You are here

Early Printing

Primary tabs

= SUL/AIR internet resource; Stanford<br />
only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

The Infancy of the Art of Printing, a list of incunables at the Stanford University Libraries | "Printing and the Book" from the Renaissance and Reformation area of Oxford Bibliographies Online  Stanford<br />
only | Marginalia with Prof. Bill Sherman

Corpora of digital facsimiles:
Early English Books Online Stanford<br />
only
Classic Protestant Texts Stanford<br />
only

Microform facsimiles include:
Early printed Bibles: printed Bibles and Bible translations in the 15th and 16th centuries and philological tools on microfiche
Early English Books: 1475-1640. All titles separately cataloged in Socrates.
Bibliotheca Palatina

Guides & Book history

Encyclopedias & other compendia


Special Topics

Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies catalogs

  • Humanist Editions of the Classics at the C.R.R.S. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4026 v.1.
  • Humanist Editions of Statutes and Histories at the C.R.R.S. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4026 v.2.
  • Bibles, Theological Treatises, and Other Religious Literature at the C.R.R.S. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4026 v.3.
  • Published Books (1499-1700) on Science, Medicine and Natural History at the C.R.R.S. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4026 v.4.
  • Language and Literature Early Printed Books at the C.R.R.S. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4026 v.5.
  • Annotated catalogue of early editions of Erasmus at the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, Toronto. Toronto: Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, 1994. Green Library Stacks Z6207.R4O26 v.7

Bibliography, Library & Union Catalogs, Microform

Incunabula

  • Hain, Ludwig. Repertorium bibliographicum, in quo libri omnes ab arte typographica inventa usque ad annum MD http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png Stuttgartiae, J. G. Cotta [etc.] 1826-38. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.H3 (Library has v.1-2).
  • Copinger, Walter. Supplement to Hain's Repertorium bibliographicum ... http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png London, H. Sotheran and co., 1895-1902. 2 v. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.H3 S1. NOTES: Burger's index in v. 2 of pt. 2 has special t.-p.: The printers and publishers of the XV. century, with lists of their works .... Contents: pt. 1. Nearly 7000 corrections of and additions to the collations of works described by Hain. 1895.--pt. 2. Nearly 6000 volumes not referred to by Hain: v. 1. Albano-Ovidius. 1898. v. 2. Pablo-Zutphania. With addenda to parts I. and II. and Index by Konrad Burger, 1902.
  • Reichling, Dietrich. Appendices ad Hainii-Copingeri Repertorivm bibliographicvm: additiones et emendationes. Monachii: svmptibvs I. Rosenthal, 1905-1911. 7 v. in 3. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.H3 S2.
  • ______. Appendices ad Hainii-Copingeri Repertorium bibliographicum. Svpplementum [maximam partem e bibliothecis Helvetiae collectum) cum indice urbium et typographorum. Accedit index auctorum generalis totius operis. Monasterii Gvestphalorum, sumptibus Theissingianis, 1914. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.H3 S2 Suppl.
  • Nachtrage zu Hain's Repertorium bibliographicum und seinen fortsetzungen; als probe des Gesamtkatalogs der Wiegendrucke hrsg. von der Kommission fur den Gesamtkatalog der wiegendrucke. Leipzig, R. Haupt, 1910. Spec Coll Rare Books 016.093.H152p
  • Burger, Konrad. Supplement zu Hain und Panzer. Beitrage zur Inkunabelbibliographie. Nummernconcordanz von Panzers lateinischen und deutschen Annalen und Ludwig Hains Repertorium Bibliographicum. Leipzig, K. W. Hiersemann, 1908. Spec Coll Rare Books 016.093.H152sb.
  • ______. The printers and publishers of the XV. century, with lists of their works .... was published as a supplement of Copinger, above.
  • Panzer, Georg. Annales typographici ab artis inventae origine ad annvm md.... J. E. Zeh, 1793-1797. 5 v. Spec Coll Rare Books Z240.P2. NOTES: Continued by Annales typographici ab anno MDI ad annum MDI ad annum MDXXXVI continuati ... v.6-11 ( Spec Coll Rare Books Z240.P2 Suppl. Norimbergae, 1798-1803.) Contents: v. 1. A-Lvnebvgi.--v. 2. Madriti-Rothomagi.--v. 3. Salmanticae-Zwollis.--v. 4. Libri cvm nota anni at sine indicio loci et typographi. Libri indicio anni, loci, et typographie destivti. Supplementvm.--v. 5. Index primvs bibliographicvs secvndvm ordinem alphabeti. Index secvndvs urbivm et typographorvm alphabeticvs.
  • British Library. Catalogue of books printed in the XVth century now in the British Museum.. London, British Museum, 1908+. Green Library Gen Ref Z240.B862 f. CONTENTS: pt. 1. Xylographica and books printed with types at Mainz, Strassburg, Bamberg and Cologne.--pt. 2. Germany: Eltvil-Trier.-- pt. 3. Germany: Leipzig-Pforzheim. German-speaking Switzerland and Austria-Hungary.--pt. 4. Italy: Subiaco and Rome.--pt. 5. Venice-- pt. 6. Italy: Foligno, Ferrara, Florence, Milan, Bologna, Naples, Perugia and Treviso.--pt. 7. Italy: Genoa-Unassigned. Addenda.--pt. 8. France, French-speaking Switzerland.--pt. 9. fasc. 1. Holland. fasc. 2. Belgium.--pt. 10. Spain, Portugal.--pt. 12. Italy (supplement). E-text: Early English Books Online The library owns the accompanying microform: Early English Books: 1475-1640.
  • Goff, Frederick. Incunabula in American libraries; a third census of fifteenth-century books recorded in North American collections. New York, Bibliographical Society of America, 1964. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.S852.
  • Gesamtkatalog der Wiegendrucke IMPRINT: Leipzig, K. W. Hiersemann, 1925+. (In progress). Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.G38 f. NOTES: most recent vol.: 9.2-9.5, Friedrich-Grassus, completes the volume.

