You are here

Classroom management

Last Updated: 19-Aug-2016

This is a guide for those interested in classroom management, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

Cover image of The Sage encyclopedia of classroom management
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB3013 .S237 2015 V.1
"shows the complexity of the field by the great number of relevant topics that need to be considered when trying to create good learning environments" p. xxxi
Cover image of Handbook of classroom management
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .H336 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1060 .F453 2014
New York : Guilford Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .H335 2011
"The Handbook summarizes the history of ABA and explains its conceptual and empirical building blocks. Approaches to defining and measuring behavior are discussed, including ways to optimize single-case experimental designs. Tools for behavioral assessment are thoroughly reviewed. Contributors then showcase evidence-based strategies for supporting positive behaviors and reducing problem behaviors."
2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .H285 2009
New York ; London : Springer, 2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.55 .H363 2009
3rd ed. / New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1715 .H274 2008
"Beyond simply conceptualizing the broad landscape of teacher education and providing comprehensive reviews of the latest research for major domains of practice, this edition aims to: stimulate a broad conversation about foundational issues; bring multiple perspectives to bear, including historical perspectives; provide new specificity to topics that have been undifferentiated in the past; and include diverse voices in the conversation."

New books

Practice-oriented
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3012 .S87 2016
Practice-oriented
Practice-oriented
Practice-oriented
Cambridge, MA : Harvard Education Press, c2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4801 .T68 2015
Practice-oriented.
Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .C559 2015
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .J63 2015
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .G37 2014
Practice-oriented.
Fourth edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .S444 2014
Practice-oriented.
Fourth edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3013 .S43 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.

Journals

[Washington, Association of Teacher Educators]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1715 .A235 V.36 2014
"Action in Teacher Education serves as a forum for the exchange of information and ideas related to the improvement of teacher education at all levels. Journal articles focus upon concepts, practices, and research that have implications and applicability for practitioners involved with teacher education."
[Wheaton, MD, etc., Association for Childhood Education International]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .C538 V.87 2010/2011
Wallingford, Oxfordshire, U.K. : Triangle Journals, 1993-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
[Houston, Tex., College of Education, University of Houston]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1084 .J68 V.46-48 2011-2013
Oxford ; New York : Pergamon Press, 1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1025 .L437 V.19 2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Websites