You are here

Manuscripts (pre-1600) in the Dept. of Special Collections

Primary tabs

Last Updated: 5-Mar-2014

SearchWorks is the most up-to-date record of SUL holdings. Search the subject phrase “Medieval and Renaissance studies” in the Archives/Mss subfile. Manuscripts sorted by date earliest to most recent.

Images available for all manuscripts: Image Gallery -- Medieval Manuscripts

Shelfmark M

M150
Antiphonal leaves, n.d.
11 items. LOC: Special Collections M150. SUMMARY: Leaves from different antiphonaries, most unidentified as to place and/or time of creation. Note: An antiphonary is a book containing the choral parts of the Divine Office. Occasionally book dealers have disbound a complete work to sell the individual leaves separately. Provenance various: folder 1, gift of Arthur McEwen; folder 2, gift of Philip D. Leighton; folder 9, gift of the estate of Stephen Jay Gould.

M297
Medieval manuscripts: fragment collection, 11-- - 14--, and no date. Various donors including Albert Bender, 1935 & 1936; Fanny and Philip Duchnes, 1948; and the DeLemos estate, 1962. Some purchases. Finding aid available in Special Collections Reading Room and online [sic].

M299
Medieval fragments study collection, 11th-16th cent.
130 items. LOC: Special Collections M299. SUMMARY: Primarily fragments, these specimens were acquired to demonstrate the development of writing in the western world. A variety of scripts are represented, from Carolingian minuscule to the humanistic hands and the "cancelleresca." In Latin. Purchased, 1969 and 1978. Indexes: Unpublished finding aid available. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1000-1599. TOPICS: 11th century--Italy. 12th century--England. 12th century--France. 12th century--Germany. 12th century--Italy. 13th century--France. 13th century--Germany. 13th century--Italy. 14th century--England. 14th century--France. 14th century--Germany. 14th century--Italy. 14th century--Spain. 15th century--Belgium. 15th century--England. 15th century--France. 15th century--Germany. 15th century--Italy. 15th century--Netherlands. 15th century--Spain. 16th century--France. 16th century--Italy. Paleography.

M311
Kent (England) Deeds, 1400-1799
3 linear ft. (113 items): mostly on vellum. LOC: Special Collections M311. NOTES: The documents come almost exclusively from Kent and involve several of the same families, tenures, towns, etc., over the space of 300 years. SUMMARY: Deeds, including conveyances, assignments, leases, and mortgages. Primarily in Latin, some in English. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript survey. Language: Latin. Year: 1400-1799. TOPICS: England--History--Medieval period, 1066- 1485. England--History--Modern period, 1485- . Kent (England). 15th century--England. 16th century--England. 17th century--England. 18th century--England. GENRE: Conveyances. Deeds. Leases. Mortgages.

M315
Arganda (Spain): legal documents, 1560-1581
.25 linear ft. LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: Written primarily by the same official notary, “Don Manuel Garcia Leormano del Juzgado.” SUMMARY: Credit transactions, chiefly promissory notes, issued to farmers of Arganda and its vicinity, from 1560 to 1581. In Spanish. Purchased, 1980. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. On printed forms with manuscript insertions and long addenda. Language: Spanish Year: 1560-1581. TOPICS: Arganda (Spain)--Economic conditions-- 16th century. 16th century--Spain. GENRE: Contracts.

M342
Statuta Civitatis Massilie, 1228-1319. [Marseille, 1265-1319] 1 v. (157 leaves); 34 cm. LOC: Special Collections M342. NOTES: In 1252 the Territory of Provence passed from German and Italian influence to that of France when Count Charles I of Anjou married Beatrice, heiress of Provence. He moved to Marseille and brought with him his own vicar to replace the podestat. The city was permitted to retain its existing statutes provided they be recorded and mutually agreed to. In 1265, 13 years later, this manuscript was copied by a notary from earlier versions worked on during the interim. Significant additions continued to be made in later hands, the last in 1317. SUMMARY: Composed of 3 distinct parts, the Statuta Antiqua, the Capitula Pacis (the peace treaties between Charles d'Anjou and the City of Marseilles), and the Statuta Facta Post Pacem, the statutes embrace every aspect of life in the Middle Ages. A partial list of topics include city government, courts and their operation, duties of city officials, regulation of commerce, treatment of foreigners, the public morality, import lists, and taxes. In Latin and old Provencal, rounded gothic book script. Gift, 1981. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1265-1319. TOPICS: Marseille (France)--History--Medieval period, 987- 1515. 13th century--France. 14th century--France. GENRE: Statutes.

M351
Jung, Theodor, Collector. Calligraphy samples, 300-1981
1.75 linear ft. LOC: Special Collections M351. NOTES: SUMMARY: Original examples, printed ephemera, and photographic reproductions of various calligraphic styles, 4th century to present, with emphasis on contemporary calligraphers, particularly Oscar Ogg and Raymond DaBoll. Collector. Gift of Theodore Jung. Language: English Year: 3000-1981. TOPICS: DaBoll, Raymond F. 1892- Jung, Theodore. Ogg, Oscar, 1908-1971. Calligraphy.

M374
Perugia (Italy), Court of the Podestà. Records, 1290-1386
48 folios, representing 44 cases: 23 are complete, 21 are fragmentary; .5 linear ft. LOC: Special Collections M374. NOTES: Data organization: Arranged chronologically. These court records were written by a number of notaries whose signs (the origin of notarial seals) decorate the upper left-hand corners of many of the documents. SUMMARY: Mainly accusations or condemnations made before, or issued by, the podestà of Perugia. They involve cases of moral conduct, violence, robbery, armed threat, drunkenness, and disorderly conduct. In Latin. These folios once belonged to a series of codices which were, at an unknown time in the past, fragmented and dispersed. Gift of the Associates of the Stanford University Libraries, 1975. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. There is a photographic copy of one document, recto and verso; the location of its original is unknown. Language: Latin. Year: 1290-1386. TOPICS: Law--History--Perugia (Italy) Podest`a--Perugia (Italy) Perugia (Italy). Notaries. 13th century--Italy. 14th century--Italy.

M384
Gibbon family. Papers, 1519-1813
.75 linear ft. LOC: Special Collections M348. NOTES: SUMMARY: 2 letters of Edward Gibbon, 1775, to the first Lady Sheffield (as Mrs. Holroyd); 2 letters by Hester Gibbon to Lord Sheffield, one referring to her nephew, the historian, 1786; One letter from Francis North to his sister Anne (later Countess of Sheffield) giving an irreverent description of Gibbon at a party at Lausanne, 1791. Also included are letters to Gibbon senior (36) together with Gibbon senior's household accounts and legal documents (ca. 200 items), 1519-. Also available on microfilm. Gift of W. B. Carnochan, 1981. Language: English Year: 1519-1813. TOPICS: Gibbon, Edward, 1737-1794. Gibbon family. North, Francis, 1761-1817. Sheffield, John Holroyd, Earl of, 1735-1821. English literature--18th century. 16th century--England. 17th century--England. 18th century--England.

M388
Album palaeographicum . . . 1285-1629
44 documents. LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: Chronological, by language. SUMMARY: 33 French documents pertaining primarily to property or payments of money, including 2 marriage contracts (1367, 1565), a will (1409), building accounts (14th cent.), a list of purchases of wood from the royal forest of Longchamps (1409), and documents in the name of or issued by officials of the Count of Flanders (1339), the Black Prince as Prince of Acquitaine (1365), the Prioress of Poissy (1380), the Duc de Berry (1390), Charles VI (1395), and Duke Charles II of Lorraine (1598). 10 Spanish deeds relating to property in or near C_ordoba, 1400-1516, and one document (ca. 1440) from the Council of Basel referring to Agnes of Portugal and the Infante Henry of Aragon. Purchased, 1977. Indexed by: Reported to:BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Old French Year: 1285-1629. TOPICS: Agnes of Portugal. Charles VI, King of France, 1368-1422. Charles II, Duke of Lorraine. Henry Infante, of Aragon. Council of Basel. C_ordoba (Spain)--History--711-1516. 13th century--France. 14th century--France. 15th century--France. 16th century--France. 17th century--France. 15th century--Spain. 16th century--Spain. 15th century--Switzerland. GENRE: Accounts. Contracts. Deeds. Wills.

M389
Bliss, Philip, 1787-1857, collector. Medieval manuscript fragments, ca. 850-1499
17 items (20 leaves). LOC: Special Collections M389. NOTES: Philip Bliss, Oxford antiquary, was one of the first collectors to recognize the historical and cultural importance of the medieval manuscript fragments. Most of the fragments came from the best known books of the Middle Ages; they survived intact in England until ca. 1520-70 at which time, particularly in Oxford and Cambridge, they were taken to pieces for use by binders as pastedowns, wrappers, fly leaves, and reinforcing strips. SUMMARY: The leaves come from the following works, listed here in chronological order: Carolingian compilation on the Psalms (France), glossarium (Eastern France), diurnal (Germany), Sacramentary (Germany), Beneventan psalter (Southern Italy), Augustinus (Italy), grammar of the Latin language (England), secular antiphoner (Central Italy), Isaiah (England), secular breviary (France), commentary on Aristotle's Physica (England), interpretations of Hebrew names (France), theological work (Italy), Venetian guild inventory (Italy), about the proper conduct of monks (the Netherlands), elegiac verses about nature and the fates (England), and commentary on First Corinthians (England). Primarily in Latin. Purchased, 1984 and 1986. Indexes: Unpublished guide available. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 8500-1499. TOPICS: Aristotle. Bliss, Philip, 1787-1857. Carlovingians. Catholic Church. Liturgy and ritual. Psalter. Church history--Middle Ages, 600-1500. Church music--Catholic Church--Middle Ages, 600-1500. Education, Medieval. Guilds--History--Italy. Illumination of books and manuscripts. Monasticism and religious orders--Middle Ages, 600-1500. Music. Paleography. France--History--To 987. France--History--Capetians, 987-1328. Germany--History--To 1517. England--History--Medieval period, 1066- 1485. Italy--History--476-1492. Netherlands--History--House of Burgundy, 1384-1477. 9th century--France. 9th century--Germany. 10th century--Germany. 11th century--Germany. 11th century--Italy. 12th century--England. 12th century--Italy. 13th century--England. 13th century--England. 13th century--France. 14th century--France. 14th century--Italy. 15th century--England. 15th century--Germany. 15th century--Italy. 15th century--Netherlands. GENRE: Antiphonaries. Breviaries. Glossaries. Grammars. Liturgical books. Sacramentaries. Images.

Note on Augustinus, Bishop of Hippo and Saint. TRACTATUS IN JOHANNEM. Italy, 1st half of 12th century | image (732K). Single complete leaf written in a well-formed large Carolingian script of 2 sizes. From an Augustine HOMILIES, with romanesque white-vine decoration. "In checking our records I find that the collection of fragments, M389, was purchased from Quaritch, 1984, catalog 1036. I only have photocopies of the relevant pages from the catalog but a note on the page for #87 (our manuscript) includes the following: "From a fragmentary manuscript broken up in this century; another leaf is now at Keio University, Tokyo, MS fragment 80202289."
   In The Medieval Book and a Modern Collector, essays in honour of Toshiyuki Takamiya, ed. by Takami Matsuday et al., 2004, a contribution by Christopher de Hamel, "Phillipps fragments in Tokyo," refers to Quaritch's holdings on page 22, saying that the Keio purchase of fragments in 1981 had a provenance of Phillipps-Robinson-Kraus-Rosenthal-Keio. I don't know if catalog 1036 included purchases by Quaritch before 1981, but de Hamel writes, "Most of what still remained [after 1981] he [Rosenthal] incorporated into a single vast collection of leaves purchased by Bernard Quaritch, who dispersed it principally in 1988 and 1991. Buyers there too included Keio University. Such leaves are called here Phillipps-Robinson-Kraus-Rosenthal-Quaritch."   
   We bought another Augustine fragment from Quaritch in 1986, catalog 1056, our catalog number Misc 160. The dealer description gives a provenance note, "from the collection of Wilfred Merton; given to Eric Millar (the earliest manuscript in his collection: no. 43 in the checklist published in The Eric Millar Bequest, British Museum, 1968." It is also in Carolingian minuscule however thought to be from eastern France/Germany, 2nd quarter of 9th century.

