies.

Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1996.
Green | Stacks Z7016 .J4 1996. An annotated bibliographic guide to all aspects of Classical Studies.

Mantello, F. A. C., and A. G. Rigg, eds. Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographic Guide. Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America Press, 1996.
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA2802 .M43 1996

Schaps, David M. Handbook for Classical Research. London: Routledge, 2011.
Green | Information Center

Wellington, Jean Susorney. Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found In the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA99 .W44 1983

encylopedias & dictionaries

= internet resource that requires Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Andresen, Carl et al. Lexikon der alten Welt. 1965. Covers the Ancient Near East as well as the classical world.
Green | HASRC (Lane) CB311 .L4

Cotterell, Arthur, ed. The Penguin Encyclopedia of Classical Civilizations. New York: Viking, 1993.  Covers the ancient Mediterranean, Near East, India, and China.
Green | INFORMATION CENTER CB9 .P46 1993.

Daremberg, C., and E. Saglio, eds. Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romaines d'après les textes et les monuments: contenant l'explication des termes qui se rapportent aux moeurs, aux institutions, à la religion, aux arts, aux sciences, au costume, au mobilier, à la guerre, à la marine, aux metiers, aux monnaies, poids et mesures, etc. et en general à la vie publique et privée des anciens. Paris: Hachette 1878-1919; 5 v. in 10. Superb coverage of the material culture of antiquity.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .D21 1877

Dezobry, Ch, and Theodore Bachelet. Dictionnaire Général De Biographie Et D'histoire, De Mythologie, De Géographie Ancienne Et Moderne Comparée, Des Antiquités Et Des Institutions Grecques, Romaines, Françaises, Et étrangères .. 7. éd. rev. Paris: Delagrave, 1876.
Green | INFORMATION CENTER AG25 .D52

Finkelberg, M. The Homer Encyclopedia. 3 vols. 2011. On order
Green | HASRC (Lane)

Handbuch der Altertumswissenschaft (HdA, auch HdAW, HbAW oder HAW) als Handbuch der klassischen Altertums-Wissenschaft in systematischer Darstellung 1885 von Iwan von Müller, ab 1913 fortgesetzt von Robert von Pöhlmann, ab 1920 erweitert von Walter Otto und ab 1953 fortgeführt von Hermann Bengtson (Wikipedia).
Green | STACKS PA25 .H26

Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth, eds. Oxford Classical Dictionary 3rd. ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.  Standard one-volume English-language reference work on the classical world.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .O9 1996
Green | INFORMATION CENTER DE5 .O9 1996

Speake, Graham. A Dictionary of Ancient History. Oxford: Blackwell, 1994.
Green | INFORMATION CENTER DE5 .D53 1994

Paulys Realencyclopädie (RE) Series

  • Der Neue Pauly & its updated English language ed. New Pauly online
  • Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider, eds. Der neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike: Altertum. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1996-. An updated version of Paulys Realenzyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, with new material. Supplemente 2004-.
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .N48 1996
  • Pauly, August Friedrich von. Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Neue Bearbeitung unter Mitwirkung zahlreicher Fachgenossen herausgegeben von Georg Wissowa. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1894-1972. 24 vols. in 43. Fundamental work for every area of classical studies
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .P33
  • Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Gesamtregister. Edited by Tobias Erler, et al. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1997-. Print + computer laser optical disc.  This is a general index to all 83 volumes of the Pauly-Wissowa including the supplements, addenda and corrigenda.
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .P33 1997 BD.1; BD. 2 (CD-ROM)
  • Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Supplement. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1903-1978. 15 vols. in 14.
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .P33 SUPPL.
  • Gärtner, Hans, and Albert Wunsch. Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft: Neue Bearbeitung begonnen von Georg Wissowa fortgeführt von Wilhelm Kroll and Karl Mittelhaus... Register der Nachträge und Supplemente. München: Alfred Druckenmüller, 1980.
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .P331
  • Ziegler, Konrat, and Walther Sontheimer. Der Kleine Pauly: Lexikon der Antike auf der Grundlage von Pauly's Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Stuttgart: Alfred Druckenmüller, 1964-1975. 5 vols. 
    Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .K5

biography

Bagnall, R. Consuls of the later Roman Empire. 1987.
Green | HASRC (Lane) P25.A6 NO.36

Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie. Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit / herausgegeben von der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. 1999-.
Green | STACK DF506 .P76 1998

Bowder, Diana, ed. Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776 B.C.-30 B.C. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1982.
Green
| Information Center DF16 .W5
Art and Architecture | DG203 .W46

Briggs, Ward W., Jr., ed. Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA83 .B53 1994

Briggs, Ward W., Jr., and William M. Calder III, eds. Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1990.
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA83 .C58 1990

Grant, Michael. Greek and Latin Authors: 800 B.C.-A.D 1000. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1980.
Green | Information Center PA31 .G7
Green | Spec. Coll. ""

Grant, Michael. The Roman Emperors: A Biographical Guide to the Rulers of Imperial Rome, 31 B.C.-A.D. 476. New York: Scribner's, 1985.
Green | Stacks DG274 .G73 1985B

Hazel, John. Who's Who In the Greek World London: Routledge, 2002.
Green | Information Center DE7 .H39 2000
Art and Architecture | DF208 .W48 1982

Jones, A. H. M, J. R Martindale, and J Morris. Prosopography of the later Roman Empire. 1971-. Review in Speculum 70:2 (April, 1995):399-401
Green | HASRC (Lane)  DG203.5.J6

Luce, T. James, ed. Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. New York: Scribner's, 1982. 2 vols.
Green | Information Center PA3002 .A5 1982
SAL | ""

Martindale, J. R. Prosopography of the Byzantine Empire. Aldershot, Hampshire: Ashgate, 2001.
Art | Media ARTCDR 94 [CD-ROM]

Radice, Betty. Who's Who in the Ancient World. New York: Stein and Day, 1971.
Green | Stacks DE7 .R33 1971

  

book reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png 1990-. Bryn Mawr, PA: Bryn Mawr College and University of Pennsylvania, 1990-present.

Book Review Digest Stanford only
1983+ on Web; 1905+ Green | Information Center Z1035.A1B58. Cites and abstracts reviews for American and British books in English language periodicals. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author, with a title and subject index in each volume. There is also a cumulative author/title index for 1905-1974.

Book Review Index Stanford only
Green | Information Center Z1035.A1B6 (V. 1, 1965+). Lists reviews in more than 500 periodicals by author. Beginning in 1976, a title index follows the author index. There is a cumulative index for 1965-1974.

Classical World Stanford only Pittsburgh, PA: Classical Association of the Atlantic States, 1957-present. (Formerly The Classical Weekly, 1907-1957).
Green | Stacks PA1 .C8 and Current Periodicals arranged alphabetically In addition to its articles, Classical World offers brief and expert reviews of new books in all areas of classical antiquity.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Green | Information Center Z1035.A1C638 1982

Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft Stanford only München: C. H. Bech'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 1925-present.
Green | 870.5 .G571 and Current Periodicals arranged alphabetically
Classics | PA3 .G6.
Appears eight times a year; alternative issues contain a Bibliographische Beilage which lists recent books and articles in various fields of Classical Studies. Each issue features several reviews.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Green | Information Center Z1035.A1I63 (V. 1, 1960-1990). Cites popular and scholarly book reviews in all the humanities. Includes reviews of historical works until 1970.

Lustrum: Internationale Forschungsberichte aus dem Bereich des Klassischen Altertums. 1956-present. Göttingen, Germany: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 1956-.
Green | 870.5 .L972 and Current Periodicals arranged alphabetically
Classics | ""

  

geography

The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png "We have drawn on the cartographic achievements of our predecessors, most notably from Richard J. A. Talbert’s magnificent Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World (2000), the remarkable fruit of an international research effort. DARMC includes the majority of the cultural features of the Barrington Atlas at a higher level of geographic accuracy and detail. We build on that achievement and continue it in close collaboration with Pleiades http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png, the online gazeteer and bibliography of classical sites."

