RESEARCH RESTART

The Libraries are resuming limited in-person research activities by appointment only as part of the University's Research Restart Plan.
Learn more about the Libraries' entry requirements and available services.

Organ

This guide identifies organ resources in Stanford's collections as well as links to outside resources.

Printed organ music

Significant published sets

Nouvelle éd. / Paris : A. Leduc, c1971.
Music Library » Scores » M7 .A317 O2 1971 T.1
Wiesbaden, Breitkopf & Härtel 1969-1997.
Music Library » Scores » M7 .B11 W9 L8 V.1
Paris : Leduc, [2008], c1953.
Music Library » Scores » M11 .M58 L7 2008
Note: Messiaen's organ works are listed separately in SearchWorks.

Browse the music stacks

M 6 Miscellaneous collections
M 7 Collections of original compositions
M 8 Sonatas
M 8.5 Symphonies
M 9 Suites; variation forms (passacaglias, chaconnes, etc.)
M 10 Fugues with or without preludes
M 11 Pieces
M 12-13 Arrangements
M 14 Accompaniments for psalms, hymns, etc.
M 14.3 Liturgical music
M 14.4 Collections for special seasons and occasions
M 15-19 Reed organ music
M 180 Organ duets
M 182-186 Organ + one other instrument
M 1005 Organ with orchestra
M 1006 Organ with orchestra, orch. part arranged for piano
MT 180 Studies and exercises

Organ recordings

Recommended performances

West Germany : Erato, p1983.
Music Library » Recordings » MCD 1843
London : London, p1983.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Recordings » ACD 395
Seattle : Loft Recordings, [2001].
Music Library » Recordings » MCD 7317

Discographies in the Archive of Recorded Sound

Detroit : Information Coordinators, c1984.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference » ML156.4 .O6 K89 1984
July 1991 ed. Fleet, Hampshire, England : J. Huddleston, 1991.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference » ML156.4 .O6 H884 1991
Braintree, Mass. : Organ Literature Foundation, 1976.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference » ML156.4 .O6 R88

Books and articles

For a thorough introduction to the subject, read the entry on organ in Grove Music online.

See a list of organ periodicals here.

In the reference room:

Portsmouth : Bardon Enterprises, 1996.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ML128 .O6 H467 1996
Wiltshire, England : [s.n.], c1996.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ML128 .O6 H46 1996
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Music Library » Reference » ML128 .O6 L34 2005
Kassel : Bärenreiter ; Stuttgart : Metzler, c2002.
Music Library » Reference » ML128 .O6 H36 2002

Browse organ books in the music stacks

ML 416 Biographies of organists
ML 424 Instrument manufacturers
ML 549-647 Organ construction; history; music and playing
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking