You are here

Language & Linguistics

Primary tabs

> tools of the trade

Stanford linguistics portal http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Stanford only = internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Search Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Stanford only for articles from 2,000 journals, recent books, dissertations | MLA international bibliography Stanford only |  Dissertation Abstracts Stanford only | Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature Stanford only

Read articles in linguistics ejournals (search by journal title) Stanford only | CLS (Chicago Linguistic Society) online Stanford only | Journal backsets from JSTOR Stanford only browse Linguistics

Corpora Stanford's resources http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Look up background information and survey articles online

Consult other reference books in the Information Center and on the web including The Oxford handbook of comparative syntax online Stanford only(2006) and The Handbook of Contemporary Syntactic Theory onlineStanford only(2003)

Explore the internet:

language data, corpora, online archives

sociolinguistics & applied linguistics

> more reference books

= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

English word roots

English words: history and structure / Robert Stockwell and Donka Minkova. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4669381. Appendix II: morpheme list

Frequency Analysis

See chapter 15 "The Statistical Analysis of Language" in The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language (1997). Use subject searches in SOCRATES: English language--word frequency; German language--word frequency, etc. Letter frequency: chapter 15 of The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. Only a few compilations are shelved in the Info Center.

> languages & dialects

Checklists

Compendia of basic information including grammar, alphabet, transliteration, etc. Also see sources under Checklists.

Many works include information on writing systems and alphabets. Particularly useful are:

Checklists | Basic info | Maps and atlases | Statistical and comparative data | Phonetics | Languages spoken in specific countries | Number of speakers | Official national languages | Number of languages

Language Maps & Dialect Atlases

Material listed here is in the reference Collections. Many language maps are in the Green Stack; use the SOCRATES search strategy FIND SUBJECT LANGUAGE MAPS combined with geographical, ethnic and/or language keywords and also the search strategy FIND SUBJECT LINGUISTIC GEOGRAPHY combined with geographical, ethnic and/or language keywords. General atlases often include language & ethnolinguistic maps, e.g., the C.I.A.'s Communist China Map Folio, and Historical Atlas of Africa. Many of the works listed in this guide include more or less detailed maps.

Ethnologue http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.pngCountry index

> statistical and comparative data

= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Ethnologue, http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png "Languages of the World," provides language-by-language information. Part II "steps back from the detail to offer a summary view of the world language situation. Specifically, it offers numerical tabulations of languages and number of speakers by world area, by language size, by language family, and by country": World area | Language size | Language family | Country

Print reference books

Comparative phonetics

Languages spoken in a particular country

Ethnologue http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  Country index

Number of speakers

Ethnologue http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  Country index

Official languages of countries

"Official Language," Wikipedia | Ethnologue http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  Country index

A chart and a map are found in "Sprachen der Erde" in Meyers enzyklopaedisches Lexikon, v.22; and in "Les Langues" in La Grande encyclopedie Larousse, v.7, repectively. Current information by country can be found in a number of almanacs and political yearbooks (e.g., Europa). Also:

Number of languages

6,912 living languages, source Ethnologue http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  Statistics by World area | Language size | Language family | Country

Endangered Languages

> history of English

Cuturomics http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png; "Quantitative Analysis of Culture Using Millions of Digitized Books" (Science)
http://www.sciencemag.org/content/early/2010/12/15/science.1199644.full.pdf http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

The following reviewed by Donka Minkova in Language 85,4 (2009): p. 893-907. Stanford only

A history of the English language (2006) / Gelderen
ISBN: 9027232377
1. Companion website www.historyofenglish.net
2. Available to Stanford-affiliated users at: site.ebrary.com

 

A history of the English language (2006) / Hogg & Denison
ISBN: 9780521662277
Available to Stanford-affiliated users at: www.myilibrary.com

 

Oxford history of English (2006)
ISBN: 9780199249312
Available to Stanford-affiliated users at: www.myilibrary.com

 

Cambridge History of the English Language, 6 v.
fulltext in Cambridge Histories Online