M410
Biagio, Antonio. Repertorio di Antonio di Biagio: notarial record book, 1344-1440, Italy
1 v. (ca. 296 leaves); 24 cm. LOC: Special Collections M410. NOTES: Antonius Blasius (Antonio Biagio) a notary public, probably if Citta di Castello, central Italy. SUMMARY: Notarial records. In Latin, various scripts. Purchased, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1344-1440. TOPICS: Biagio, Antonio. Citta di Castello (Italy)--History--1268- 1492. Notaries. 14th century--Italy. 15th century--Italy.

M415
England: Documents, 1461-1871
28 items. LOC: Special Collections M415. NOTES: SUMMARY: A Miscellaneous collection of English documents form many sources, arranged in chronological order according to the dates of the documents. Primarily in English; some in Latin. Various sources. Indexes: Unpublished guide available. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: English Year: 1461-1871. TOPICS: 16th century--England. 17th century--England. 18th century--England. GENRE: Indentures. Mortgages.

M535
Miscellaneous documents, 1326-1867.
36 items (1 linear ft.). LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: SUMMARY: Apparently unrelated documents, primarily 17th & 18th century, in French and German, but also a few in Old French, English, Italian, Latin, and Arabic. Many from Bern (some of these are related) and one each from Geneva, Paris, Kensington, & London. Includes apprenticeship papers, monetary accounts, contracts, a marriage announcement, a medical or coroner's report, and a life annuity contract. Indexes: Finding aid available. Language: French Year: 1326-1867. TOPICS: Social history--17th century. Social history--18th century. Bern (Switzerland)--Social conditions. Paleography. 14th century--France. 17th century--France. 18th century--France. 17th century--Germany. 17th century--Switzerland.

M556
Flordon (Norfolk): documents, [12--]-1533.
28 items. LOC: Special Collections NOTES: SUMMARY: Primarily land leases and conveyances. Includes a Royal Letters Patent of Henry VIII settling a land dispute. All documents on vellum, many with fine seals. Purchased, 1990. (Sotheby sale June 19, 1990, Lot 69) Language: Latin. Year: 1200- 1533. TOPICS: Henry VIII, King of England, 1491-1547. Paleography. England--Social life and customs. 13th century--England. 14th century--England. 15th century--England. 16th century--England. GENRE: Conveyances. Leases. Seals.

M722
Wright, Julian C, collector. Art and photograph collection, ca. 1300
4 linear ft. LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: American painter. SUMMARY: Art collection, including leaves from medieval manuscripts (some with illumination), early examples of typography, 18th and 19th century engravings, 19th century photograph albums, and 20th century illuminated manuscripts. Gift of the estate of Julian C. Wright, 1979. Language: English Year: 1300-1950. TOPICS: Cruickshank, George, 1792-1878. Grandville, J.J., 1803-1847. Rennell, Phoebe. Illumination of books and manuscripts, Medieval. 14th century. 15th century--Belgium. GENRE: Albums Photoprints Portraits

M1091
Bible. O.T. Exodus, 28:16-26. Manuscript leaf, ca. 1175
. 1 leaf, on vellum. 32x20.8 cm. Matted. LOCATION: Special Collections M1091. NOTES: France. Commentary by "The Venerable Bede." SUMMARY: This text has the better part of the description of the garments of the priests contained in the verses of Exodus 28 noted above. It is written in a large textura hand, each sentence or lengthy phrase beginning with a red or blue capital. The Biblical text is presented in a single, narrow column just under 2" wide. To its left and right is the extensive commentary of the Venerable Bede (ca. 672-735), the famous Anglo-Saxon Benedictine scholar and theologian. The commentary is written in a smaller textura hand. There is additional inter-linear commentary within the column of Bible text in an even smaller hand. In Latin. Purchased, 1999. Language: Latin. Year: 1170-1180 Item CSUR99-A334 (Archives). TOPICS: Bede, The Venerable, Saint, 673-735. Bible. O.T. Exodus. Decoration and ornament, Medieval--France. Medieval and Renaissance studies--12th century--France. 12th century--France.

M1225
Processus Martini P.[apae] IV [aliis II] contra Petru[m] Arragonae et Palaeologum : manuscript document, ca. 1281
vellum scroll (ca. 8 feet long). NOTES: The text is complete, save for the opening and closing formulas, as would be normal for a copy. Two damaged portions have early repairs in the form of glued-on vellum patches with the lost text replaced in good manuscript "facsimile." [Notes taken from appraisal]. Pope Martin IV was, in fact, the second pope by that name, not the fourth, because "Martin II" and "Martin III" were incorrect spellings in the official papal lists and should have been "Marinus II" and Marinus III." This explains why the above title includes the words "aliis II." SUMMARY: Martin IV (pope from 22 Feb 1281 to March 28, 1285) completely reversed the policies of his predecessors by throwing his support to the king of France. This unusually long and detailed document issued by the papal chancery against the Emperor of Byzantium Michael VIII Palaeologos and King Peter III of Aragon illustrates the consequences of this reversal: it threatens both rulers with excommunication unless they promptly comply with the pope's commands. Both Michael Palaeologos and Peter of Aragon were eventually excommunicated. This conflict between the Holy See with the emperors of the East and the Kings of Aragon has received much attention by historians. Includes a transcription and description written by Kathryn T. Maguire with Suzanne M. Miller for Professor Rega Wood's Philosophy 314 class (Medieval Latin Paleography), spring quarter, 2001.

M1638
Catholic Church. Pope (1417-1431: Martin V)
. Papal bull issued by Pope Martin V to the Benedictine Abbey of St. Bertin at St. Omer, granting permission for the monks to elect their own confessors. Rome, January 3rd, 1421. 1 vellum sheet with seal, matted : 49 x 31 cm. Purchased, 2008.

M1677
Fragment from a large book of psalms: manuscript on vellum.
Spain 15th century. 
Physical Description: 2 map folders (11 leaves; 3 loose and 2 (in 8s) ; 80 x 57 cm.) Note: 12 lines written in black ink in large gothic bookhand, double-ruled in blue or purple (from the mollusk). Rubrics in red, some with multiple colors. Note: Open for research; material must be requested at least 36 hours in advance of intended use. Summary: This is a decorated fragment from a large book of psalms comprising a portion of Psalms 8 and 9. Note: Purchased, 2009. Accession 2009-120. Subject (LC): Illumination of books and manuscripts, Medieval--Spain. Subject (LC): Manuscripts, Latin--Spain--15th century. Genre: Psalms (Music).

M1678
Leaves from a lectionary: manuscript on vellum, circa 1190.
Italy
Physical Description: 2 leaves ; 31 x 21 cm Note: Double columns of 28 lines written in careful calligraphic hand in brown ink, on vellum, rubrics in red with some green, prickings visible on outside edge of page. Note: Open for research; material must be requested at least 24 hours in advance of intended use. Summary: A lectionary contains a collection of scripture readings appointed for worship on a particular day. This text includes a portion of Deuteronomy:1 and Ezekiel:18. Note: Purchased, 2009. Accession 2009-125. Note: Latin. Subject (LC): Illumination of books and manuscripts, Medieval--Italy. Subject (LC): Manuscripts, Latin--Italy. Genre: Lectionaries. Subject (Other): Medieval and renaissance studies--Italy--12th century. 

M1683
Petrus, Comestor, 12th cent.
Historia scholastica : manuscript fragment. [France, mid-14th century]
1 bifolium (a total of 8 columns of 38 lines each) :vellum; 29 cm. Note: Gothic script, brown ink.Note: Ruled lightly with plummet, rubrics filled in but spaces for two-line initials left blank. Summary: The HISTORIA SCHOLASTICA is a continuous biblical history from the Creation to the Ascension based on the Old Testament, the Gospels, and the Acts, supplemented by references to the Church Fathers and other authors. This text contains commentaries on I Kings 23-4, and II Kings 10-12, and deals extensively with King David, including his adultery and murder of Uriah. Related manuscrits M1682, SCMS 791211 0000

M1705
Justinian I, Emperor of the East, 483?-565
. Pandectae. 12th century. 4 leaves. The leaves preserve chapters of ancient Roman law uncannily relevant to modern society: “Vexatious Litigants,” “Gifts between Husband and Wife,” and “Divorces and Repudiations.” It has a marvelous anthropomorphic or zoomorphic initial. The Digest was lost and recovered in a famous sixth-century uncial manuscript around 1075, so the marginal and interlinear glosses in this fragment are early witnesses to the rediscovery of the text and anticipate the later codification of the gloss.

Shelfmark MISC

MISC 010
Durham. De situ Dunelmi: ms. poem
[ca. 1660]. 5 p. LOC: Special Collections Misc 010. NOTES: Neil Ker identifies the hand of the transcriber as that of Francis Junius, the leading Old English scholar of his day. It is not known where Junius obtained the text, there were two manuscript versions, two printed texts, and perhaps one transcription of DURHAM available to him. The transcription is evidently based on a now-lost manuscript. Only one early manuscript is now extant (Cambridge, late 12th century, Ff.i.27, page 202). Summary: 20 lines of Old English alliterative verse describing the city of Durham, England, and mentioning St. Cuthbert and the Venerable Bede. Following the poem are 2 1/2 lines in prose relating to St. Cuthbert. Dealer's correspondence with Ker, and paper by Donald K. Fry, "A newly discovered version of the Old English poem DURHAM," 1992, accompany text. In Anglo-Saxon with a Latin translation in the second column. Purchased, [1966?] Language: Anglo-saxon Year: 1640-1677. OTHER: Junius, Franciscus, 1589-1677. TOPICS: Cuthbert, Saint, Bishop of Lindisfarne, ca. 635-687. Bede, The Venerable, Saint, 673-735. Fry, Donald K. Ker, Neil. Anglo-Saxon literature. English literature. Durham (Durham). 17th century--England.

MISC 025
Ludus literarum martinianus apud Halberstatenses qui ab antecessoribus in sex classes distributus est: cum modo docendi & exercitiis puerilibus in singulis classibus, 1564
1 item (5 leaves); 21 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 025. SUMMARY: Program of studies for the Latin school in Halberstadt, including the curriculum and teaching method for each of six grades. In Latin. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Purchased, 1981. Language: Latin. Year: 1564. TOPICS: Education--History. Halberstadt (Germany)--History--1517-1648. Germany--History--1517-1648. 16th century--Germany.

MISC 036
Catalonia (Spain): deed of land, 963
1 item (10 lines): parchment; 10 x 29 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 036. NOTES: SUMMARY: Sentemirio and his wife Fluridia sell land near Castellar (Barcelona) to Bazo and his wife Tudesera for 12 SOLIDI, during the reign of King Lothair. Signed Trasollario (notary scribe and priest) and witnessed by Marazinus (deacon). In Latin, Frankish-meridional minuscule, with possibly a trace of Visigothic influence. Purchased, 1981. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 9630. TOPICS: Lothair, King of France, 941-986. Visigoths--Spain. Barcelona (Province). Catalonia (Spain). La Varella-Castellar site, Spain. Spain--History--711-1516. Notaries. Priests. 10th century--Spain. GENRE: Deeds.