Cary, M. The Geographic Background of Greek & Roman History. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1949.
Green | Stacks DE29 .C35
Classics | ""

Daremberg, C. E. Saglio. Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romains d'après les textes et les monuments, rev. ed. 1877-1919 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Grant, Michael. A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1986.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DE25.G72 1986
Classics | ""

Grant, Michael. Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994
Green | Information Center G1033 .G65 1994

Hammond, Nicholas G.L., ed. Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Press, 1981.
Green | Information Center G1033 .A84 1981 F

Richardson, L., Jr. A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1992.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DG68 .R5 1992
Art and Architecture | ""

Talbert, Richard J. A., ed. Atlas of Classical History Stanford only London: Croom Helm, 1985.
Green | Information Center G1033 .A833 1985

Talbert, Richard J.A., ed. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
Green | HASRC (Lane) Atlases G1033 .B37 2000 F
Green | Raubitschek Collection ""
Classics | Stacks ""

Wittke, A.  Historical Atlas of the Ancient World Stanford only (The New Pauly Supplement)

  

language sources

Some Latin resources on the web:

Some Greek resources on the web:

  • Henry George Liddell. Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones. with the assistance of. Roderick McKenzie. Oxford. Clarendon Press. 1940. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png (Perseus Project)

 

Allen, Joseph Henry. Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar For Schools and Colleges, Founded on Comparative Grammar. Edited by J.B. Greenough, G.L. Kittredge, A.A. Howard, Benj. L. D'Ooge. Boston, London: Ginn & Company, 1903. Online  http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png (Perseus Project)
Green Stacks PA2087 .A525 1903 . The standard Latin grammar.

Gangutia Elícegui, Elvira, and Francisco Rodríguez Adrados. Diccionario Griego-español. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, 1980-
 Green | HASRC (Lane) PA681 .D5 V.1

Glare, P. G. W., ed. Oxford Latin Dictionary. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. (Combined ed.)
Green | Stacks PA2365 .E5 O9 1982 F | Classics 

Lampe, G. W. H., ed. A Patristic Greek Lexicon. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1961
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA881 .P3

Liddell, Henry George, and Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. 10th ed. Revised by Henry Stuart Jones with Roderick McKenzie and others. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996. Online http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png (Perseus Project)
Green | Information Center PA445 .E5 L6 1996 F | Raubitschek Collection | Classics

Louw, Johannes P., & Eugene A. Nida, eds. Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains. New York: United Bible Societies, 1988.
Green | Stacks PA881 .G68 1988 V.1-2

Smyth, Herbert Weir. Greek Grammar. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1956.
Green | Raubitschek Collection PA254 .S6 1956 | Classics. Comprehensive Greek grammar which includes a glossary of rhetorical terms.

Sophocles, E.A. Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods (from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100). F. Ungar Pub. Co. [1957]
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA1125 .S6
Classics | PA1125 .S7 1957 V.1-2

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae. Editus auctoritate et consilio Academiarum Quinque Germanicarum Berolinensis, Gottingensis, Lipsiensis, Monacensis, Vindobonensis. Leipzig, Germany: B.G. Teubner, 1900-. 10 vols. Indexes in 23 vols. TLL Online
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA2361 .T4 F
Classics | "".
This work in progress is the fullest source available for the study of Latin lexicography. Progress to date nears the end of the letter P (pronuntiatus- propositio).

Souter, Alexander. A Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1964.
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA2371 .S6 1964
Music | ""
1st ed. also in Classics | PA2371 .S6 and Lane Medical | PA2356.S726 1949

Woodhouse, S.C. English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1959.
Green | INFO CENTER PA445 .E5 W6 1959
Classics | PA445 .E5 W6 1959

searching the literature

= internet resource; = internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

L'Annee philologique Stanford<br />
only (APh) bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latine, indexing and abstracting virtually all publications related to classical antiquity. The database currently contains the data from volume 20 (1949) and is about 3 years late in coverage of current material. Abbreviations Used in L'Annee Philologique. Predecessors:

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Use its title/keyword search option to find book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database

Dissertation Abstracts Borrow theses not owned by Stanford via Interlibrary loan. Search UCB's catalog OskiCat prior to making RLCP requests. Search WorldCat for holdings of other libraries.

FRANCIS Stanford only (1984+) indexes humanities and social science articles, books (including some dissertations) from a European perspective.

The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts the literature of philosophy from 1940 to the present. It is updated quarterly. Books and articles in English, German, French, Italian and Spanish are covered. Abstracts are common from 1969 on. Book reviews are found only its paper version.

