You are here

Documentary Films

Last Updated: 30-Aug-2012

Documentary Films


Documentary Film Network
Streaming video and downloadable films with a liberal or progressive slant.

The Dossier
Streaming video and downloadable films with a liberal or progressive slant.
Streaming video and downloadable films with a liberal or progressive slant.

Independent Lens
Emmy award winning PBS series.

Stanford Research Quick Start Guide: Film


BUND: British Universities Newsreel Database
Only a few of the actual newsreels are online, but there is a database of the stories covered in several newreel series.

Fox Movietone News Collection

Public information films / The National Archives (Britain)
Complete public information films from 1945-2006 online.

Movie Guides, Credits, and Plot Summaries

All-Movie Guide
Database of movies, actors/actressess, producers, directors and cast members. Includes a detailed synopsis.

Annual index to motion picture credits
Full credits, specific date of release, duration, and MPAA rating.

Green Library PN1993 .A55 Information Center: Non-ciruclating

The Internet Movie Database
Extensive database searchable by title, director's name, etc.; very detailed, nearly comprehensive.

Filmmaking & Production

Archive Film
Getty Images Stock footage.

Premier film scoring software.

Premier film editing software.

Birns & Sawyer
Equipment rental

California Film Commision

Cyber Film School

Digital Video
Technical information for digital filmmaking.

DFGDocs - The Bristish Documentary Website
A comprehensive resource for documentary filmmaking.

"The mission of DocuClub is to facilitate filmmakers in the making of their documentaries within a non-competitive, supportive community."

Documentary Educational Resources

Film Underground
"Repository of information designed to help the aspiring independent filmmaker."

"Film and Television production services handbook online, the search engine for international production services.

How to fund your film
From the archives of New England Film.

Mole-Richardson Company
Lighting equipment

New England Film
Resource for news, jobs, screening, reviews, equipment, etc.

Stock footage library.

Resource for Independent filmmakers.

Theory/Criticism - Rich source of reviews and other resources.

Film Festivals and Awards

Amnesty International Film Festival

Big Sky Documentary Film Festival

Cannes Film Festival

docfest - New York Internation Documentary Festival

DocNZ International Documentary Film Festival

Chicago International Film Festival

DanceswithFilms - Fringe Independant festival

hotdocs - Canadian International Documentary Festival

Hollywood Documentary Film Festival

Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival

Margaret Mead Film & Video Festival - Sponsored by the American Museum of Natual History

Silverdocs - American Film Institute/Discovery Channel festival

Slamdance Film Festival

Sundance Film Festival

Telluride Film Festival

Comments? Please Send to:

Dr. Henry E. Lowood
ph.: (650) 723-4602
Fax: (650) 725-1068

Subject Librarians

Curator, History of Science & Technology Collections: Film & Media Collections
(650) 723-4602