MISC 042
Edward IV, King of England, 1442-1483. Royal pardon to Charles Pylkyngton, 1479, Lancaster
1 item (11 lines): vellum; 12x29 cm., folded to 8x11 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 042. NOTES: Charles Pilkington served both Edward IV and Richard III in Yorkshire and Nottingham, and received extensive grants from Richard III, including the constableship of Nottingham and the stewardship of Sherwood Forest. He does not appear in royal records after 1485, presumably because as a Yorkist he fell from favor on Henry VII's accession. Summary: Royal pardon for all murders, rapes, insurrections, felonies, conspiracies, contempts of court, concealments and forfeitures and deceptions committed before 1 January 1479. In Latin. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript survey. Purchased, 1981. Phillipps ms. 32075 (part). Portion of The Great Seal of England on vellum tag. Language: Latin. Year: 1479. TOPICS: Edward IV, King of England, 1442-1483. Pilkington, Charles. Pylkyngton, Charles. England--History--Lancaster and York, 1399- 1485. Lancashire--History--Edward IV, 1461-1483. 15th century--England. GENRE: Pardons.

MISC 043
Cabourn (Lincolnshire): legal documents, [12--]-1429
14 items: vellum; 22 x 26 cm or smaller. LOC: Special Collections Misc 043 NOTES: The documents relate to one, or possibly two, families of Cabourn (Lincolnshire). The spelling of the names vary, appearing as: de Turs, de Thurs, de Thures, de Thornton, Thornton, Tourny, and Tourney. Summary: The documents include land grants, conveyances of property, and a quit claim of debts. In Latin. Indexes: Unpublished guide available. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1200- 1429. TOPICS: de Thornton family. de Thures family. de Thurs family. de Turs family. Thornton family. Tourney family. Tourny family. Family archives. Cabourn (Lincolnshire). Lincolnshire. 13th century--England. 14th century--England. 15th century--England. GENRE: Conveyances. Land grants.

MISC 044
Congregation of the Clergy of Venice. Statutes, 1433-1504 1 v. (21 leaves); 31 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 044. Summary: Instructions on the appointment of officers, their tenures of office, the safe-keeping of records, the celebration of feasts, etc. In Latin, rounded gothic hand. Purchased, 1982. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Many additions, marginal headings, alterations. Large initial and full-length border on folio 1, more than 50 other decorated initials. Language: Latin. Year: 1433-1504. TOPICS: Congregation of the Clergy of Venice. Venice (Italy)--Church history--15th century. 15th century--Italy. 16th century--Italy. GENRE: Statutes.

MISC 076
Adriani, Marcello Virgilio. Letter, 1507 June 25, Florence, to Francesco Vettori
1 item (2 leaves); 29 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 076. NOTES: The recipient of this letter, Francesco Vettori (1485-1528), a humanist, was the intimate friend of Machiavelli. Summary: Written on behalf of the Florentine Republic, this letter instructs Vettori to travel to Germany where he is to gain an audience with Emperor Maximilian and attempt to learn the intents of the Emperor vis à vis Rome. Purchased, 1978. In Italian, Italic hand. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Italian Year: 1507. TOPICS: Adriani, Marcello Virgilio. Machiavelli, Niccolo, 1469-1527. Maximilian I, Holy Roman Emperor, 1459-1519. Vettori, Francesco, 1474-1539. Florence (Italy)--History--1421-1737. 16th century--Italy.

MISC 077
Silva family. Done usite del nostro colonello de Silva . . .: visto per tute le litti con li conti del colonello: Italian family records, 1296-1507
n.p., 1608. 1 v. (56 leaves); 32 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 077. NOTES: Data organization: Documents arranged in eight groups by the compiler in 1608. Summary: Accounts and legal documents such as wills, testaments, and dowries; apparently constituting a family archive which traces the source of the family's fortune. In Italian and Latin, various cursive hands as well as formal chancery script. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Italian Year: 1296-1608. TOPICS: Silva family. Family archives--Italy. Registers of birth, etc.--Italy. GENRE: Wills.

MISC 078
Bertrandi, Antoine. Conferment of guardianship, 1439 May 21, Carpentras
1 item (32 lines) with attachment (8 lines); 27 x 30 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 078. NOTES: Bertrandi was iudex maior of Carpentras. Summary: This document confers upon Antoine Andrarie, second husband of Leonete (whose first husband, Jean Malicanis, has died) the guardianship of the children of her first marriage. All were of the village of Caderousse. The attachment is probably a docket slip. It is a contemporary copy, the original presumably remaining in the Carpentras city archives. In Latin. Purchased, 1978. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1439. TOPICS: Bertrandi, Antoine. Carpentras (France)--History. France--History--Charles VII, 1422-1461. 15th century--France.

MISC 079
Boethius, d. 524. De consolatione philosophiae: manuscript fragment
[Northern Italy, 135-] 1 item (34 leaves); 26 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 079. NOTES: Boethius, a Roman philosopher, wrote this work while in prison at Pavia where he was finally executed without trial, having been accused of conspiring against the Roman ruler, Theodoric. Summary: This copy is probably the work of several scribes. The interlinear and marginal spaces have substantial glosses made by contemporary readers and/or teachers. Some scribal errors are corrected. While the script actually appears to be 13th century, the appearance of a posthorn watermark indicates a date after the mid-1350s. In Latin, with some glosses in Italian, Gothica rotunda script. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1355. TOPICS: Boethius, d. 524. Theodoric, King of the Ostrogoths, 454?-526. Italy--History--1268-1492. 14th century--Italy.

MISC 080
Catholic Church. Pope (1484-1492: Innocent VIII). Visitation of the monastery of Lavega, Spain, 1491
1 item (77 lines): vellum; 35 cm. folded to 14 x 34 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 080. NOTES: Summary: Pertains to the visitation and reformation of this monastery made at the request of Catholic Majesties Don Hernando (Ferdinand V) and Do¹na Isabel (Isabella I) and with the authorizations of Pope Innocenzo VIII and the Cistercian Order. The official visit was carried out by Abbot Peter of Clairvaux. The manuscript describes the observance of the devine offices and liturgical procedures. The signatures and seals are not present. Purchased, 1980. In Latin, with title in Spanish on verso. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1491 TOPICS: Ferdinand V, King of Spain, 1452- 1516. Innocent VIII, Pope, 1432-1492. Isabella I, Queen of Spain, 1451-1504. Peter, Abbot of Clairvaux. Cistercians--History. Visitations, Ecclesiastical. Clairvaux (Abbey)--History. France--History--Charles VIII, 1483- 1498. Lavega (Spain). Spain--History--Ferdinand and Isabella, 1479-1516.

MISC 081
Medici, Luigi Bivigliano de', 16th century. Account book, 1530
1 v.(30 pages); 13 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 081. NOTES: Luigi Bivigliano de' Medici was sentenced on November 10, 1529 for aiding and favoring Philibert de Chalon, Prince of Orange, in his incursions in the Magello during the siege of Florence in 1529. In Latin. Gift of Robert Gros, 1980. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1530. TOPICS: Medici, Luigi Bivigliano de', 16th century. Florence (Italy)--Siege, 1529-1530. 16th century--Italy. GENRE: Account book.

MISC 082
Petrus Comestor, 12th cent. Historia scholastica: manuscript fragment
[Northern France, end of 12th cent.] 2 conjugate leaves (a total of 8 columns of 56-60 lines each): vellum; 24 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 082. NOTES: Petrus Comestor ("Pierre le Mangeur") was a native of Troyes, born ca.1100-1110. A synthesizer, his work diffused rapidly throughout Europe and remained a dominant standard text in the curricula of the rapidly growing universities of Europe. Summary: These two leaves represent the New Testament portion of the "Historia." It was a paraphrase of the historical and exegetical portions of Holy Writ, completed by reference to classical and other ancient sources. In Latin, highly abbreviated early Gothic minuscule. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1175-1199. TOPICS: Petrus Comestor, 12th cent. Bible--History of Biblical events. 12th century--France.

MISC 083
Fragment of a religious text
[Northern Italy?, 1200?] 1 item (4 p.): vellum; 26 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 083. NOTES: Summary: A fragment of an unidentified devotional text treating the dangers of worldly temptations occasioned to the believer in the Christian life by the vices of the world. In Latin, rounded Carolino-Gothic textata hand. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 ms. census. Language: Latin. Year: 1200-1201. TOPICS: Religious thought--Middle ages, 600-1500. Italy--Church history--13th century. 13th century--Italy.

MISC 084
Caylus (France): legal documents, 1321-1399
5 items. LOC: Special Collections Misc 084. NOTES: Caylus, in the region Guyenne (now Tarn-et- Garonne). SUMMARY: Property deeds and grants, reflecting rents, fealty arrangements, and inheritance and succession customs. In Limousin/langue d'oc, Provencal, and Latin. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Old French Year: 1321- 1399. TOPICS: Charles VI, King of France, 1368-1422. Jean II, King of France, 1319-1364. Philip V, King of France, 1294-1322. French language To 1500. Inheritance and succession--History--France. Land tenure--History--France. Provencal language. Caylus (France)--History--14th century. France--History--14th century. Notaries. 14th century--France. GENRE: Deeds.

MISC 085
Hereford (Hereford and Worcester): crusading tax receipt, 1308
1 item (7 lines): vellum; 9 x 23 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 085. NOTES: Tithes, ostensibly for papal purposes but often augmenting the royal revenue, were imposed on the clergy at various times. Clement V specifically defined the tax (imposed 1305) as being for a crusade. The official collectors were John Dalderby (bishop of Lincoln, 1300-1320) and Ralph Baldock (bishop of London, 1304-1313). SUMMARY: Receipts issued by the bishops of Lincoln and London for 365. 15s. 3d. received from the Dean and Chapter of Hereford, being their contribution for the second year of the papal taxation for the needs of the Holy Land. In Latin. Purchased, 1978. Phillipps ms. 32081. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Seals of the bishops of London and Lincoln. Language: Latin. Year: 1308. TOPICS: Baldock, Ralph, Bishop of London. Clement V, Pope, ca. 1260-1314. Dalderby, John, Bishop of Lincoln. Church history--Middle Ages, 600-1500. Crusades--Finance. Hereford (Hereford and Worcester)--History--14th century. 14th century--England.

MISC 086
Guicciardini, Francesco, 1483-1540. Documents, 1521
4 items. LOC: Special Collections Misc 086. NOTES: Statesman and historian of Florence. SUMMARY: Warrant for payment, 21 July, 27 July, 2 August, and 8 August, 1521. In Latin. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1521. TOPICS: Guicciardini, Francesco, 1483-1540. Italy--History--16th century. 16th century--Italy.

MISC 087
Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603. Tax document and receipt, 1592, June 27
1 item (3 leaves); 19x29 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 087. SUMMARY: Queen Elizabeth I requests of John Campo of Ware for defense purposes. Receipt notation witnessed and related document attached. In English. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: English Year: 1592. TOPICS: Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603. Ware (Hertfordshire) 16th century--Great Britain.

MISC 089
Louis II, de Châtillon, Comte de Blois, d. 1372. List of accounts, 1351, Chastenoi (France)
1 item (126 lines): parchment; 110 x 14 cm. folded to 28 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 089. NOTES: At the time this account list was compiled Louis II de Châtillon had reached his majority and was no longer under the regency of his mother, Jeanne de Hainault. As Comte de Blois he became increasingly involved in the Hundred Years' War. SUMMARY: A list of payments made to various men of Chastenoi by the Comte de Blois, compiled in 1351. Each figure is followed by the annotation "owed" or "paid." In Old French, written in a round and widely spaced secretary hand. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Old French Year: 1351. TOPICS: French language To 1500. Hundred Years' War, 1339-1453. Chastenoi (France)--History--14th century. 14th century--France. GENRE: Accounts.

MISC 090
Arles (France): Deed of sale of land; 1370
1 item (45 lines): vellum; 40 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 090. NOTES: A document issued during the reign of Charles V, King of France. SUMMARY: Declaration of a sale of pasture land by Guillaume Raynaud to Jean Raynaud in the territory of Arles for four florins. In Old French, with notarial sign. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Old French Year: 1370. TOPICS: Charles V, King of France, 1338-1380. French language To 1500. Arles (France)--History--14th century. Notaries. 14th century--France. GENRE: Deeds.

MISC 094
Birague, Renâe de, 1507-1583. Letter, 1574 Nov 27, Avignon, to the Duke of Savoy
3 items (1 p. letter and 2 engraved portraits). Summary: Discussion of the reconstruction of the castle of Pinarola for military purposes. Notes: A native of Milan, Birague escaped the vengeance of Ludovico Sforza into France and became a favorite at the court of Charles IX who made him chancellor of France in 1573. Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Purchased, 1983. TOPICS: Birague, Renâe de, 1507-1583. France--History--Charles IX, 1560-1574.

MISC 105
Dauphine (France): Legal documents, 1597- 1750
9 items (116 p.). LOC: Special Collections Misc 105. NOTES: Property inventories, contracts, etc. for families from Bonniol, Durand, Dye, Sarrazin, and Staffort, all in the region of Dauphine. In French. Purchased, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1597-1750. TOPICS: Family archives--France. Dauphine (France). 16th century--France. 17th century--France.

MISC 119
Baptista Mantuanus, 1448-1516. De contemnenda morte, ad Jasonem Castellum patricium bononiensem, ca. 1500
1 v. (10 leaves); 23 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 119. NOTES: Italian poet, widely read in his day. Much of his work was required reading in the schools as late as the 17th century. SUMMARY: The complete text. The manuscript opens with a four-page statement of what other authors have written on the subject. There are marginal and interlinear notes (some in German) that indicate use by a student. In Latin, with some notes in German. Purchased, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1500. TOPICS: Baptista Mantuanus, 1448-1516. Italian literature--16th century. Education, Medieval--Germany. Italy--Civilization--1268-1559. 16th century--Germany. 16th century--Italy.

MISC 121
Pseudo-Ovid
[France?, early 14th cent.]
1 v. (38 leaves), 15 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 121. NOTES: The work is mentioned in Roger Bacon's Opus majus and thus was written prior to 1268. SUMMARY: A hitherto unknown manuscript of an important philosophical text. The manuscript is complete and has the text in abbreviated and variant version which appears to be unrecorded. In Latin, gothic textualis script with cursive elements. Purchased, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1300- 1350. TOPICS: Ovid, 4 B.C.-17 or 18 A.D. Spurious and doubtful works. De vetula. Pseudo-Ovidius. De vetula. Philosophy, Ancient--France. 14th century--France. Ovidius Naso, Publius--Spurious and doubtful works De Vetula.

MISC 122
Cicero, Marcus Tullius. Rhetorica ad Herennium
[Italy, ca. 1400] 1 v. (52 leaves); 29 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 122 NOTES: Roman writer, 106-43 B.C. Incomplete at the beginning; of folios 6 and 7 only about 15% of the text is preserved. There are numerous interlinear and marginal notes in at least two hands. In Latin, gothic minuscule script. Purchase, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1400. OTHER: Wilson, Susan, binder. TOPICS: Cicero, Marcus Tullius. Philosophy, Ancient--Italy. 15th century--Italy.

MISC 123
Urban IV, Pope. Letter, 1262 [June 30], Viterbo, to Ministry in Treviso. Papal bull
1 leaf; 23 x 26 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 123. NOTES: Born Giacomo Pantaleon; served as Pope from 1261-1264. SUMMARY: Papal bull (mandate with hemp cord but "bulla" missing) ordering the Franciscan order of The March of Treviso to pay a special tax in support of a crusade to The Holy Land. The bull authorizes The Franciscans to collect money for this purpose throughout The March of Treviso. In Latin, chancery hand. Gift, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1262. TOPICS: Urban IV, Pope. Franciscans--Italy--13th century. Bulls, Papal. Church history--Italy--13th century. Crusades--Finance. 13th century--Italy.

MISC 125
Unidentified medieval fragment
[n.p., 11--?] 1 bifolium, 23 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 125. NOTES: In Latin. Purchased, 1985. Indexed by: Reported to Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1100- 1299. TOPICS: 12th century--unidentified. 13th century--unidentified. Paleography.

MISC 126
Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo. De civitate Dei. Book VIII, ch. 2-6: fragment
[Italy, ca. 1100] 1 bifolium, 28 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 126 NOTES: Early Christian philosopher, 354-430. A converted Manichean, he came to exercise enormous influence throughout the Christian world. His most famous works include De Civitate Dei (The City of God) and his autobiography, Confessiones. In Latin, Caroline minuscule script. Purchased, 1985. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 mamuscript census. The bifolium was used in a binding. Originally from the center of a quire, the text runs continuously on all four pages. Language: Latin. Year: 1100. TOPICS: Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo. De civitate Dei. 12th century--Italy.

MISC 127
Mayenne, Charles de Lorraine, duc de, 1554-1611. Document. Paris, 22 Oct. 1589
Accompanied by 2 transcriptions, a photo mechanical reproduction, and an engraving, 28 cm. LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: The Duke was at this time in revolt against Henry IV (Henry of Navarre) a Hugenot who was not accepted as King by the Catholic party. SUMMARY: An order to M. Cibault (incontrol of war finances) to reimburse Sieur Regnard for ransom money. In French. Purchased, 1976. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1599. TOPICS: Mayenne, Charles de Lorraine, duc de, 1554-1611. Henry IV, King of France, 1553-1610. France--History--Henry IV, 1589-1610. 16th century--France.

MISC 128
Piacenza (Italy): notarial record book, 1498-1565
1 item (16 leaves), 17 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 128. NOTES: Entries in two hands: notaries Bernardo Ronzoni and Nicola A. Salvagio. The fourth entry refers to Gallinus de Colombo, son of Bartolomei, who states that he has received money from G. A. Pissarono for the rent of a house in Piacenza. Proximity to the place of origin of Christopher Columbus indicates a possibility of Gallinus being a relation. SUMMARY: Records of notarial activity in Piacenza. In Latin, notarial script. Purchased, 1977. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1498-1565. OTHER: Columbus, Christopher. TOPICS: Colombo, Gallinus de Piacenza (Italy)--History--1492-1870. Notaries. 15th century--Italy. 16th century--Italy.

MISC 130
Statements of judgement, 1371, 1393, and 1475. Vidimus
3 items. LOC: Special Collections Misc 130. SUMMARY: Two documents issued by persons holding the office of garde de la prevote; one statement of the judge of the court of dominus Godefridus of Spamheym. In French and Latin. Purchased, 1976. Phillipps documents, but had not been given a Phillipps number. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNational pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1371-1475. TOPICS: France--History--Charles V, 1364-1380. France--History--Charles VI, 1380-1422. France--History--Louis XI, 1461-1483. 14th century--France. 15th century--France.

MISC 131
Tax roll, 1339, France
1 item; 83 x 23 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 131. SUMMARY: A list of sixty households, the location of which are described in some detail, as well as the previous owners, for purposes of taxation. In French. Purchased, 1976. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre- 1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1339. TOPICS: France--History--Philip VI, 1328-1350. 14th century--France.

MISC 132
Pontoise (France): document, 1311
1 leaf; 29 cm. LOC: Special Collections Misc 132. NOTES: Apparently contemporary with the events described. Perhaps original notes prepared for the purpose of litigation. SUMMARY: The church officials of Pontoise make known to the bailly of Senlis that villagers are abusing their wood-collecting privilege on church land and ask that it be curtailed. In French, cursive hand. Phillipps collection. Purchased, 1975. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1311. TOPICS: France--History--Philip iv, 1285-1314. Pontoise (France). Senlis (France). 14th century--France.

MISC 133
Ferdinand I, Holy Roman Emperor, 1503-1564. Diary, 5-11 Oct., 1562
1 item (5 p.). LOC: Special Collections Misc 133. NOTES: SUMMARY: Diary of a trip made by Ferdinand I and members of the German Imperial government from Prague to Eger, enroute to Frankfurt. Gift of Dr. Robert Binkley, 1939. Language: German Year: 1562. TOPICS: Ferdinand I, Holy Roman Emperor, 1503- 1564. Germany--History--Ferdinand I, 1556-1564. 16th century--Germany. GENRE: Diaries.

MISC 144
Vita di Filippo Strozzi, Gentiluomo Fiorentino
[Florence, ca. 1682] 1 v. (104 leaves). LOC: Special Collections Misc 144. NOTES: The Strozzi family, long amongst the ruling nobility of Florence, was founded by Filippo (1426- 1491) and continued by his son Giambattista (1488-1538) who was also known as Filippo. This manuscript is about the second Filippo. He became involved in intrigues against the Medicis, led attacks of Florentine exiles against Florence, was defeated, captured and ended his own life in prison. SUMMARY: Dedicated to the author's father, the manuscript was most likely first written by one of Giambattista's sons, either Piero (d. 1558) or Leone (1515-1554), or perhaps his brother, Lorenzo (1482-1547). Purchased, 1985. Written in Tuscan Italian, several hands, in late Chancery italic style. Language: Italian Year: 1682. OTHER: Strozzi, Lorenzo di Filippo, 1482-1547. TOPICS: Strozzi, Filippo, 1488-1538. Italy--History--1492-1559. Florence--Politics and government--1421- 1737.

MISC 160
Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo. Enarrationes in Psalmos: fragment of Psalm XXXV
[Eastern France/Germany, ca. 825-850] 1 leaf. LOC: Special Collections Misc 160 NOTES: Early Christian church father and philosopher (354-430). The Enarrationes in Psalmos, a series of sermon commentaries on the Psalms, was one of Augustine's most important works. SUMMARY: A leaf from a Carolingian folio of a major patristic text. Carolingian minuscule. From the collection of Wilfred Merton; given to Eric Millar (the earliest manuscript in his collection), then as a bequest to the British Museum. Purchased by Stanford, 1986. References: British Museum. The Eric George Millar Bequest of Manuscripts and Drawings . . . London, British Museum, 1968. Page 14, #43. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 8250-8500. TOPICS: Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo. Carlovingians. Christian literature, Early. 9th century--France. 9th century--Germany.

MISC 187
Missa Sanctae Gauburgis, 1632
[Perche (France)?] 2 leaves (3 p.). LOC: Special Collections Misc 187. NOTES: Saint Walburga, born in Devonshire about 710, died in Heidenheim, Germany, 777. Invoked as special patroness against hydrophobia, and in storms, and also by sailors. Referred to as Gauburge in the region of Perche, France, thus the possible source of the Mss. Portrait of Saint Walburga on first leaf; illuminated initials. Bound in morocco by Riviere. Gift of Albert Bender, 1940. Language: Latin. Year: 1632. TOPICS: Walburga, Saint, [710]-770.Illumination of books and manuscripts. 17th century--France. GENRE: Missals.

