BioOne is a full-text aggregation of bioscience research journals. Most are published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. Subjects covered by BioOne journals include ecology, evolution, environmental science, natural history, taxonomy, and systematics.
BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
Zoological Record indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present.
This provides a summary of evolutionist Alfred Russel Wallace’s accomplishments and a record of his writings in the hope that his contributions to knowledge might become better recognized and provoke more of the kind of fearless and impassioned reasoning he was famous for.
MacClade is a computer program for phylogenetic analysis written by David Maddison and Wayne Maddison. Its analytical strength is in studies of character evolution. It also provides many tools for entering and editing data and phylogenies, and for producing tree diagrams and charts.
The Museum of Comparative Zoology (MCZ) at Harvard University is a center for research and education focused on the comparative relationships of animal life. The present-day MCZ collections are comprised of approximately 21-million extant and fossil invertebrate and vertebrate specimens, which continue to be a focus of research and teaching for MCZ, Harvard and outside students and researchers.
NESCent, The National Evolutionary Synthesis Center, is a collaborative effort of Duke University, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and North Carolina State University and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation. Its mission is to facilitate broadly synthetic research to address fundamental questions in evolutionary biology.
The PBS Evolution Web site is intended to serve as a comprehensive learning resource about evolutionary science for teachers, students and the general public. There are seven main topic, along with a searchable multimedia library containing graphics, websites, journals, programs, lessons, and print material.
This site allows users to download PHYLIP, a free software package that infers evolutionary relationships between taxa using one of a variety of inference methods. PHYLIP is available in several formats and is recommended for advanced students of evolution.
For advanced students of evolution, this site contains a comprehensive list of all known phylogenetics software. It is compiled and updated bi-annually by Joe Felsenstein, creator of PHYLIP phylogenetic inference software, at the University of Washington.
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
The University of California Museum of Paleontology presents its exhibits, collections, time lines, research, and more in this comprehensive site. "Understanding Evolution" is its popular learning tool, which teaches the fundamental concepts of evolution, such as its impact, evidence, and theory.