Gutenberg Bible and other 15th C. printed editions

  • Bible. Latin. Vulgate. 1454. Gutenberg Digital http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png Göttinger Gutenberg-Bibel, Musterbuch und Helmaspergisches Notariatsinstrument / hrsg. von Elmar Mittler, Stephan Füssel.
  • Bible. Latin. Vulgate. 1454. [Biblia latina, Moguntiae, Joh. Gutenberg, ca.
    1454-55. Leipzig, Inselverlag, 1913-1914
    ]. 2 v. facsim. 44 x 32 cm. Special Collections Rare Books Z241 .B58 F
  • Bible. Latin. Vulgate. 1496. Biblia cu[m] concordantijs in margine nec no[n] Hebraicoru[m] nominu[m] interpretationibus. Biblia cum concordantiis in margine nec non Hebraicorum nominum interpretationibus. [Brescia] : Impressa est hec Biblia ... Angeli [et] Iacobi Britannico[rum] ..., anno ... Mcccclxxxxvi die vero xxix. Decembris [29 Dec. 1496]. Physical Description: [1008] p. (last 2 p. blank) ; 19 cm. Edited by Petrus Angelus de Monte Ulmi; revised by Gregory Britannicus. Gabriel Bruno compiled the Tabula alphabetica historiarum (A2-A9). Cf. BM 15th cent., VII, p. 978 (IA.31154). Note: "Reprinted, in some sections with the same page-contents, from the edition of De Pagannis, Venice, 1492 (IA.23309, vol. V, p. 456), with the omission of the register and the addition of a colophon at the end of the table. The month-date 'Septimo Idus Septembris' in the second colophon is taken over unaltered from De Pagannis' edition"--BM 15th cent., VII, p. 978 (IA..31154). Special Collections Rare Books KA1496 .B5 CB.

