You are here

Psychology - General

Last Updated: 17-Nov-2015

This guide is designed for those getting started on research in psychology.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Overviews

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedias and handbooks are great places to find an overview of your topic with references to key works on the subject.

2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Select the Table of Contents to see the chapters available electronically.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
1st ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2012.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » BF76.5 .A73 2012 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » BF311 .E497 2010 V.1
Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell Pub., 2009.
Green Library » Information Center » BF204.6 .E53 2009 V.1
New York : Springer, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » BL53 .E64 2010 V.1
3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » BF724 .H33 2009 V.1
New York, NY : Psychology Press, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » GN502 .H357 2010
1st ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1051 .A618 2012 V.1
1st ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2012.
Green Library » Information Center » BF76.4 .A635 2012 V.1

Databases

In psychology articles in scholarly journals are a very important source of information on research and databases are the place to identify them.

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Related Databases

New York, N.Y. : Ovid Technologies [distributor, 19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A database designed to help identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science; provides sources, abstract, and reviewer(s) when applicable.
New Brunswick : Rutgers University Press, c1938-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » Z5814.P8 M4
"Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks."

Style manuals

APA style

6th ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center: Reference » BF76.7 .P83 2010
Chichester, UK ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » BF76.7 .B447 2012

Journals

Washington, American Psychological Association.
Green Library » Current periodicals
Stanford, Calif., Annual Reviews.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF30 .A56 V.67 2016
London : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates Ltd., 1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF636 .I52 V.58 2009
New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, c1992-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF1 .C86
London ; Newbury Park, CA : Sage Publications, c1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HQ1206 .F446 V.17 2007
[Washington, etc., American Psychological Association, etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .J55 V.90 2005:JUL.-NOV
[Washington, etc.] National Association of Black Psychologists.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » E185.625 .J68 V.33 2007
Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1992- Amsterdam : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington] American Psychological Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF1 .J62 BASE
New York, Plenum Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HQ796 .J625 V.37:NO.9-10 2008
Washington [etc.] American Psychological Association [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .P75 V.131 2005:JUL.-NOV
Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1990-
Green Library » Current periodicals
[Washington, etc.] American Psychological Association [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .P69 V.112 2005
New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, c1990-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .P825 V.20:NO.7-12 2009
[New York, Human Sciences Press]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HQ1101 .P75 V.34 2010
[Hove, East Sussex, UK] : Psychology Press, 2006-
Green Library » Current periodicals
Washington, DC : Educational Publishing Foundation,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .R48 V.8-9 2004-2005