TOCS-IN Tables of Contents project for select (approx. 150) classical journals. Electronic journals are not indexed by TOCS-IN: for a description of these and where to find them see Bibliotheca Classica Selecta, a compendious bibliography of classical studies maintained by Jacques Poucet in Belgium.

Google Scholar LogoGoogle scholar

subject specific reference

art & archaeology

Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romains d'après les textes et les monuments, rev. ed. 1877-1919 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Boardman, John, ed. The Oxford History of Classical Art. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
Green | Bender Room N5610 .O84 1993
Art & Architecture | ""

Cristofani, Mauro, ed. Dizionario della civiltà etrusca. Firenze: Giunti Martello, 1985.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DG223 .D59 1985
Green | Stacks ""

Pedley, John Griffiths. Greek Art and Archaeology. 3rd ed. London: Laurence King, 2002.
Green | Stacks DF130 .P44 2002. Covers art and architecture from the Bronze Age through the Hellenistic period.

Richter, Gisela M.A. A Handbook of Greek Art. 9th ed. New York: Da Capo, 1987.
Green | Stacks N5630 .R49 1987. Richter covers all aspects of Greek art from 1100 B.C.E. to 100 C.E.

Sherrat, Andrew, ed. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980.
Green | Information Center CC165 .C3 1980

Thomson, Nancy de Grummond. An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. 2 vols.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DE5 .E5 1996

epigraphy

= requires Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum. Editio altera. Berlini: G. Reimerum, 1862-.
Green | Raubitschek Collection 471.7 .C823 V.8:PT.5 FASC.1-2 (+ supplements)

Gordon, Arthur E. Illustrated Introduction to Latin Epigraphy. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1983.
Green | Raubitschek Collection CN510 .G63 1983
Classics | ""

Keppie, Lawrence. Understanding Roman Inscriptions. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1991.
Green | Stacks CN510 .K46 1991

Woodhead, A. Geoffrey. The Study of Greek Inscriptions. 2d ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1981.
Green | Raubitschek Collection CN350 .W65 1981. This is the standard introduction to the field for readers in English. Provides a guide to the major corpora of published Greek inscriptions.

geography

The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png "We have drawn on the cartographic achievements of our predecessors, most notably from Richard J. A. Talbert’s magnificent Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World (2000), the remarkable fruit of an international research effort. DARMC includes the majority of the cultural features of the Barrington Atlas at a higher level of geographic accuracy and detail. We build on that achievement and continue it in close collaboration with Pleiades http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png, the online gazeteer and bibliography of classical sites."

Cary, M. The Geographic Background of Greek & Roman History. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1949.
Green | Stacks DE29 .C35
Classics | ""

Daremberg, C. E. Saglio. Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romains d'après les textes et les monuments, rev. ed. 1877-1919 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Grant, Michael. A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1986.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DE25.G72 1986
Classics | ""

Grant, Michael. Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994
Green | Information Center G1033 .G65 1994

Hammond, Nicholas G.L., ed. Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Press, 1981.
Green | Information Center G1033 .A84 1981 F

Richardson, L., Jr. A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1992.
Green | HASRC (Lane) DG68 .R5 1992
Art and Architecture | ""

Talbert, Richard J. A., ed. Atlas of Classical History Stanford only London: Croom Helm, 1985.
Green | Information Center G1033 .A833 1985

Talbert, Richard J.A., ed. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
Green | HASRC (Lane) Atlases G1033 .B37 2000 F
Green | Raubitschek Collection ""
Classics | Stacks ""

Wittke, A.  Historical Atlas of the Ancient World Stanford only (The New Pauly Supplement)

history

 

= requires Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Boardman, John, Jasper Griffin, and Oswyn Murray, eds. The Oxford History of the Classical World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.
Green | Stacks DE59 .O94 1986
Art and Architecture | Reference DE59 .O94 1986

Boardman, John, ed. The Oxford Illustrated History of Greece and the Hellenistic World. Florence: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green | DF214 .O94 2001

Boardman, John, ed. The Oxford Illustrated History of the Roman World. Florence: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green | DG231 .O94 2001

