AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Ecology Abstracts indexes journal articles in ecology and environmental science. Nearly 700 journals are indexed in full or in part, and the database indexes literature published from 1982 to the present. Coverage includes habitats, food chains, erosion, land reclamation, resource and ecosystems management, modeling, climate, water resources, soil, and pollution.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements indexes the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued by United States government agencies each year. For each environmental impact statement indexed in the database, an abstract includes a concise description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and a list of legal mandates.
Environment Index offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Index contains more than 1,590,000 records from 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 960 active core titles) as well as 100 monographs.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Updated monthly, it includes more than 700 indexed primary journals and 2,500 relevant monographs and conference proceedings.
Environmental Fate Database provides access to the following databases: DATALOG (contains 18 types of environmental fate data); BIOLOG (provides sources of microbial toxicity and biodegradation data); CHEMFATE (contains 25 categories of environmental fate and physical/chemical property information on commercially important chemical compounds); BIODEG (contains experimental values relating to biodegradation subjects); and BIODEG summary (provides summary evaluation and reliability codes for different test methods).
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management. This database collection, produced by CSA, has 13 subfiles that can be searched individually or as a single database. It offers abstracts for the worldwide literature covering the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Pollution Abstracts indexes material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents, in addition to journal articles. Topics in pollution and its management are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action. Major areas of coverage include: air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, noise, and radiation.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
Zoological Record indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present.
Information about endangered mammals including many pictures is included on this website. It is searchable by individual species or species group. Each animal page includes a profile, status and trends, data on biology and ecology and more references.
The Department of Global Ecology, founded in 2002 on the campus of Stanford University, conducts basic research on the interactions among the earth's ecosystems, land, atmosphere, and oceans. The goal of this research is to understand the ways in which these interactions shape the behavior of the earth system, including its responses to future changes.
EarthTrends, an initiative of the World Resources Institute, is a collection of information regarding environmental, social, and economic trends. The site offers a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily accessible formats. EarthTrends gathers data from the world’s leading statistical agencies, along with WRI-generated maps and analyses, into a single database for rapid searching and retrieving.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a free online resource bringing together information about all life on Earth in text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more. EOL offers 1.9 million species pages, plus opportunities for readers to create Collections, start and join Communities, share their species images.
The Ecology portion on the Environmental Yellow Pages website is helpful and contains multiple subjects including Aquatic Ecology, Ecology Research Centers, Ecosystems, Restoration Ecology and Wildlife Ecology. For each subject there is an extensive listing on links for information and resources.
The International Academy of Ecology and Environmental Sciences (IAEES) is a nonprofit international organization. Its goals are to promote global ecology and environmental sciences and protect global ecological environments by publishing scientific publications, conducting research activities, launching environmental programs, disseminating knowledge and technologies, sponsoring conferences, and providing information and discussion spaces.
The NCEAS website includes information about different research projects in the field of ecology and their results. There is also a portion that discusses the role of informatics in the field of ecology.
The Gap Analysis Program is part of the USGS, and determines the extent to which native animal and plant species are protected. The website includes information on ongoing projects, data and reports, meetings and project resources.
The United States Department of Agriculture has created an online National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) to bring together key resources on invasive species in the United States as well as other corners of the world. On the site, visitors can Browse by Subject to find Aquatic Species, Plants, Animals, and Microbes. The site includes legal definitions of these species, and the search feature can be used to find additional resources. The site also offers a useful interactive learning module, a calendar of related conferences, current legislation, and funding resources.
NSCEP/NEPIS is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s gateway to free digital and paper publications. More than 7,000 print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and 27,000 digital publications are available through the related National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS).
San Francisco is the first city with an Urban Forest Map thanks to a collaboration between Friends of the Urban Forest, the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, and the City of San Francisco. It is an online database of San Francisco's trees, including location, species, size, and health, with a cool map interface. Anyone can add trees, or browse for information.
Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and cellular processes. The site also offers resources for effective science communication and career paths.
The Global Invasive Species Team is part of The Nature Conservancy's response to abating the damage caused to native biodiversity by the human-facilitated introduction of non-native, harmful invasive species. This web site provides many resources designed to help conservationists deal most effectively with invasive species.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.