Languages We Speak: Discourses of Linguistic Diversity and Language Change

PWR 1JJA - Fall 2019 - Instructor: Johnson, J.

A guide to resources for PWR 1:The Rhetoric of Language and Thought. According to recent census estimates, at least 220 language are spoken in California and nearly half of California residents speak a language other than English at home. And, while cognitive and sociolinguists point to the benefits of multilingualism, bilingual education in California was banned from 1998 until the Multilingual Act in 2016. What is the effect of English language dominance both in the US and worldwide? And, think about this, while Mexico's government recognizes 68 indigenous languages, linguists recognize 292 separate languages. Why this difference? What roles do scientific, political, and popular discourses play in shaping language ideologies?

 

Background/Reference Sources: Language Diversity

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. 

2nd ed. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997.
Green Library » Information Center » P29 .C64 1997
New York : Nova Science Publishers, 2011
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Second edition.
Green Library » Stacks » P40.5 .S57 D36 2018
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » P94.6 .N53 2012
Also available in electronic form - click link in the Searchworks record.
2nd ed. Boston : Elsevier, c2006.
Green Library » Information Center » P29 .E48 2006 V.1
Also available in electronic form - click link in the Searchworks record.
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » P35 .F67 2006
Green Library » Lane Reading Room: New books » P40 .S493 2019

Selected Searchworks Terms: Language Diversity

Selected Journals: Language Diversity

Oxford ; New York : Pergamon, c1981-
Green Library » Stacks » P1 .L3 V.15 1995
The Hague, New York, Mouton.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P40 .I5 NO.171-176 2005

Selected Databases

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking