Drugs and Sports

PWR 1D - Summer 2016 - Instructor: Carpenter, Russ
The theme of this course is an exploration of the relationship between humans, drugs and sports. In this class we will examine a wide range of perspectives, from the biological mechanisms that underlie performance enhancement, the network of medical and black market systems that provide substances for elite athletes, to the systems in place for monitoring and policing individuals and the substances they consume. As the course theme is broadly defined, research topics will vary widely.

Reference Books

Berlin : Springer, c2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
1st ed. London ; New York : Chapman and Hall, 1990.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RS51 .D479 1990 V.1
2nd ed. Cambridge, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, c1999.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RA1193 .D53 1999 V.1

Videos

Here are some sample videos.  To find more videos in SearchWorks, do a search and select the video option under format.  You can also check Kanopy directly for the newest streaming video titles before they show up in SearchWorks.

   A look at how Americans see themselves as having to be the best in the world, and what some people will do in order to achieve that title.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
There is a growing buzz around the potential for science and technology to create significant "human enhancement" applications, such as bionic limbs, improved memory or cognition, or the ability to choose specific characteristics for our offspring. The possibilities stir the imagination and excitement of many, while for others the rhetoric and current research into human enhancement signals alarms of a new eugenics. And yet, for most non-scientists, this sounds like the realm of science fiction, a world awash in mystery and misunderstanding.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Kanopy is a leading distributor of educational streaming videos and DVDs. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Videos that are not yet subscribed can often be requested by users.

Research databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
  A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers over1,600 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. Also includes articles on 60,000 companies, with coverage from 1923 forward.
Beltsville, Md. : The Library, <1970>-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Agricola indexes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
New York, NY : Ovid Technologies, Inc., 1996-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes journal articles in nursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship. Over 2,500 journals are indexed, and the database covers literature published from 1982 to the present. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
PubMed is an index to over 5,000 journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) provide a powerful tool for searching topics. Updated daily, covers 1946--present, with some older material.
Bethesda, MD : U.S. National Library of Medicine, [2000?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A computerized system of files oriented to toxicology and related areas. It is managed by the National Library of Medicine's Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP). TOXNET is an integrated system containing modules for building and reviewing records as well as providing sophisticated search and retrieval features for NLM online users.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch allows you to search multiple databases at one time. Resources searched include abstracts and indexes that cover articles, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. xSearch resources also include full-text resources (books, journals, and reference materials) as well as library catalogs for archival materials and data sets.  It retrieves the first 100 items, but not all items, from a database so it can provide a key to finding the best databases to try when you are in doubt about which one(s) to use.