MISC 257
Medieval fragment, ca. 1490? 1 leaf. Style is very similar to that of the Tournai Book of Hours (Mss Codex M0377 CB), which is placed in Belgium and dated ca. 1490. Foliated borders (green, blue, gold and red), illuminated initials (gold, blue and red), religious text written in gold and red.

MISC 297
Medieval fragment, n.d.
1 folio. LOC: Special Collections Misc 257. NOTES: Latin. Year: 1450. TOPICS: Illumination of books and manuscripts. Paleography. 15th century--France. Finding Aid.

MISC 305
Bible. N.T. Gospels. Gospels and Canonical Epistles, glossed
[Paris?, ca. 1135] 18 leaves, detached. LOC: Special Collections Misc 305 NOTES: From a manuscript which comprised the third and fourth Gospels and The Canonical Epistles, glossed, in 105 leaves. The Gloss on St. John was composed in the eleventh century by Anselm of Laon (d. 1117) and the Gloss on the Canonical Epistles probably dates from about 1100 and may be the work of Anselm or his brother Ralph (d. 1133). Purchased, 1985. Language: Latin. Year: 1125-1149. TOPICS: Anselm of Laon, d.1117. Ralph of Laon, d.1133. Bible. France--Church history--Middle Ages, 987- 1515. 12th century--France.

MISC 694
Cordova: Documents, 1473-1655

12 leaves (4 documents), 2 each bound together. LOCATION: Special Collections Misc 694.SUMMARY: The 1473 and 1516 documents are written on vellum, with a fine script. Language: Spanish Year: 1473-1655 Item CSUR99-A304 (Archives). TOPICS: Armenta, Marina de, Seãnora. Calligraphy, Spanish. Watermarks--Spain. Câordoba (Spain)--History. Spain--Social life and customs. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Spain--15th century. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Spain--16th century. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Spain--17th century. 15th century--Spain. 16th century--Spain. 17th century--Spain.

MISC 1418
England. Southcote (Berkshire): vellum indenture, nd.

Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701. Subject (LC): Southcote (Berkshire, England)--History. Genre: Indentures.

MISC 1421
Thomas to Thomas the younger: vellum indenture with red wax seal, ca. 1577.
Physical Description: 38.3 x 32 cm. Note: Dated 13 December in the 19th year of Elizabeth 1st. Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1422
Indulgence: vellum document with red seal, 1441 Sept. 16

Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1423
John, Rector of Kildale.  Vellum document, nd.

Physical Description: 19.9 cm x 9.3 cm. Summary: Line at end of document shows witness that the heirs will not interfere. Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1424 
Deed of gift charter: vellum document with intact red wax seal, 1326

Note: Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Frank J. Novak, 2006. Accession 2006-165. Genre: Charters. Genre: Deeds. Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701. Subject (Other): Medieval and Renaissance studies--England--14th century.

MISC 1425
Vellum document, 1497 Oct. 4

Physical Description: 39.2 cm x 18 cm. Note: The tail is missing the red wax seal. Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1426
Grant: vellum document with red wax seal, ca. 1413-1422.

Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1427.
Grant deed: vellum document with red wax seal, 1568.

Subject (Other): The Frank J. Novak collection of early English documents, 1326-1701.

MISC 1704
Geoffrey, of Monmouth, Bishop of St. Asaph,1100?-1154. Historia Regum Britanniae: manuscript fragment, circa 1200
1 item. Early Gothic bookhand. Transferred from the Rare Book Collection, 2011. Accession 2011-096. Previously laid in KB1528.H3 (Bishop Haymo / In diui Pauli, 1528). Most likely part of the original binding as this copy has been rebound. 

MISC 1705Vitae Sanctorum: manuscript fragment. Italy, circa 1150-1200.
1 leaf, 215 x 310 mm. Summary: Fragment of a bifolium on vellum from a work of the lives of saints. Text describing the life of St. Barnabas including his journey to Cyprus: "Barnabas repeteret cyprum insulam qua exortus erat." The journey of St. Barnabas' journey to Cyprus with St. Paul is recorded in Acts chapter 13.

MISC 1716
Penitential psalms: small manuscript codex. Italy, 15th century.
1 volume (44 leaves) in folder, 103 x 75 mm. Wanting single leaves after folios 18 and 27 and a number after folio 44. Summary: A fragmentary Book of Hours, on vellum. Provenance: Bergendal manuscript 48.

MISC 1831
Vocabularius Ex Quo. [Germany, circa mid-15th century].
Entries are for the letters "S" and "T" of this important German-Latin dictionary. The first edition appeared in 1467.

MISC 1832
Ibn Janāḥ, Abū al-Walīd Marwān. Kitab Al-tanqih / Jonah Ibn Janah. [Spain, 14th and 15th centuries]
Folder 1. A complete leaf from the Hebrew translation by Judah ibn Tibbon, written in square Hebrew script, 31 lines, double columns, brown ink, headings in red, ruled with a hard point, contimporary Latin marginalia in brown ink in a humanist hand. 14th - 15th century. Folder 2. Two nearly complete leaves from the Hebrew translation by Judah ibn Tibbon, written on palimpsest parchment, in double columns of Hebrew script, 36 lines, brown ink, headings in red. 14th century.

MISC 1834
Langton, Stephen, Interpretation of Hebrew Names / Stephen Langton. England, early 13th century.

MISC 1840
Psalter. France, 1200.
Illuminated leaf on vellum.

MISC 1841
Antiphonary with Ambrosian musical chant : partial manuscript leaf. Lombardy, [Milan?]; circa 1280-1300.

MISC 1842
De Medicina Equorum of Giordano Ruffo: decorated manuscript leaf.  Italy, circa 1350.

MISC 1846
Evrard, de Béthune. Graecismus. Graecismus of Évrard de Béthune : four manuscript bifolia. France or Flanders: [s.n.], [mid-14th century]
4 leaves, a single leaf measures 210 x 160 mm (135 x 55 mm)

MISC 1847
Catholic Church. Missal : manuscript leaf. Germany? : [s.n.], [late 12th century]
1 leaf, 360 x 260 mm (245 x 170 mm)

MISC 1848
Breviary, with neumes, with part of the service for Pentecost : manuscript leaf France : [s.n.], [2nd half of 13th century]
1 leaf, 355 x 284 mm (305 x 203 mm)

MISC 1849
Catholic Church.  Breviary, with neumes, with readings for the fourth Sunday in Lent : manuscript fragment. England : [s.n.], [mid-13th century]
Lower half of a leaf, 121 x 149 mm.

MISC 1850
Peter Riga, approximately 1140-1209. Aurora, containing part of the evangelium by Petrus Riga: manuscript leaf. England: [s.n.], [1st half of 13th century]

MISC 1851
Priscian, active approximately 500-530. Institutiones grammaticae / Priscian : manuscript leaf. Italy : [s.n.], [mid to 2nd half of 13th century]
1 leaf, 237 x 152 mm (170 x 90 mm)

MISC 1852
Rabanus Maurus, Archbishop of Mainz, 784?-856. De rerum naturis / Rabanus Maurus : manuscript fragment of a leaf. Catalonia, Spain : [s.n.], 2nd half of 14th century.
1 leaf, 283 x 210 mm (252 x 190 mm)]

MISC 1853
Andria / Terence : manuscript leaf. Florence: [s.n.], 1450-60.

MISC 1855
Latin glossary: small manuscript fragment on vellum. France?, 13th century. 1 fragment, 96 x 151 mm. Unidentified Latin vocabulary, this portion part of the letter M, with a total of 35 lemmata (a word or phrase that is glossed; headword).

MISC 1877
Catholic Church. Bible leaf containing the opening of the book of Genesis: manuscript. [Oxford, England, circa 1240] 1 leaf.  Summary: A single leaf with construe or preachers' marks in both Arabic and Roman numerals, and an unusual animal illustration, perhaps a monkey, squirrel or cat. Note: Purchased, 2014. Accession 2014-012

 

Shelfmark CODEX

MSS CODEX 0030 F 
Surius, Laurentius De Probatis Sanctorum HistoriisThis is a work on the lives of the saints, arranged by the months in which their lives are celebrated, hence Ianuarius. And in this month is found the life of Remigius, Archbishop of Lyons, d. 875.

MSS CODEX 0068
Jacobus, de Voragine, ca. 1229-1298
. Legenda Aurea: manuscript codex. Incipit prologus sup legendas sanctorum quas compilant ...iacobus . . . Lyon (France): De Gaselle (scribe), 1468 Sep 1. 1 v. (804 p - 399 leaves). The author titled the work "Legenda Sanctorum" but it soon became known as "Legenda Aurea" because the people of the time considered it worth its weight in gold. In some of the earlier editions it is titled "Lombardica Historia" which gave rise to the false opinion that this was a different work from the "Golden Legend." First leaf has illuminated 9-line initial in blue on gold ground with decorated border. Rubricated initials are throughout; also chapter headings in red.Script is a cursive bookhand. Text in two columns with 37 lines. Binding: period style modern blind-tooled paneled calf with blind-tooled spine; contemporary brass clasps. Bound mostly in 12's with catchmarks on verso of last leaf of each gathering. Contemporary collation marks in lower right corner. Bifolium a1 and conjugate leaf a12 on vellum, single leaf i4 on vellum; all else on paper.Watermark is a grape cluster device similar to Briquet 12996. Dated colophon on verso of i2. The work was first printed in Basel in 1470. By 1500 at least 74 Latin editions had been published as well as three translations into English, five in French, eight Italian, fourteen Low German, and three Bohemian. Summary: A collection of the legendary lives of the greater saints of the medieval church. Text complete. Purchased, 2008. Accession 2008-281. Jacob of Varagine or Voragine (Italian: Giacomo da Varazze, Jacopo da Varazze (c. 1230 – July 13 or July 16, 1298) was an Italian chronicler and archbishop of Genoa. His Golden Legend was one of the most popular religious works of the Middle Ages. In Latin.

MSS CODEX M0370 CB
Vespucci, Antonio, 1449-1534. Autograph legal document signed, 1480 September 2-28, Florence 1 item (228 lines): vellum roll in case; 171 x 25 cm. rolled to 25 x 8 cm. LOC: Special Collections M370. NOTES: Antonio Vespucci (1449-1534) was the brother of the famous explorer, Amerigo Vespucci. Both were sons of Anastasio and grandsons of another Amerigo. Both probably studied (Amerigo certainly did) under their uncle Giorgio Antonio, whose pupils also included Lorenzo de' Medici. SUMMARY: The document treats the disposition of property confiscated from the conspirators who rose up in the power struggle in April 1478, in which the Pazzi family and a few allies attacked Giuliano and Lorenzo de' Medici in the church of Santa Maria del Fiore. Giuliano was killed, Lorenzo slightly wounded, and as a result, most members of the Pazzi family were executed or, at best, exiled, and their properties confiscated. However, one prominent member of the Pazzi, Guglielmo, son of Antonio, remained loyal to the Medici and subsequently amassed great wealth. In this official act, the procurators and syndics of the Florentine Commune appointed to dispose of the property, sold certain pieces to various citizens (including members of the Frescobaldi and Cavalcanti families), for the account of Guglielmo d'Antonio. In Latin with a short note in Italian. Notorial cursive script. Purchased, 1978. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1480. TOPICS: Medici, Lorenzo de', 1449-1492. Vespucci, Antonio, 1449-1534. Cavalcanti family. Frescobaldi family. Pazzi family. Pazzi Conspiracy, 1478. Florence (Italy) Italy--History--15th century. 15th century--Italy. GENRE: Roll.