Cambridge Ancient History. 3rd ed. London: Cambridge University Press, 1970-. 14 vols.
Green | HASCR (Lane) D57 .C252. Cambridge Histories online
Green | Stacks ""
Classics | "".
CAH covers the entire ancient Mediterranean from prehistory to 600 A.D., as well as Mesopotamia and Egypt.

mythology & religion

 

Adkins, Lesley. Dictionary of Roman Religion. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Green | Stacks BL798 .A35 2000

Bell, Robert E. Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1991.
Green | Information Center BL715 .B445 1991

Ferguson, Everett, ed. Encyclopedia of early Christianity. 2nd ed. New York: Garland Pub., 1997. 2 vols.
Green | Information Center BR162.2 .E53 1997
Classics | ""

Grant, Michael, and John Hazel. Who's Who in Classical Mythology. London: Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 1973.
Green | Information Center BL715.G68

Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Dictionnaire de la mythologie grecque et romaine. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Translated by A. R. Maxwell-Hyslop. Oxford; New York: Blackwell, 1996.
Green | Information Center BL715 .G713 1985

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). Zürich: Artemis, 1981-. 8 vols.; 16 parts.
Art and Architecture | Reference N7760 .L49 V.1:PT.1-V.8:PT.2. The most comprehensive source of information about the depiction of classical myths in ancient art.

Reid, Jane Davidson. The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990's. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. 2 vols.
Green | HASRC (Lane) NX650 .M9 R45 1993 V.1-2
Art and Architecture | Reference ""

Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts, and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900 with a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1991.
Art and Architecture | Reference N7760 .R63 1991

numismatics

A Catalogue of the Greek Coins in the British Museum. Bologna: A. Forni, 1963-65. 29 vols.
SAL | CJ427 .B7 1963

A Guide to the Principal Coins of the Greeks from circ. 700 B.C. to A.D. 270 / based on the work of Barclay V. Head. London: The Trustees, 1959.
SAL | CJ315 .B723
Classics | CJ315 .B723

Coins of the Roman Empire in the British Museum. London: Printed by order of the Trustees, 1923-. 6 vols.
SAL | CJ969 .A4

Coins of the Roman Republic in the British Museum. London: Printed by order of the Trustees: sold at the British Museum, 1910. 3 vols.
Green | INFO CENTER CJ909 .B7

Doty, Richard G. The Macmillan Encyclopedic Dictionary of Numismatics. New York: Macmillan, 1982.
Green | Stacks CJ69.D67 1982

Goodacre, Hugh George. A Handbook of the Coinage of the Byzantine Empire. London: Spink, 1965 [c1957].
Green | Stacks CJ1235 .G6
SAL | ""

Howgego, C. J. Ancient History from Coins. London; New York: Routledge, 1995. Online Stanford only
Green | CJ335 .H7 1995

papyrology

Bagnall, Roger S. The Oxford Handbook of Papyrology. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.

Cavenaile, Robert. Corpus Papyrorum Latinarum. Wiesbaden: O. Harrassowitz, 1958 [i. e. 1956-58].
Green | Stacks PA3335 .C3

Gallo, Italo. Greek and Latin Papyrology. Translated by Maria Rosaria Falivene and Jennifer R. March; London: Institute of Classical Studies, University of London, 1986.
Green | Raubitschek Collection PA3341 .G313 1986

Harrauer, Hermann. Handbuch Der Griechischen Paläographie. 2 v. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 2010.
Green | Stacks Z113.8 .H37 2010

Oates, John. F. et al. Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic, and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets. 5th ed. [Oakville, Conn.]: American Society of Papyrologists, 2001. On-line at: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/papyrus/texts/clist.html http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png
Green | Raubitschek Collection Z6604 .C47 1992

Pestman, P.W. The New Papyrological Primer. 2nd ed. rev. Leiden: Brill, 1994.
Green | Raubitschek Collection Z110.P36 D3813 1994

Tcherikover, Victor, ed. Corpus Papyrorum Judaicarum. Cambridge: Published for the Magnes Press, Hebrew University [by] Harvard University Press, 1957-64. 3 vols.
Green | Raubitschek Collection DS135.E4 T35

Turner, E.G. Greek Manuscripts of the Ancient World. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971.
Green | Raubitschek Collection Z113.8 .T86

Turner, E.G. Greek Papyri: An Introduction Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1980.
SAL Newark | Z6605.G7 T8 1980

philology/literature

Greek & Latin texts online

other early editions

Berkowitz, Luci, and Karl A. Squitier. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works. 3d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
Green | HASRC Z7021 .B47 1990
Green | Information Center "".
This work lists the source editions for each Greek author and work included in the TLG database. The Canon covers more than 3,000 Greek authors and more than 9,000 individual works. In most cases, what is considered the best available critical edition is cited.

Briggs, Ward W. Ancient Greek Authors Stanford<br />
 only Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1997 (Series: Dictionary of Literary Biography).
Green | Information Center PS129 .D52 V.176

Cambridge History of Classical Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982, 1985. 2 vols. Online Cambridge History of Classical Literature, V. 1 Greek Literature Stanford<br />
 only | Cambridge History of Classical Literature, V. 2 Latin Literature Stanford<br />
 only
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA3013 .C36 1982
Classics | ""
SAL | ""

Conte, Gian Biagio. Latin Literature: A History. Translated by Joseph B. Solodow. Revised by Don Fowler and Glenn W. Most. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1994.
Green | Bender Room PA6008 .C6613 1994
Green | Stacks ""
Classics | ""

Dihle, Albrecht. Greek and Latin Literature of the Roman Empire: From Augustus to Justinian. Translated by Manfred Malzahn. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
Green | Stacks PA3001 .D54 1994

Dihle, Albrecht. A History of Greek Literature: From Homer to the Hellenistic Period. Translated by Clare Krojzl. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
Green | Stacks PA3057 .D514 1994

Howatson, M.C. The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 3 ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. Fulltext via Oxford Reference Online
Green | HASRC (Lane) PA31 .H69 1991


Estienne, Henri, et al. Thēsauros Tēs Hellēnikēs Glōssēs =: Thesaurus Graecae Linguae. Post editionem anglicam novis additamentis auctum, ordineque alphabetico digestum tertio ediderunt 8 vols. Parisiis: A. F. Didot, 1831.
Green | Raubitschek Rm 483.7 .E81H F

Zimmermann, B.  Handbuch Der Griechischen Literatur Der Antike. v. 1- München: Beck, 2011.
Green | Lane Rm PA3057 .L584 2011

philosophy

Alexander, Porphyry, Dexippus, Ammonius, Themistius, Syrianus, Asclepius, et al. Commentaria In Aristotelem Graeca (CAG). Berolini: typ. et impensis G. Reimeri, 1882.
Green | Stacks PA3902 .A2 1882

Bell, Albert A., Jr., and James B. Allis. Resources in Ancient Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography of Scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
Green | HASRC (Lane) Z7125 .B39 1991

Diels, Hermann, and Walther Kranz. Die Fragmente Der Vorsokratiker: Griechish Und Deutsch (DK). 9. Aufl. / Berlin: Weidmann, 1959.
Green | Stacks B172 .D53 1989

Goulet, Richard, ed. Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques. Paris: CNRS, 1989-. 3 vols.
Green | Stacks B172 .D53 1989 V.1-3

Guthrie, W.K.C. A History of Greek Philosophy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1962-1981. 6 vols.
Green | Stacks B171 .G83 V.1-6
Classics | ""
SAL | ""
Tanner | "".
Standard work in English on Greek philosophy from the Pre-Socratics to Aristotle.

Lohr, Charles. Commentaria In Aristotelem Graeca. Versiones Latinae Temporis Resuscitatarum Litterarum (CAGL). Stuttgart-Bad Cannstatt: Frommann-Holzboog, 1990.
Green | Stacks PA3902 .A32 1990 F

Plato, ed. by John Burnet. Platonis Opera  Stanford<br />
 only Oxonii: e typographeo Clarendoniano, 1902.
Green | Stacks PA3405.S8 P6 1902

Plato, ed by E. A Duke. Platonis Opera. Oxonii: E. Typographeo Clarendoniano, 1995.
Green | Stacks PA4279 .A2 1995

Zeyl, Donald J. ed. Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip T. Mitsis, assoc. eds. Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Green | Information Center B163 .E53 1997