Reading instruction

This guide is for those interested in the issues surrounding reading instruction, both research and practice.

Background information

Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.45 .H365 2017
"The comprehension tasks and challenges facing students at different grade levels are explored, with attention to multiple text types and reading purposes. Preeminent researchers offer a range of perspectives--cognitive, neuroscientific, sociocultural, pedagogical, and technological--on key aspects of comprehension."
3rd ed. Norwood, Mass. : Christopher-Gordon Publishers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1576 .H2377 2006
"The purpose of this handbook is to give the classroom teacher, reading specialist, administrator, or student concise, up-to-date information on the most popular assessment and evaluation tools in literacy."
New York : Guilford Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .H267 2011
"The volume addresses the major components of literacy, including word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, spelling, and writing. Chapters also cover the specific needs of preschoolers and older readers, as well as English language learners and students with learning disabilities."
New York : Longman, c1984-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LB1050 .H278 1984 V.4
"The Handbook of Reading Research is the research handbook for the field....To identify the dominant themes, topics, and developments in the field, the editors surveyed reading research studies and reading policy trends since the year 2000, when Volume III was published. As in previous volumes, the focus is on reading research, rather than a range of literate practices. When taken as a set, the four volumes provide a definitive history of reading research. Volume IV brings the field authoritatively and comprehensively up-to-date."
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .R68 2009
Los Angeles : SAGE, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .S24 2008

Key resources

Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1573 .C1869 2010 CD-ROM
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1573.3 .U57 2018 CAT IN THE HAT

New books

Practice-oriented
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050 .J23 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .P57672 2018
Practice-oriented
Fifth Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1573 .D445 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050 .D245 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.455 .W545 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.38 .S47 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1049.9 .S74 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.5 .R4 C53 2019
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1632 .J35 2019
Practice-oriented
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2395.3 .C35 2018

Journals

Washington, DC : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Oshkosh, Wis, [etc.] Academia Press [etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Newark, Del.] International Reading Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .R27 V.46 2011
[Chicago]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .R28 V.65:NO.1-4 2011/2012
Mahwah, NJ : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c1997-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[New Haven, Conn.?] : Children's Literature
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media."
La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking