You are here

Reading Minds: The Rhetoric of Consciousness

PWR 1WG - Spring 2015 - Instructor: Goldberg, W.
Last Updated: 27-Mar-2015

A guide to resources for PWR 1WG: Reading Minds: The Rhetoric of Consciousness

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 814-5897
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background/reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Electronic Searcheable Handbook with chapters on: Consciousness in Infants; Animal Consciousness. Normal and Abnormal States of Consciousness. Altered States of Consciousness: Drug Induced States.  Split-Brain Cases. Coming Together: the Unity of Conscious Experience. Quantum Mechanical Theories of Consciousness. Neurobiological Framework for Consciousness. Neuroscience of Free Will. Eastern Methods for Investigating Mind and Consciousness.
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » B808.9 .C36 2007
Online searchable reference book on Conciousness with chapters on all aspects of conciousness, including development, states of consciousness, language, memory, neuroscience, meditation, phyliosophy, evolution, anthropology, artificial intelligence
Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Online reference source, includes sections on; impaired consciouness. Delirium. Stupor and coma. Herniation syndromes. Vegetative and minimally conscious states. Brain death.  Metabolic encephalopathies. Nutritional encephalopathies. Intoxications and poisoning. Anoxic-ischemic encephalopathy and stroke. Inflammatory disorders and infections. Trauma. Seizures. Neoplasia and coma. Transplantation and coma. Pregnancy and coma. Psychogenic unresponsiveness and pseudoseizures. Management and ethcial issues: Impaired consciousness in the emergency room. Impaired consciousness in medical and surgical ICUs. 
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Also available online. Click on the Online link for the digital edition.
London : Academic Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E53 2009 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E497 2010 V.1
3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF724 .H33 2009 V.1
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
London ; Burlington, MA : Academic Press, c2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP360 .E52 2010 V.1
2nd ed. New York : Springer, 2011.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » SPRINGER
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2009.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP411 .N48 2009
also available in print in the Biology Library QP411 .N48 2009.The first major book on the "Neurology of Consciousness", i.e. on the study of brain damages and disease states that lead to varying levels of disturbances in human consciousness (vegetative, coma, minimally conscious states, etc). It features articles from the main researchers in the field, including Christof Koch, Marcus Raichle, Allan Hobson, Nicholas Schiff, Joseph Fins, Michael Gazzaniga, and Lionel Naccache. 

Suggested databases

When you are just starting, it's a good idea to use the ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER database. Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for articles to support your research. 

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Evanston, Ill.] : American Theological Association, [Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Citations and bibliographic management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.