You are here

From the Galleries to the Streets: The Rhetoric of Public Space Art

PWR 1 1EC - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Cirillo-McCarthy, E.
Last Updated: 5-Dec-2013

Guide for PWR 1: From the Galleries to the Streets: The Rhetoric of Public Space Art, taught by Erica Cirillo-McCarthy.

Subject Librarians

Assistant Art Librarian
(650) 725-1037
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Reference Librarian/VRC Cataloger
(650) 725-9274
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Head, Art & Architecture Library
(650) 725-1038

Suggested reference sources

These two general reference tools are great for beginning your research regardless of your topic.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles.

SearchWorks tips

Suggested art databases

This list of art databases will lead you to articles, essays in collected works, exhibition catalogs, etc., in the literature of art history. The first title listed is an online art encyclopedia that may provide general information about your artist, the artist's time period or school, or the theme or subject of your art work.

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2007-
A great starting point. Contains the full text of five reference works: Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The Grove Art Online entries feature essays with bibliographies.
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Publications covered go back to the 1960s.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson, 1998-
Index of 420 art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. This index is continued by Art Full Text.      
[Santa Monica, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Trust ; Vandoeuvre-lès-Nancy, France : Centre national de la recherche scientifique]
A database search engine covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. This index is continued by The International Bibliography of Art.
The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields; Scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues; Very international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish).

News and contextual databases

Your research may branch out from strictly art-related material. The following databases are recommended.

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present. This tool is another great starting point when exploring recent scholarship on your topic.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
CSA Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
[Beverly Hills] : Sage Publications.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HT101 .S2 V.35 2007
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs.
[Bethesda, Md.] : CSA Illumina [distributor]
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.

Suggested websites