You are here

I ___ Therefore I Am: 21st Century Identity?

PWR 2DH - Spring 2016 - Instructor: Hunter, Donna
Last Updated: 24-Mar-2016

A guide to resources for PWR 2DH: I ___Therefore I Am: 21st Century Identity?. This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching reference materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles.

Subject Librarians

Outreach and Instruction Librarian
(650) 498-9137
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Green Library » Information Center » P87.5 .I585 2013 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
Green Library » Information Center » P96 .S5 E53 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2011.
Green Library » Information Center » HM741 .E53 2011 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2011.
Green Library » Information Center » KF1263 .C65 G45 2011
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » BD236 .E42 2010 V.1
New York : Routledge, c2007.
Green Library » Information Center » HQ796 .I58 2007 V.1

Selected Subject Terms

Suggested Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Selected E-Journals on digital media and culture

You can search within these journals directly using these links.

Elmsford, N.Y. : Pergamon Press, c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .C65 V.25:NO.1 2009
London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bristol : Intellect, c2005-
Green Library » Current periodicals
Hanover, NH : Dartmouth College, Dept. of Film and Television Studies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Palo Alto, Calif. : SNCR Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Berkeley, CA : Berkeley Electronic Press [Hoboken, NJ] : Wiley
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Bibliographic Management