Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) indexes journal articles in bacteriology. Over 400 journals are monitored for inclusion in this database, and years of coverage are 1982 to the present. With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to clinical findings as well as pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. Major areas of coverage include: aggressins and toxins, animal bacteriology, antibacterial agents, cell structure and function, ecology and distribution, genetics and evolution, immunology, microbial symbiosis, plasmids, and bacterial taxonomy.
BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) indexes journal articles that report significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Over 360 journals are indexed and the database indexes literature published from 1982 to the present. Specific topics include antibiotic and antimicrobial agents; contamination; ripening and fermentation processes for foods, wines and beer; soil microbiology; plant diseases; biodegradation; and isolation and identification of microorganisms.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Pubmed is a free version of MEDLINE that offers links to GenBank records, other molecular sequence data, and other resources. MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an index to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. It indexes over 4,000 journals.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
The website of the American Society for Microbiology provides a wide array of information about microbiology and about the society. The site provides a gateway to ASM journals, presents peer-reviewed resources for teaching microbiology, and includes a weekly news digest.
BiosciRegister.com is a manual compilation of biotechnology and life sciences suppliers enabling buyers to easily identify manufacturers of biotechnology equipment and reagents for cell biology, cell culture, genomics, proteomics and more. The site includes new projects, free magazines and trade publications, jobs, news and events.
The aim of the CAMERA project is to serve the needs of the microbial ecology research community by creating a rich, distinctive data repository and a bioinformatics tools resource that will address many of the unique challenges of metagenomic analysis.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary digital journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. Newly commissioned protocols and unsolicited submissions are supplemented with articles based on Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s courses and manuals.
The Comprehensive Microbial Resource (CMR) is a free website used to display information on all of the publicly available, complete prokaryotic genomes. In addition to the convenience of having all of the organisms on a single website, common data types across all genomes in the CMR make searches more meaningful, and cross genome analysis highlight differences and similarities between the genomes.
EcoSal is a continually updated Web resource based on the classic ASM Press publication /Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular Biology/. Like its print-edition predecessors, EcoSal is a comprehensive archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell. EcoSal is comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation with links to sites containing tabular and pictorial presentations, as well as to active databases of primary research information.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.