There are other Incunabula catalogs, check Sheehy, Guide to Reference Books and its 1985-1990 Supplement, search World Catalog and contact the individual repositories. Stanford's guide The Infancy of the Art of Printing: a list of incunables at the Stanford University Libraries, which supercedes the printed catalog SUL. Dept. of Special Collections. Stanford incunabula 1975. A descriptive catalog compiled by Susan V.Lenkey.[Stanford, Calif., 1975]. [4],92 p. illus. 28cm. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z240.S78. TOPICS: Incunabula--Bibliography--Catalogs.

16th C.

  • Index Aureliensis; catalogus librorum sedecimo saeculo impressorum. Aureliae Aquensis, 1962+. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z1014.I5. Library has: pt.1, v.1, no.A1-A4; pt.1, v.2, no.A5-A8;; pt.1, v.3, no.A9-11; pt.1, v.4, no.A12-A14;; pt.1, v.5, no.A15-A18; pt.1, v.6-10;; pt.3, v.1-3). TOPICS: Bibliography--Early printed books--16th century.
  • Reformed Protestantism [microform]: sources of the 16th and 17th centuries on microfiche. Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation Co., 1980-. Notes: Title from printed guide; each guide also contains a short loose-leaf catalog by fiche number. Contents notes: 1: A.Switzerland; B. Geneva / editors, F. Büsser, O. Fatio -- 2. Strasbourg; France / editors, F. Büsser, O. Fatio -- 3. The Netherlands and Germany. -- 4. England / editor, R.C. Walton (80 titles) -- 5. East Friesland and North-western Germany / advisor, Wim Janse (144 titles).
  • The Anabaptist, Mennonite and spiritualist reformation [microform]. Leiden, The Netherlands: Inter Documentation Co., [1997]. Green Library Microtext MFICHE 2365. NOTES: The collection contains sources from various collections mainly from the United Mennonite Congregation Library kept in the University Library of Amsterdam. A comprehensive collection of the primary sources on religious nonconformity in Europe during sixteenth century in the Netherlands and in the German speaking countries.
  • Classic Protestant Texts Ad Fontes Electronic Publishers
  • Flugschriften des fruehen 16. Jahrhunderts : Microfiche Serie. [microform]. Green Library Microtext MFICHE 689; Register: Green Library Microtext Z7830 .F57 1979. TOPICS: Peasants' War, 1524-1525--Sources--Bibliography--Indexes. Reformation--Sources--Bibliography--Indexes. Germany--History--1517-1648--Pamphlets--Bibliography--Indexes.
  • Flugschriften des spaeteren 16. Jahrhunderts [microform]. Pamphlets of the later part of the sixteenth-century, 1531-1600. Leiden, The Netherlands: IDC, 1990+. Green Library Curr Periodicals Guides Z7830 .F57 1990 Guide; Green Library Microtext MFICHE 1694 (Library has v.1-8). NOTES: Microfiches of pamphlets in German or Latin originally published 1531-1600. Register's introduction also in English. Incomplete contents: Ser. 1. Items 1-380 [on 190 fiches] -- Ser. 2. Items 381-729 [on 190 fiches] -- Ser. 3. Items 730-1082 [on 190 fiches] -- Ser. 4. Items 1085-1373 [on 190 fiches] -- Ser. 5. Items 1374-1666 [on 188 fiches] -- Ser. 6. Items 1667-1940 [on 182 fiches] -- Ser. 7. Items 1942-2195 [on 253 fiches] --Ser. 8. Items 2196-2516. Kohler, Hans Joachim. Bibliographie der Flugschriften des 16. Jahrhunderts. Tubingen: Biblioteca Academica, 1991-. Green Library Stacks Z2000 .K79 1991 (Library has v.1:pt.1-3).
  • Early printed Bibles [microform]: printed Bibles and Bible translations in the 15th and 16th centuries and philological tools on microfiche / editor, Fritz Büsser. Leiden, Netherlands: Inter Documentation Co., c1989-. Notes: Includes polyglot Bibles and Bibles in Hebrew, Latin, Syriac, German, and many other languages. Accompanied by printed guide. Summary Holdings: GREEN - GRN-MTXT copy 1. Library has: 1 v. GREEN - GRN-MTXT copy 1. Library has: installments 1-5 <2338 microfiches>

