Immigrants and refugees in books for children and young adults

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature about the experience of immigrants and refugees.

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .A7396 O84 2019
Lexile measure 930; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A465 B88 2019
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover of The crossroads
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I162 C76 2018
Lexile measure 820; Ages 8-12. Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .A3615 P43 2019
Lexile measure 690; Ages 10 and up; Gr.5 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6600 .A54 2018
Gr.5 and up
Cover image of Nowhere boy
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A76983 N69 2018
Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .I5 S23 2018
Lexile measure 1030; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First Dragonfly books edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O73 I2 2016
Lexile measure AD580L; Ages 5-9; PrK-Gr.2
Lexile measure AD560L; Ages 5-7; K-Gr.3; Americas Award  for Children’s and Young Aduld Literature, Commended Title, 2017
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T4733 Q85 2012
Lexile measure AD540L; Ages 5-7;K-Gr.3
1st ed. Willimantic, CT : Curbstone Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I5626 G75 2009
Gr.9 and up; Lexile measure HL690L; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, Honor, 2010
Cover image of Tonight, by sea : a novel
New York : Orchard Books, ©1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .E528 T66 1995
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12 and up; Gr.5-9; Americas Award for Children & Young Adult Literature, winner, 1995
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .G3887 M87 2018
Age 4-8; PrK– Gr. 3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A78975 S39 2018
Gr. 5-8
Cover image of Sea prayer
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .O832 S44 2018
Lexile measure 930; Ages 13 and up
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6054 .A89142 D39 2018
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T663 U53 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .M5 M67 2018
PrK-Gr.3
Cover image for Illegal
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6344 .C65 2018
Lexile measure GN490L; Ages 8-12; Gr.6-8
Lexile measure 730; Ages 8-10; Gr.2-5
Cover image of Trenfugiados
1a edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6703 .A463 T74 2016 F
Elementary
English edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7889.3 .A75 C3713 2018
K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I423235 P53 2018
Lexile measure 890; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Under the Sabbath lamp
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .E7632 U53 2017
Lexile measure AD840L; Ages 3-8; PrK-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .R75 A38 2018
Elementary
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6710 .U392 R44 2017 F
Elementary
Cover image of A different pond
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .H467 D55 2017
Lexile measure 620; Ages 6-8;  K-Gr.2
Lexile measure AD810L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3; Guided reading M

Elementary

San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E74 C35 1995
Lexile measure AD910L; Reading level 4.1; Gr.2-3
Rev. ed. San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press : Distributed by Talman, ©1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PL4378.9 .T64693 C613 1987
Gr.1-3
Rev. ed. San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press : Distributed to the Book trade by the Talman Co., ©1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3566 .A3317 A35 1988
Lexile measure AD480L; Reading level 3.4; K-Gr.4
Walnut Creek, Calif. : Shen's Books, ©2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E743 G73 2008
Lexile measure 580; Reading level 3.1; Ages 6-9; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I17 O55 2016
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Pura Belpre Author honor book, 2017
First hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .A749 L35 2015
Lexile measure 700; Ages 8-12
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press : Distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O4125 F76 2010
Lexile measure 640; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
Lexile measure 620; Ages 6-8; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E45 L36 2016
Lexile measure 640; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7539.2 .A67 S64 2016
Ages 7-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9160.9 .S26 J68 2016
Ages 3-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7298.412 .U45 D6713 2015
Lexile measure AD370L; Ages 4-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3565 .B662 I6 2015
Lexile measure AD140L; Ages 4-8;  K-Gr.2
New York : Children's Book Press,an imprint of Lee & Low Books Inc., [2007]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7539.2 .A67 A23 2007
Ages 7-10; Gr.3-8
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .O58285 P36 2013
Lexile measure AD680L; Ages 5-9; Pura Belpre Award, 2014; Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award, 2014
North Mankato, Minnesota : Capstone Young Readers, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6465 .K56 2014
Ages 3-7; Gr.1-3
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Calkins Creek, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JV6484 .S93 2012
Lexile measure 780; Reading level 4.7; Gr.4-8
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .O8659 S36 2012
Lexile measure 890; Ages 9-12; Gr.4-7
Boston [Mass.] : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS2234 .G55 2010
Lexile measure 790; Reading level 4.2; Ages 5-8; Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2011
New York : Clarion Books, c1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U4735 H69 1988
Lexile measure 460; Reading level 3.2; Ages 7-12; Guided reading S
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Boyds Mills Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .C66995 M97 2010 F
Lexile measure AD330L; Reading level 2.1; Ages 5-9 K-Gr.2
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press/Editorial Libros Para Niños ; [Berkeley, Calif.] : Distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E743 M9 2002
Lexile measure 720; Reading level 3.4; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6; Pura Belpre Award, 2004
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E3563 L36 2006
Lexile measure 790; Ages 7-12; Gr.3-6
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L845 R48 2009
Lexile measure 890; Reading level 5.7; Age 8-13; Gr.3-7; Guided reading V
1st ed. Atlanta, Ga. : Peachtree, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F869 .O2 W65 2006
Lexile measure 630; Reading level 3.5; Ages 9-12; gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H7685 H69 2008
Lexile measure AD660L; K-Gr.2; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,2009; Randolph Caldecott Medal Honor, 2009
1st American ed. La Jolla, Calif. : Kane/Miller Book Publishers, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .L64 Z45 2007
Ages 6-8; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2008
New York : A.A. Levine, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .T358 A77 2006 F
Ages 8 and up
New York : Clarion Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U4735 O54 2006
Lexile measure 450; Ages 5-8; Charlotte Zolotow Award Highly Commended, 2007
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I55867 B76 2005
Lexile measure 670; Reading level 3.5; Ages 7-12; Gr.3-5; Coretta Scott King Book Award Honor, 2006 Illustrator
1st ed. New York : Frances Foster Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E2848 M9 2003
Lexile measure 320; Reading level  1.6; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2; Guided reading M; Ezra Jack Keats Book Award - New Illustrator, 2004
1st ed. [New York] : HarperCollins, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A354 M9 2002
Reading level 3.7; Ages 5-8 K-Gr.2; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2003
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A936 G73 1993 F
Lexile measure AD650; Reading level 4.2; Ages 5-8; Gr.3-5; Guided reading O

Middle school

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R2828 R3 2017
Ages 9-12; Gr.5-7
Young readers edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E184 .M5 G6652 2016
Gr.6-9
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N54443 C58 2017
Gr.7 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .O538 S86 2016
Lexile measure HL650L; Ages 12 and up; Printz Award Honor Book,2017
First paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E447 B53 2016
Lexile measure 660; Reading level 3.8; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E685 S25 2016
Lexile measure HL560L; Ages 12 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A465 L57 2015
Lexile measure 800; Reading level 5.3; Ages 8-12; Gr.5-7; Guided reading X
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ8098.1 .G6 V5813 2014
Lexile measure 770; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-9; Pura Belpre Award Winner, 2015 author
First edition: September 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 R44 2014
Lexile measure HL620; Ages 11-15; Gr.6-9
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 T76 2009
Lexile measure 1170; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up; Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2010
New York : Clarion Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F868 .S156 F74 2013
Lexile measure 1140; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-7; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2014
New York : Dial Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT2724 .O6 L5813 2012
Lexile measure 900; Reading level 6.2; Ages 12-18; Gr.7-12; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2013
1st ed. New York : Harper, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .A394 I57 2011
Lexile measure 800; Reading level 5.3; Ages 8-12; Gr.5-7; Guided reading U; National Book Award winner, 2011; Newbery award honor, 2012; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2012
Boston ; New York : Clarion Books, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A6739 L66 2010
Lexile measure 720; Ages 9-14; Gr.5-8; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2011
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E69 S49 2010
Lexile measure 800; Reading level 5.3; Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8; Guided reading V
New York : Roaring Brook Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .L63 A615 2010
Lexile measure 790; Reading level 5.2; Gr.5-8; Ages 11 and up; Guided reading W;  Pura Belpre Award Honor, 2011; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,2011
1st American ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2662 .O5773 T4613 2010
Lexile measure 700; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6 and up
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C388435 D37 2010
Lexile measure 970; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .H5855 O84 2009
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 10 and up; Gr.5-8; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2010
1st ed. New York, NY : Feiwel and Friends, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E797867 B76 2008
Lexile measure 680; Reading level 4.3; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : Feiwel and Friends, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .P584 H66 2007
Reading level 4.3; Ages 9-14; Gr.6-9; Guided reading W
New York : Clarion Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A779 B74 2006
Lexile measure 810; Reading level 7.1; Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8; Guided reading T
New York : Philomel Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .U59 H43 2006
Lexile measure 940; Reading level 5.5; Ages 10 and up; Gr.5-8; Guided reading V
1st ed. New Milford, Conn. : Roaring Brook Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .A73 L56 2006
Lexile measure 650; Reading level 3.5; Ages 10-15; Gr.6-9; Guided reading T; Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature, 2007
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .U3476 A75 2006
Lexile measure 790; Reading level 5.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading X
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .A568 K56 2005
Lexile measure 560; Reading level 4.4; Ages 9-12; Gr.6-9; Guided reading W
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 E87 2000
Lexile measure 750; Reading level 5.5; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-8; Guided reading V

Young adult

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .A86653 R36 2016
Lexile measure HL590L; Gr.10 and up; William C. Morris award finalist, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E6914832 Y68 2017
Lexile measure HL720L;  Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3626 .O3 A44 2017
Lexile measure HL690L; ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A8492 L67 2014
Lexile measure 750; Reading level 4.7; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up; USBBY Outstanding International Books,2015
1st U.S. ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9369.3 .W544 B55 2011
Lexile measure 650; Reading level 3.7; Gr.8-12
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E82 R43 2007
Lexile measure 800; Reading level 3.5; Gr.9-12
Asheville, N.C. : Front Street, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .A16 S74 2001
Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up; Michael L. Printz Award Winner, 2002
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking