You are here

Elections United States

Education Unlimited A+ Summer Precollege - Summer 2016 - Instructor: John Kephart III
Last Updated: 10-Jul-2016

A guide for Education Unlimited A+ PreCollege Summer Program

 

Subject Librarians

Outreach and Instruction Librarian
(650) 498-9137
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Government Information Librarian, State, Local and International Documents
(650) 683-5235
US Government Information Librarian
(650) 862-9871
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

3. Article Databases

Below is a list of key article databases that contain scholarly articles, research reports, magazine and some news articles, and industry reports.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Publishing]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

4. Politics and Elections Databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Searchable fulltext content including United States legislative histories, hearing transcripts, bills and laws, vote reports, and documents. Most helpful for summarizing national policy issues: Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports.
Monterey, CA : Center for Homeland Defense & Security, Naval Postgraduate School, [2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Storrs, Conn. : Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.?] : SilverPlatter International, c1996-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, MI] : Proquest.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Nashville, Tenn. : Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

5. Election and Politics Websites

6. Presidential Rhetoric Sites

 For presidential speeches, check these databases (available to Stanford users):

1. Background Information

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Information Center » JK1976 .O95 2010
also available in print in the Green Library Information Center JK1976 .O95 2010
1st ed. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » JK1764 .R455 2013
Featuring twelve essays that engage with national, provincial, and municipal governments across three continents, this volume tackles traditional core elements of democratic representation, such as voting, electoral systems, and political parties, while also underscoring the ways in which beliefs and preferences of citizens are influenced, expressed, and aggregated and the effects of those methods and practices on political agendas and policy outcomes. In pinpointing deficiencies in contemporary democratic practices and possibilities for reform, Representation provides an invaluable roadmap to improve democratic representation in the twenty-first century. Also avaialble in print in Green Library stacks: JK1764 .R455 2013
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Information Center » JK2261 .O94 2010
Also available in print in the Green Library Information Center JK2261 .O94 2010
Bethesda [Md.] : Academica Press, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » JK1991 .M259 2010
This study uniquely and systematically makes the argument that the electoral process in America should be considered as a public good. This argument is placed in the context of an examination of campaign funding and historical attempts at reform. It furthermore is more analytic than anything in the field in tracing the connections between our system of private funding of electoral campaigns and specific difficulties that the country has encountered with regard to the environment, health care, and the financial crisis. It is unique in drawing the conclusion that greater political equality can best be achieved by providing candidates with the option of paying for their campaigns with public funds.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » JS395 .H35 2010
Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2011.
Green Library » Stacks » JK2281 .L56 2011

2. Searchworks Subject Terms