British Library

  • Pollard, Alfred W. A short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640. 2d ed. rev. & enl. / begun by W. A. Jackson & F. S. Ferguson, completed by Katharine F. Pantzer. London: Bibliographical Society, 1976-1991. 3 v. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z2002.P77 1976 f; Information Center Z2002.P77 1976 f. Fulltext: Early English Books Online The library owns the accompanying microform: Early English Books: 1475-1640.
  • Short-title catalogue of books printed in Spain and of Spanish books printed elsewhere in Europe before 1601 now in the British museum. [London] Printed by order of the Trustees, 1921. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z2709.B86. TOPICS: Spanish literature--Early to 1500--Bibliography. Spanish literature--Classical period, 1500-1700--Bibliography.
  • A short title catalogue of French books, 1601-1700, in the Library of the British Museum, by V. F. Goldsmith.Folkestone [Eng.] Dawsons, 1969-73. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res CtrZ2162.B87. TOPICS: British Museum. French imprints--Catalogs. Bibliography--Early printed books--17th century--Catalogs.
  • Short-title catalogue of Spanish-American books printed before 1601 now in the British Museum, by Henry Thomas, keeper of printed books. London, Printed by order of the Trustees, 1944. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z1610.B67.
  • Short-title catalogue of books printed in Italy and of Italian books printed in other countries from 1465 to 1600 now in the British Museum. London, Trustees of the British Museum, 1958. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z2342.B7. TOPICS: Italian literature--15th century--Bibliography--Catalogs. Italian literature--16th century--Bibliography--Catalogs. Printers--Italy.
  • _____________________. Supplement. Catalogue of Italian books, 1465-1600. London ; Wolfeboro, N.H.: The Library, c1986. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z2342.B862 1986. TOPICS: Bibliography--Italy--Early printed books--16th century--Catalogs. Incunabula--Italy--Bibliography--Catalogs. Italy--Imprints--Catalogs. Italian imprints--Catalogs.
  • Short-title catalogue of books printed in the German-speaking countries and German books printed in other countries from 1455 to 1600 now in the British Museum. London, Trustees of the British Museum, 1962. Spec Coll Rare Books Ref Z2222.B86 1962. TOPICS: Incunabula--Bibliography--Catalogs. German literature--Early modern, 1500-1700--Bibliography--Catalogs. Germany--Imprints. Austria--Imprints. Switzerland--Imprints.
  • _____________________. Supplement. London : British Library, 1990. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z2222.B86 1962 Suppl.
  • Short-title catalogue of books printed in the Netherlands and Belgium and of Dutch and Flemish books printed in other countries from 1470 to 1600 now in the British Museum. London, British Museum, 1965. Green Library, Humanities & Area Studies Res Ctr Z2402.B86.

Italy

Vatican

  • Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae incunabula / edited by William J. Sheehan. Città del Vaticano: Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, 1997. 4 v. Green Stacks Z240 .A1 B54 1997
  • Bibliotheca Palatina [microform]. Green Library Microtext MFICHE 2154. NOTES: Catalog: Bibliotheca Palatina. Vorlaufiger alphabetischer Index [microform]. 32 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide (Green Library Microtext MFICHE 1313). Reproduces some 8,000 printed books published prior to 1620. Search Socrates for other material on the Bibliotheca Palatina. Originally the library of Ulrich Fugger, the Palatina Library of Heidelberg was taken to Vatican City in 1623 as booty of the Thirty Years' War.