You are here

Muybridge (Eadweard)

Last Updated: 7-Oct-2013

This guide details the combined holdings of Eadweard Muybridge material held in Special Collections & University Archives, Stanford University Libraries.

Subject Librarians

Daniel Hartwig
University Archivist
(650) 725-1161
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Photo of Jenny Johnson
Collections Management & Processing Archivist
(650) 721-1529

Photographic material

Eadweard Muybridge photographs (PC0006)

This collection includes original Muybridge glass plate negatives and prints, as well as modern day copy prints of his photographs. Original materials, 1872-1880, include images of the Stanfords' residences in Sacramento and San Francisco, other unidentified estates, and two printed cards from his horse in motion series, 1878. Images represented by copy prints include Canadian Pacific Railway, Native Americans, San Francisco, Oakland, and several Central America photographs. Also included in the collection is a set of glass slides, primarily of images included in this collection, probably assembled by Harry C. Peterson, former curator of the StanfordMuseum.

Eadweard Muybridge photographs, 1870-1890 (MSS PHOTO 167)

39 prints in 10 folders.

1. Vertical steam pumps, stereo, no date (JL006)

2. 15 stereos from "Pacific Coast Series," including Pigeon Point, New Years Island, Pescadero's Pebble Beach, and Pescadero (M237).

3. 1 stereo San Francisco City Hall cornerstone laying, 1872. Also includes a stereo by Thomas Houseworth of White Sulphur Springs, undated.

4. 3 prints of the James M. Rogers residence, Watsonville, CA [1879].

5. 2 prints of San Francisco, ca. 1875.

6-10. 18 prints of a San Francisco Peninsula estate, undated. 

Includes 20 photographs by Muybridge, mounted.
144 photographs, mounted in album. 26 x 38 cm. There is also a second copy with 59 photographs.
[San Francisco, 1878]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » TR140 .M98 1878 FF BB
13 photos, mounted on one sheet of cloth to form one panoramic view. 69 x 585 cm. folded to 69 x 44 cm. Accompanied by flat box containing the following:
1) 8 x 10" negatives of plates 1-13
2) 2 sets of prints of plates 1-13
3) Partial set of prints of plates
4) Booklet published by Wells Fargo Bank in 1979 entitled San Francisco 1878 : portrait of the city by Eadweard Muybridge.
170 pages with mounted photographs. 25 x 36 cm. The department has copy negatives for some photographs from this work; consult a staff member for more information.
781 plates. 49 x 63 cm. The plates are numbered consecutively and supplied only with two title-pages (v. [1] and [16]) A prospectus and catalogue of plates was issued the same year and has been catalogued separately under call number TR140 .M91.

Plates in this copy are incomplete. A detailed list of holdings is available in the department. The department has copy negatives for some photographs from this work; consult a staff member for more information.
Published as a memento of a series of lectures given by the author under the auspices of the United States Government Board of education, at the World's Columbian Exposition, in Zoopraxographical hall, 1893.
London : Chapman & Hall, 1899.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » 591.47 .M993AM F
264 pages; 25 x 32 cm. Stanford copy has presentation inscription from the author to Leland Stanford Jr. University.
London, Chapman & Hall, ld, 1901.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » TR140 .M95 FS
280 pages, including plates. This copy is missing pages 91-150.

Manuscript material

Leland Stanford papers (SC0033B)

Includes correspondence about J.D.B. Stillman’s book The Horse in Motion and Muybridge’s copyright claim to the work.

Leland Stanford collection (SC0512)

Primary and secondary sources pertaining to the life of Leland Stanford and the history of StanfordUniversity's founding. Includes material on Muybridge’s work at Palo Alto Stock Farm and the invention of motion pictures.

David Starr Jordan papers (SC0058)

Papers of StanfordUniversity’s first president. Includes correspondence with Muybridge.

Research concerning Eadweard Muybridge (M0736)

Miles, a professor of experimental psychology at Stanford University, endeavored to memorialize Muybridge's work by establishing a permanent exhibit at the Stanford Museum and correspondingly hosting a 50th anniversary event. The collection includes correspondence about Muybridge; material about the Semi-Centennial Celebration and the invention of moving pictures; ephemera and published articles about Muybridge; and photographs and negatives, including those used by Miles in his articles and publications about Muybridge.

Reference works & reprints

Berkeley : University of California Press, c1986.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » F1464 .B94 1986
Photographs by Eadweard J. Muybridge ; text by E. Bradford Burns. Photographs are reprinted from The Pacific Coast of Central America and Mexico; the Isthmus of Panama; Guatemala; and the Cultivation and Shipment of Coffee; Illustrated by Muybridge (1876).
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1976.
Special Collections » Reference (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 H3
Montréal : Canadian Centre for Architecture = Centre canadien d'architecture, 1993.
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » F869 .S3 M78 1993 F
Catalog of an exhibition held at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montréal from 31 Mar. to 25 July 1993. The exhibit was later circulated to the Friends of Photography, Ansel Adams Center, in San Francisco (September 1 to October 24, 1993) and to the Musée Carnavalet, Paris.
New York, Grossman [1975]
Green Library » Stacks » TR849.M87.H46
[1st ed.] Boston, Little, Brown [1972]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » TR849.M87 M3
San Francisco, T. C. Russell [19--?]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » F869 .S3 M8
[San Francisco] : History Department, Wells Fargo Bank, c1979.
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » F869 .S3 M83 1979
Discusses the 75-foot enlargement of Muybridge's panoramic view of San Francisco, produced for the Wells Fargo Bank Penthouse from original photographic plates owned by Stanford University.
[Stanford, Calif.] : Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts at Stanford University ; New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » TR849 .M87 P76 2003
Catalog of an exhibition at the Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts.
New York : Viking, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » TR849 .M87 S55 2003
[Stanford, Calif., 1972]
Special Collections » Rare Books Collection (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 S7
London : Tate Pub. ; Göttingen : Steidl, 2010.
Special Collections » University Archives reference (non-circulating) » TR849 .M87 B77 2010
Published on the occasion of an exhibition held at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, 10 April-18 July 2010; Tate Britain, London, 8 Sept. 2010-16 Jan. 2011; and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 26 Feb.-7 June 2011.
[New York, N.Y.]: Parrhasia Press, 2007.
Special Collections » Gunst Collection (non-circulating) » XX(8712795.1)
Santa Monica, Calif. : Voyager, c1990.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZVDI 16 DISK 1
San Francisco, CA : Bedford Arts, Publishers, c1990.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » F869 .S343 M89 1990 F