MSS CODEX M0371 CB
Libro di Ricordi: ledger, 1450-1458, North Italy
1 v. (40 leaves), 24 cm. LOC: Special Collections M371. NOTES: The names mentioned indicate a location in or near Padua. SUMMARY: A ledger recording chiefly loans and repayments with the corresponding disbursements and deposits made during the years 1450 to 1458. There are recurring references to loans made to a Colegio dal Pozzo. In Italian and Latin, mercantile minuscule script. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Purchased, 1978. Language: Italian Year: 1450- 1458. TOPICS: Colegio dal Pozzo. Padua (Italy). 15th century--Italy. GENRE: Ledgers.

MSS CODEX M0372 F
Lionardo Venturi, Francesco di, 16th cent. Account book, 1572-1578, Tuscany
1 v. (184 p.); 34 cm. LOC: Special Collections M372 NOTES: SUMMARY: Account book kept by Francesco di Lionardo Venturi between 1572 and 1578, recording commercial transactions with members of the Ginori, Pucci, and Pollaiuolo families, as well as his own relatives, agents in Lyon and Paris, and many others. In Italian, written in a variety of hands. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Purchased, 1979. Language: Italian Year: 1572-1578. TOPICS: Ginori family. Lionardo Venturi, Francesco di, 16th cent. Pollaiuolo family. Pucci family. Italy--History--16th century. Tuscany (Italy) 16th century--Italy. GENRE: Account books

MSS CODEX M0373 CB
Carthusians. Breviary
[France, between 1410 and 1417]. 1 v. (240 leaves): parchment; 10 cm. LOC: Special Collections M373. NOTES: SUMMARY: Written for the Carthusian house of Val de la B_en_ediction in Villeneuve-les-Avignon. In Latin. Gift of Haskell Norman, 1977. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1410- 1417. TOPICS: Carthusians. Catholic Church. Liturgy and ritual. Breviary. France--Religion. Villeneuve-les-Avignon (France) Monasticism and religious orders--Middle ages, 600-1500. 15th century--France. GENRE: Breviaries.

MSS CODEX M0376 CB
Catholic Church. Missale Romanum. Missal [Bologna, 1360] 1 v. (220 leaves): vellum; 28 cm. LOC: Special Collections M376. NOTES: Missals, or Mass Books, contain the prayers said by the priest at the altar, as well as those read or sung in connection with the offering of the Mass. SUMMARY: Included are the calendar, prayers, lessons, and chants (music). There is one miniature above the incipit and 19 historiated initials, all in the Florentine Trecento style, possibly done by Pacino di Bonaguida. The linear decoration in red, blue and purple is possibly Bolognese. In Latin, Gothic minuscule script. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1360 Item CSUR84-A187 (Archives). TOPICS: Bonaguida, Pacino di, 14th cent. Catholic Church Liturgy and ritual Missal. Illumination of books and manuscripts, Medieval--Italy. Italy--History--1268-1492. Painters. 14th century--Italy. GENRE: Miniatures. Missals.

MSS CODEX M0377 CB
Catholic Church. Horae. Book of Hours
[Tournai, 1486 or 1497.] 1 v. (168 leaves): vellum, 20 cm. LOC: Special Collections M377. NOTES: Mary was the most popular expression of faith and devotion in the Middle Ages and her prayer book, the Book of Hours, was a favorite of lay persons throughout Europe. Many copies were executed by the finest artists of the period and were viewed among the rich as status symbols. SUMMARY: Included are the following parts: Calendar, Hours of the Cross, Hours of the Holy Ghost, Hours of the Virgin, Office of the Dead, Penitential Psalms, Lessons from the Four Gospels, Litany of the Saints, and Diverse prayers. There are five miniatures and twenty large initials done in the Franco-Flemish style which followed the school of the brothers Van Eyck; the illumination also shows the influence of the School of Fouquet. In Latin and French, Gothic minuscule script. Gift of B. F. Schlesinger. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1480-1499. TOPICS: Eyck, Hubert van, 1366-1426. Eyck, Jan van, 1390-1440. Fouquet, Jean, ca. 1420-ca. 1480. Catholic Church Liturgy and ritual Hours. Illumination of books and manuscripts-- Renaissance--Belgium. Belgium--History--To 1555. Hours, Books of. Tournai (Belgium). Painters. 15th century--Belgium. GENRE: Miniatures.

MSS CODEX M0378 CB
Cicero, Marcus Tullius. De officiis: Libri tres
[Italy, latter half of the 15th cent.] 1 v. (122 leaves): 22 cm. LOC: Special Collections M378. NOTES: Marcus Tullius Cicero lived from 106 to 43 B.C. He originally wrote De officiis for the instruction of his son Marcus. SUMMARY: This manuscript contains the complete text of DE OFFICIIS, followed by the poetic funeral epitaphs for Cicero's tomb by the "duodecim sapientes." In Latin; the allocution on the last two leaves is partly in Italian. The script is Gothica textualis bastarda. Purchased, 1971. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. There are substantial interlinear and marginal notations by a hand different from, but roughly contemporaneous with, the text. Language: Latin. Year: 1450-1499. TOPICS: Cicero, Marcus Tullius. Humanists--Italy. Italy--History--15th century. 15th century--Italy.

MSS CODEX M0379 CB
Catholic Church. Horae Beatae Mariae Virginis. Book of Hours
[Ghent, latter half of 15th cent.] 1 v. (109 leaves): vellum; 18 cm. LOC: Special Collections M379. NOTES: Books of Hours, derived from the Church's liturgy, were used by lay persons as personal prayer books to follow, in their own manner, the Church's program of daily devotion. SUMMARY: Included are the following parts: Calendar, Officium Sanctae Crucis, Horae de Sancto Spirito, Missa Beatae Mariae Virginis, Horae . . . secundum Romanae Ecclesiae, Psalmi Poenitentiari, Vigilie mortuorum, Oratio, and, by a different hand, prayers of Saint Colette. The initials are particularly well executed, as are the borders. In Latin, with annotations in Flemish. Gothic minuscule script in three hands. Purchased, 1939. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1450- 1499. TOPICS: Colette, Saint, 1381-1447. Catholic Church. Liturgy and ritual. Hours. Illumination of books and manuscripts-- Renaissance--Belgium. Initials--History. Belgium--History--To 1555. Hours, Books of. Painters. 15th century--Belgium. GENRE: Miniatures.

MSS CODEX M0380 CB
Virgil. Bucolics, Georgics, and the Aeneid
[Florence, latter half of the 15th century.] 1 v. (178 leaves): parchment; 25 cm. LOC: Special Collections M380. NOTES: Publius Virgilius Maro, 70-19 B.C., Roman poet. SUMMARY: Copied here are Virgil's chief works. In Latin, cursive humanistica script by Johannes Urbanus. Gift of the estate of Henry Rushton Fairclough,1940. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1450-1499. TOPICS: Urbanus, Johannes. Virgil. Italy--History--15th century. 15th century--Italy.

MS CODEX M0381 CB
Borghesi, Niccolò, 1432-1500. Divae Catharinae Senensis Vita. The life of Saint Catherine
[Florence, 1500.] 1 v. (94 leaves): vellum; 22 cm. LOC: Special Collections M381. NOTES: Borghesi was a member of a Sienese patrician family, known from the 13th century. He claimed that St. Catherine was of his family, the Benincasa. He was active in Siena politics, taught poetry and rhetoric in the university, and wrote the biographies of several saints. He dedicated this work to Agostino Barbarigo, the 74th Doge of Venice. SUMMARY: This manuscript is the workng copy used by the Venetian printer Giovanni Tacuine for the first printed edition (1501) of Sanctae Catharinae Senensis; it contains notations by the men who prepared it for printing. In Latin, humanistic semi-cursive script. Purchased, 1973. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1500. TOPICS: Barbarigo, Agostino, 1408-1501. Borghesi, Niccol`o, 1432-1500. Catherine, of Siena, Saint, 1347-1380. Tacuino, Giovanni. Biography--Middle Ages, 500-1500. Mysticism--Middle Ages, 500-1500. Printing--History--Italy. Italy--History--1492-1559. Printers. Saints. 16th century--Italy.

MSS CODEX M0382 CB
Humanist texts [Florence, ca. 1475.] 1 v. (48 leaves); 22 cm. LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: Twelve texts, many written by leading Florentine humanists including Giovanni Boccaccio, Giovanni Nesi, Cristoforo Landino, Donato Acciaiuoli, Francesco Berlinghieri, Matteo Brocchardi, and Giovanni di Donato Cocchi. Ownership inscription of Giovanni di Bartolommeo Scala, a humanist and judge prominent in Florence, who began his career in the employ of Cosimo de Medici. SUMMARY: Two of the texts were frequently printed; Boccaccio's Epistola Consolatoria and the pseudo-Bernard letter. The other texts are probably unpublished. In latin, humanistic cursive script. Purchased, 1978. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1470-1479. OTHER: Bernard, of Clairvaux, Saint, 1090 or 91- 1153. TOPICS: Acciaiuoli, Donato, 1429-1478. Berlinghieri, Francesco. Boccaccio, Giovanni, 1313-1375. Brocchardi, Matteo. Cocchi, Giovanni di Donato. Landino, Cristoforo, 1424-1504. Nesi, Giovanni, 1456-1506. Scala, Giovanni di Bartolommeo. Humanists--Florence (Italy). Florence (Italy)--History--1421-1737. 15th century--Italy.

MSS CODEX M0383 CB
Durand, Bernard, 1560-1621. Tyrannicide
[France, ca. 1590.] 1 v. (224 leaves); 26 cm. LOC: Special Collections M383 NOTES: Advocate to the parliament of Burgundy, historian, and compiler of customary law, Durand was a respected legal scholar during his lifetime and after. There is internal evidence to attribute this manuscript to him but no clear signature. A dialogue is copied between "Durand" and "Bernard," the latter probably being Etienne Bernard, mayor of Dijon in 1594. SUMMARY: Ciceronian dialogue and thesis provide the structure of this essay on the killing of tyrants, a subject much discussed following the events of the reign of Henry III and the Catholic-Protestant schism. Reference is made by the author to the work of Hubert Languet and Juste Lipse. In French, with some passages in Classical Greek. Purchased, 1979. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: French Year: 1589-1591. TOPICS: Bernard, Etienne. Durand, Bernard, 1560-1621. Henry III, King of France, 1551-1589. Languet, Hubert, 1518-1581. Lipse, Juste. Reformation--France--1517-1648. Rhetoric, Medieval. Ciceronianism. France--History--1517-1648. 16th century--France.

MSS CODEX M0384 CB
J urado de Xodar, Luis. Carta executoria de hidalgu_ia a pedimiento de Luis Jurado de Xodar y su hermano vecinos de Vaeca, 1591, Granada
1 v. (72 leaves): vellum, 32 cm. LOC: Special Collections M384. NOTES: SUMMARY: Letters patent of nobility granted to Luis Jurado de Xodar and his brother Francisco de Xodar, citizens of the city of Baeza. Much of the document contains transcripts of testimony. In Spanish. Gift of Mrs. Stephen Green, 1980. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript survey. Language: Spanish Year: 1591. TOPICS: Jurado de Xodar, Luis. Heraldry. Nobility--Genealogy. Baeza (Spain) Granada (Spain) Spain--Social life and customs. 16th century--Spain.

MSS CODEX M0385 CB
Cavendish, George, 1500-1561?. Life and death of Cardinal Wolsey [England, latter half of 16th century.] 1 v. (123 leaves); 22 cm. LOC: Special Collections M385. NOTES: One of perhaps a dozen copies of this manuscript, the work was not published until 1641 due to the then treasonable nature of the text. SUMMARY: This copy is of particular interest on account of the family financial records (17th century) of the Harbords who originally owned the manuscript and which are to be found in the front and back of the volume. These records give values of commodities, rents, land holdings, wages of servants, labourers, etc. Also because the Harbords lived near Stratford-on-Avon and because one of the receipts is to a William Shakespeare, it is remotely possible that this was the copy Shakespeare used when writing Henry VIII. There is also a receipt to a John Milton. In English. Purchased, 1938. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Lacks the prologue, four pages of text in the beginning and one at the end. Seven loose fragments of the Harbord accounts are inserted. Language: English Year: 1580-1600. TOPICS: Cavendish, George, 1500-1561? Milton, John, 1608-1674. Harbord family. Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Wolsey, Thomas, 1475?-1530. England--Biography--16th century. England--History--17th century. 16th century--England. GENRE: Biographies.

MSS CODEX M0386 F CB
Acciaiuoli family. Registrum privilegiorum dominourum . . . 1349-1466
[Florence, 1578] 1 v. (85 leaves); 40 cm. LOC: Special Collections M386. NOTES: This codex was compiled in the 1570's when Donato di Roberto di Donato Acciaiuoli carried out research on his illustrious Florentine family, transcribing public and private documents, privileges, and letters which were at that time preserved in the monastery of Certosa, though later lost. The Acciaiuoli family attained high offices in the Neapolitan-Sicilian kingdom as well as in the Republic of Florence. SUMMARY: The only extant copies of some 83 documents concerning Count Nicola Acciaiuoli and his immediate family. In latin, humanistic cursive script. Gift of the Associates of Stanford University Libraries, 1977. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1578 Item CSUR84-A206 (Archives) TOPICS: Accarolis family. Acciaiuoli family. Acciaiuoli, Donato di Roberto di Donato. Acciaiuoli, Nicola, 1310-1365. Florence (Italy)--History--To 1421. 14th century--Italy. 15th century--Italy. 16th century--Italy. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Italy-- 14th century. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Italy-- 15th century. Medieval and Renaissance studies--Italy-- 16th century.

MSS CODEX M0408
Sermons on first three commandments and on subjection to higher powers, ca. 1600
1 v. LOC: Special Collections M408. NOTES: SUMMARY: Bound volume containing sermons on discourses on the first three of the Ten Commandments, and a sermon on subjection to the higher powers. Written by someone well-read in classical authors and theological literature, the essays seem to have been written for delivery from the pulpit about 1600 or earlier. In English. Purchased, 1984. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: English Year: 1600. TOPICS: 16th century--England. 17th century--England. GENRE: Sermons--England--17th century.

MSS CODEX M0411 CB
Medical and astrological texts
[North- East Italy, ca. 1450-1480] 1 v. (76 leaves); 23 cm. LOC: Special Collections M411. NOTES: Perhaps written in The Veneto. SUMMARY: An anthology of 15 medical and astrological texts including Guido of Bologna, Utrum Eger Liberetur aut Non, William of England, De Urina Non Visa, Caciagurea, Aphorismi, pseudo-Hippocrates, De'Astrologia, Gentile da Foligno, De Diebus Creticis, etc. In Latin. Purchase, 1985. Indexed by: Reported to: BibliothèqueNationale pre-1600 manuscript census. Language: Latin. Year: 1450-1480. OTHER: Hippocrates. TOPICS: Ali Abenragel. Caciaguera. Foligno, Gentile da, d. 1348. Guido of Bologna, fl. 1321. Plato of Tivoli, fl. ca. 1150. William of England. Science and civilization--Italy--15th century. Astrology--History. Medicine--15th-18th centuries. Science--History. 15th century--Italy. Codices.

MSS CODEX M0412 CB
William, of Conches, 1080-ca. 1150. Dragmaticon
[Italy, later 15th cent.] 1 v. (89 leaves); 21 cm. LOC: Special Collections M412. NOTES: William studied in Chartres under leading Aristotelians and was closely connected with St. Bernards' brother, Thierry de Chartres. After teaching at Chartres for 20 years he became tutor in the household of Geoffrey Plantagenet, Duke of Normandy. The Dragmaticon is dedicated to the Duke and written, in part, to instruct his son Henry, the future King Henry II of England. SUMMARY: The Dragmaticon is Williams' revision, made ca. 1144-50, of his most important work, De Philosophia Mundi. Written in dramatic dialogue form, the Dragmaticon touches on all aspects of "The science of the world," i.e. astronomy, geography, meteorology and medicine. Further, it attempts to reconcile discrepencies between church doctrine and scientific observation. In Latin, humanistic script which imitates a 12th century hand. Gift of the Associates of Stanford University Libraries, 1983. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. 24 colored drawings and diagrams. Language: Latin. Year: 1450-1499. OTHER: Plantagenet, Geoffrey. Henry II, King of England, 1133-1189. TOPICS: William, of Conches, 1080-ca. 1150. Cosmology--France--12th century. Medicine--15th-18th centuries. Science--History. 15th century--Italy. Codices.

MSS CODEX 0413 CB
Nicholas, of Lyra, ca. 1270-1349. Postilla super librum Psalmorum
[Germany, later 15th cent.] 1 v. (179 leaves); 32 cm. LOC: Special Collections M413. NOTES: French Franciscan friar, Theologian, and professor at the Sorbonne. The colophon on the last page of this manuscript assigns the original date for the work as 1326. The scriptural commentaries of Nicholas became the authoritative interpretation of the Bible throughout Europe. SUMMARY: Commentary on the psalms. In Latin, Gothic book hand. Gift, 1978. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. The book is bound with parchment-covered boards containing several line of 10th century Carolingian miniscule. The original iron clamp, ring, and three-link chain are attached to the back cover. Language: Latin. Year: 1450-1499. TOPICS:Nicholas, of Lyra, ca. 1270-1349. Bookbinding, Medieval--Germany--15th century. Theology--France--13th century. 15th century--Germany. Codices.

MSS CODEX M0414 CB
Ovid, 43 B.C.- 17 or 18. Metamorphoses
[Italy, 13th cent.] 1 v. (145 leaves); 28 cm. LOC: Special Collections M414. NOTES: Metamorphoses was written just before Ovid was banished from Rome (A.D. 8). At the time it lacked his final revision. SUMMARY: A storehouse of mythology -- in most of the tales a human is changed into a non-human form. 15 books in hexameter. In Latin, small gothic book hand. Gift of the Associates of Stanford University Libraries, 1980. Indexed by: Reported to: Bibliothèque Nationale pre-1600 manuscript census. There are about 25 pre-13th century manuscripts of Metamorphoses and some 50 from the 13th century itself. This copy was produced in Northern Italy, probably at a university. There are marginal and inter-linear glosses that are contemporary with the text. Language: Latin. Year: 1200-1299. TOPICS: Ovid, 43 B.C.-17 or 18. Metamorphoses. Codices. 13th century--Italy.

MS CODEX M0441
Tratzinger, Adam. Hamburgs cronica, 1557. Hamburg chronicle
Hamburg, 1641. 1 v. (187 leaves). LOC: Special Collections M441. NOTES: Adam Tratzinger, a descendent of a Nuremberg family, became second syndic of the City of Hamburg in 1553. From 1554 to 1558, when he left the city to take up service with the Duke of Holstein, he was highly influential in all important negotiations Hamburg conducted at that period. He completed the Hamburg chronicle, his main work, in 1557. SUMMARY: The history from creation through the year 1555. Purchased, 1976. Contents: Bound with the chronicle are the following: Preface to the reader, by Hermann Roever, and person-by-person record of the members of the City Council of Hamburg from 1190 to 1641.--An addition to the previous record listing the names of the members of a newly established board representing the "burghers" within City Council, 1528-1644.-- Chronicle entitled Acta Hamburgensium, a year- by-year account of the first impact of the reformation in Hamburg, by Stephan Kempe to 1540, and anonymous additions to 1669. Publications: Kempe's work was published in 1861. Language: German Year: 1641- 1669. TOPICS: Tratzinger, Adam. Kempe, Stephan. Roever, Hermann. Hamburg (Germany)--History--to 1517. 17th century--Germany.

MSS CODEX M0442
Kress von Kressenstein, Wolfgang Christoph. Album, 1597-1601, Nuremburg
1 v. (390 leaves). LOC: Special Collections M442. NOTES: SUMMARY: Painted coats of arms together with inscriptions to the owner in various hands. Many are written at Jena or Altdorf and dated 1597-1601. Leaves 242-245 contain miniatures of the four seasons. Source unknown. Previous plate indicates the Rosenheim collection. Stamped vellum binding. Language: Latin. Year: 1597-1601. TOPICS: Kress von Kressenstein, Wolfgang Christoph. Germany--History--Rudolf II, 1576-1612. Switzerland--History--1499-1648.

MSS CODEX M0445 F CB
Massa (Italy): Statutes, ca. 1453
1 v. (107 leaves). LOC: Special Collections M445. NOTES: Phillipps' MS 8530, bought from Payne in 1835. Phillipps' sale at Sotheby's, 1 Dec. 1947 (lot 119). Purchased at Sotheby's 26 Nov. 1985 sale by Quaritch for Stanford; gift of the Library Associates. Language: Latin. Year: 1453-1454. TOPICS: Italy--History--15th century. Massa (Italy). 15th century--Italy.

MS CODEX M0453
Geoffrey Chaucer: portrait, 14--
1 item. LOC: Special Collections M453. NOTES: English poet. Purchased, 1934. Language: Undetermined Year: 1400-1499. TOPICS: Chaucer, Geoffrey, d. 1400. Art, Medieval--England. English literature--15th century. 15th century--England.

MS CODEX M0468
Eusebius, Johannes. Extensive annotation in Denys Fontanon's "De morborum internorum curatione libri quatuor" 1564- 1565
1 v. (393 p.). LOC: Special Collections M468. NOTES: Medical student at Montpelier, 1564-1565. SUMMARY: Fontanon's book is interleaved with Eusebius's notes which provide a contemporary record of medical schools of Europe in the Renaissance. The bulk of the annotations appear to derive from lectures by Montpellier professors, notably the celebrated Guillaume Rondelet. Purchased, 1988. Language: Latin. Year: 1564-1565. OTHER: Fontanon, Denys. TOPICS: Rondelet, Guillaume. Education--France-- History. Medicine--France--15th-18th centuries. Science--History. Montpellier (France). 16th century--France.

MSS CODEX M0500 CB
Donatus, Aelius. Ars minor
[Germany, ca. 1490-1510]. 1 v. (34 p.). LOC: Special Collections M500. NOTES: The most popular Latin primer during the Middle Ages, "was short enough to be learnt by heart from beginning to end, the master alone usually possessing a copy and dictating it section by section to the class." (Cambridge Medieval History, VIII, 690) SUMMARY: A student's text of Donatus, with profuse lecture notes. The text included here corresponds to that given in Keil's GRAMMATICI LATINI IV, 355-364.39, ending in the chapter on conjunction, with many variant readings. Purchased, 1989. Language: Latin. Year: 1490-1510. TOPICS: Education. 15th century--Germany. 16th century--Germany.

MSS CODEX M0530
Analysis of Aristotle's ethics, ca. 1600
1 v. (212 leaves). LOC: Special Collections. NOTES: A humanist systematization of Aristotle's ETHICS, seemingly relfecting the teachings of the French humanist Petrus Ramus (Pierre de la Ramee, 1515-1572) who opposed Aristotle's system of logic but agreed with his system of ethics. Probably written in Paris. SUMMARY: A list of the virtues and vices named by Aristotle, an outline of the chapters of ETHICS, a section of questions concerning the work. Purchased, 1987. Phillipps ms 9545. Language: Latin. Year: 1590- 1610. OTHER: Ramus, Petrus, 1515-1572. TOPICS: Aristotle. Philosophy, Ancient. 16th century--France. 17th century--France.

MSS CODEX M0579 CB
Catholic Church. Book of Hours and Psalter. [Bruges?, ca. 1450]
1 v. (221 leaves) vellum, 147 mm. by 102 mm. LOC: Special Collections M579. NOTES: SUMMARY: A Calendar (f.1); the Fifteen O's (f.7); Memorials to the Saints (f.13); the Hours of the Virgin, Use of Sarum, with Matins (f.22), Lauds (f.29) incorporating further Memorials, Prime (f.46), Terce (f.45), Sext (f.48), None (f.50), Vespers (f.52) and Compline (f.54); the Joys of the Virgin (f.58v) preceded by a long rubric telling that St. Thomas Becket had the text revealed to him by the Virgin Mary, followed by other efficacious and votive prayers ascribed to St. Jerome and Bede; the Penitential Psalms (f.69), Psalms of Degree and Litany; and, very unusually in a Book of Hours, the whole Psalter and Canticles (ff.86-221). Two full-page miniatures, eleven large illuminated initials, and twenty-six historiated initials. In Latin, gothic liturgic hand. Purchased, 1991. Nineteenth-century bookplate of L.C. Berger and Henry Hucks Gibbs (first Lord Aldenham). TOPICS: Catholic Church Liturgy and ritual Hours. Hours, Book of. llumination of books and manuscripts- -Renaissance--Netherlands. 15th century-- Netherlands. GENRE: Miniatures.

MSS CODEX 0861
Gregory I, Pope, ca. 540-604. Gregorius Magnus / Dialogorum libri quattuor de vita et miraculis patrum italicorum et de aeternitate animarum: manuscript codex. Paris, circa 1400-1425. 1 volume (211 folios), 195 x 130 mm.
On parchment, preceded by two and followed by three ruled leaves. Missing four leaves respectively before folio 1 and after folios 39, 81, and 145. (These are the opening leaves for each of the four books). Mostly in quires of 8. Written in brown ink in a Gothic bookhand, on 23 long lines. Some quire signatures, some catchwords, some capitals touched in yellow, rubrics in red, line-fillers in pink and blue with white tracery and burnished gold disks. One-line high burnished gold initials on pink and blue grounds decorated with white tracery. Two-line high initials throughout in alternately pink or blue on burnished gold grounds with colored vine-leaf infill and extending marginal decoration of penwork sprays with gold bezants and colored floral or petal motifs. Summary: Illuminated manuscript on parchment; the Dialogues are.a collection of miracle stories concerning mainly Italian saints. Owned by Philippa of Guelders, Duchess of Lorraine and Queen of Sicily, with inscription on verso of second ruled flyleaf. Philippa of Guelders was born in Brussels in 1464 and died in 1547 in the convent of the  Poor Clares at Pont-a-Mousson, where she was a nun from 1520 onwards.

MSS CODEX 0862strong>Recomandation de l'estat de religion: manuscript codex. France, circa 1500.
1 volume (122 leaves), 123 x 87 mm. Wanting 2 leaves after folio 98, and perhaps a gathering from the end. Summary: A contemplative manuscript evidently made for a Franciscan nun, containing twenty-four meditations on the Sacrament (folio 47 v), forty prayers to Christ (folio 58 r), and meditations on Christ's temptations in the desert (folio 70 r). Also includes a series of prayers to be said when putting on one's clothes in the morning (folio 102 v). Purchased, 2011. Accession 2011-098. Provenance: Bergendal manuscript 63.

MSS CODEX 1051 F
Montebarucio, Jacobus de.
Inventario d'Instrumenti dificile [North Italy, between 1465 and 1468]. Physical Description: 105 (of 109) numbered paper leaves ; page size ca. 30 x 21.5 cm. (text size ca. 24 x 16 cm.), bound. Ms. codex. Title (in Italian) at the beginning from a later hand (18th century?), and additional text, also in Italian, on the last page in the same hand. The paper has two watermarks; one depicting a scale with four compass points connected with half circles and a hanging "b" with a line through it within a circle. Paper is uncut; a few leaves are loose. Script: Italian chancellery-italic in brown ink with extensive use of abbreviations. An added bifolium with 3 pages of text in the same hand is tipped in. Binding: 18th century limp vellum wrappers taken from another work. Open for research; material must be requested at least 24 hours in advance of intended use. Extensive collection of notary's office instruments from the years 1465 to 1468, dealing with contracts and sales agreements from Ravenna and Udine. Once the abbreviations are expanded, the statement of responsibility would read, "Ego Jacobus filius condam Ser Lodouici de Montebarucio publicus imperiali auctoritate notarius predictis omnibus interfui et rogatus scripsi." It roughly tanslates to, "I, Jacob, son of the late Ser Luigi de Montebarucio, public notary by imperial authority, being present and having been invited, wrote all of the preceding." If Montebarucio is the same as the modern Italian village of Mombaroccio, the references to Ravenna and Udine would fit.

MSS CODEX 1052 T
Catholic Church
. [Book of Hours] Officium Beate Marie Virginis: secundum consuetudinem romane ecclesie. [Italy (Florence), ca. 1460-1480] Physical Description: 225 leaves: parchment, ill., 114 mm. by 75 mm. Ms. codex, illustrated manuscript on vellum. Title from full-page frontispiece (fol. 13v); also on front flyleaf and spine of binding. Text: Calendar (fol 1r); the Hours of the Virgin, with Matins (fol. 14r), Lauds (fol. 28r), Prime (fol. 48v), Terce (fol. 48v), Sext (fol. 54r), None (fol. 58v), Vespers (fol. 63r) and Compline (fol. 73r), with seasonal variants from fol. 79r; the Hours of the Passion (fol. 98r); the Office of the Dead (fol. 124r); the Gradual Psalms (fol. 182r); the Penitential Psalms (fol. 196r) and Litany; and the Hours of the Cross (fol. 222r). Collation: Parchment, fol. i12, ii1+10 [fol. 12 inserted], iii-ix10, x4, xi-xii10, xiii6, xiv-xviii10, xix8, xx10, xxi4, xxii-xxiii10, xxiv6, xxv4, with horizontal catchwords. Layout: Written in 13 lines, ruled in pale brown ink, written-space 64 mm. by 45 mm. Script: Written in dark brown ink in two sizes of a rounded gothic hand. Decoration: Rubrics in red, versal initials in red or blue, 2-line initials throughout in red or blue with full-length penwork in purple or red, seven large 4-line decorated initials in similar colors, five very large historiated initials with full or three-quarter illuminated borders, initials in leafy designs on burnished gold panels with borders of lush colored leaves extending into gold bezants and colored flowers and leaves infilled with brown penwork stems, sometimes with birds, putti, etc. Full-page frontispiece (fol. 13v) with illuminated border. Illumination: The work is probably by two artists. The frontispiece is in the style or hand of Ser Ricciardo di Nanni (fl. 1445-1480). The five historiated initials are in the style or hand of Francesco di Antonio del Chierico (1443-1484). The religious scenes are transferred into a setting of renaissance Florence. The miniatures are (1) fol. 13v, the beheading of Saint Katherine; (2) fol 14r, the Virgin and Child; (3) fol. 98r, the Crucifixion; (4) fol. 124r, a charnel house; (5) fol. 196r, King David with his psaltery; and (6) fol. 222r, Christ as the Man of Sorrows. Binding: Bound in late eighteenth-century (presumably Scottish) blind-stamped calf, title gilt, brown silk marker, paper endleaves, edges gilt and gauffered, in a pale brown morocco slipcase with gilt title. Origin: Written in Florence. The Calendar includes the Florentine saints Zenobius (25 May) and Reparata (8 October). The arms are those of Castellani and Baroncelli, both of Florence. The medieval chapels of the Castellani and Baroncelli families are adjacent in the basilica of Santa Croce, both with frescoes by members of the Gaddi family. The manuscript was perhaps made for a wedding. The arms of Castellani are below a miniature of Saint Katherine, which may indicate that the woman was Caterina Castellani. The arms of Baroncelli are flanked by dolphins, emblems of the Pazzi family, which might suggest allegiance to the Pazzi conspiracy against the Medici in 1478.

MSS CODEX 1053
Biblia Latina. Paris, ca 1250?
. 590 leaves, complete, on vellum; 148 x 96 mm. 

MSS CODEX 0864
Cicero, Marcus Tullius. De Natura Deorum / Marcus Tullius Cicero. [Italy, Rome?, 1460. . Watermarks close to Briquet, "Huchet, " number 7834, Rome, 1470; and Piccard, "Wasserzeichen, Horn" (1979), VIII, No. 36, Rome, Urbino, 1460. Written in a humanistic semi-cursive script, in brown ink, up to 25 lines. Paper ruled in lead point, (justification 150 x 85 mm.), spaces left blank for decorated initials never executed. Some marginal annotations in a cursive script. Bound in limp vellum over pasteboard; smooth spine with title in pencil faintly visible. 

MSS CODEX 0868 F
Al- Fairuzabadi. Fairuzabadi / Al-qāmūs Al-muhit Wa Al-qabus Al-wasit. [Ottoman Turkey, first half of 16th century.]Fairuzabadi's dictionary is one of the central reference works of the Arabic language. Numerous commentaries were written on it and it was the primary source for Antonio Giggeo's Thesaurus Linguae Arabicae of 1632. It was compiled between 1368 and 1392 while the author was living in Mecca.

MSS CODEX 0870
Interpretation of Hebrew names / Saint Jerome. [Southern England?, early 13th century]
1 volume, 42 leaves, 220 x 145 mm.  56 lines to full page; double column ruled throughtout, very clear small Gothic hand in black ink. Slightly later 8- and 4-line additions at end. 3-line ex libris, substantially erased, of Antonio de Robiate, Rector of St. Fidelis in Milan (14th century). Early, possibly original, thick wooden boards, modern leather spine. The supposed title of the work is written in dark ink on the inside of the front board in an early modern script.

MSS CODEX 0874 T
Psalter, for Cistercian use, in Latin: illuminated manuscript codex on vellum. [Ferrara, Italy? : s.n., 14--?]. 1 volume ; 12 x 9 cm (273 leaves). Calendar ff.1-8v; Psalms 1-150, beginning imperfectly in Psalm 2:3, '[Disrumpamus vincula eorum et  proiciamus] a nobis iugum ipsorum' ff.9-159; the six ferial canticles followed by the Athanasian Creed ff.159-171; the Hymnal arranged according to the liturgical year with the Temporale, the Sanctorale, and the Common of Saints ff.172-216v; Office of the Dead, for Cistercian use ff.216v-225; Collects arranged by the liturgical year ff.225-273v.

MSS CODEX 0877
Catholic Church. Liturgical Libellus ...; known as the Prayerbook of Elizabeth of York: manuscript codex. [London, England, 1200-1230]. 1 volume: ii (paper) + 21 leaves (parchment) + ii (paper), 180 x 127 mm. Note: Bound in the nineteenth century by P. Thompson, an Englishman living in Paris, in ornamental morocco, front and back covers with gilt scrolls and a center ornament of inlaid red and white roses. Gilt edges, green silk bookmark.

MSS CODEX 0878 T
Catholic Church. Breviary for use of Dominican nuns: manuscript codex. [Southern Germany : Diocese of Bamberg, 1460-1490]. 1 volume (164 parchment leaves), 100 x 70 mm. Note: Written in a hybrid script in sixteen long lines, rubrics, one- to two-line red initials.