You are here

The German Tradition of Bildung or How to Become a Global Citizen

ESF 2/2A - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Strakowski, Watson
Last Updated: 25-Oct-2013

A guide to resources for Education Self-Fashioning ESF 2/2A: The German Tradition of Bildung or How to become a Global Citizen

Subject Librarians

Reference and Instruction Librarian, Coordinator of Newspaper Collection
(650) 725-6243
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Reference materials

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research-based argument.


"Autobiography," in New dictionary of the history of ideas. 6 vols. This book is also online in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Information Center

A Companion to the philosophy of education. (Blackwell companions to philosophy; vol. 27) Edited by Randall Curren. Online, in IC, and circulating copy in the stacks of Green Library

Encyclopedia of German Literature. Edited by Matthias Konzett.  2 vols. Articles on Bildung as well as Bildungsroman, and Wilhelm Meisters Lehrjahre. HASRC (Lane Room; non-circulating)

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. 4 vols., online and HASRC (Lane)

German writers in the age of Goethe, First Series, 1789-1832. (Dictionary of literary biography; v.90) Wilhelm von Humboldt: pp. 200-209. IC

German writers in the age of Goethe: Sturm und Drag to classicism. (Dictionary of literary biography; v. 94) J. W. von Goethe: pp. 46-67. IC

Women writers in German-speaking countries: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. IC

 

 

Databases

Academic Search Premier - "choose databases" (right of search box) to add Historical Abstracts and MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - includes German literature)

Philosopher's index - select "Social Sciences Databases" above search box to search many other ProQuest databases at the same time, including ERIC (education resources information center), PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts.

Project MUSE - general database, good for humanities and social sciences

 

Special Stanford resources