You are here

Rhetoric of English

PWR 1PSS - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Peter Satyanand Samuels
Last Updated: 5-Jan-2014

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."

History Reference Resources

Abridged ed. Oxford : J. Currey ; Berkeley, Calif., U.S.A. : University of California Press ; Paris : Unesco, 1998.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » DT20 .G452 1990 V.6
Abridged ed. London : J. Currey ; Berkeley, Calif., U.S.A. : University of California Press ; Paris : UNESCO, 1990.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » DT20 .G452 1990 V.7
London : British Library, 1996.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E188 .S592 1996
Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] : The University Press, 1941-c1989.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HC240 .C3
[New York, N.Y.] : Oxford University Press in conjunction with Historic Towns Trust, 1989.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » G1814.A1 H5 1989
New York : Facts on File, c1999.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E188 .P86 1999
Wiltshire, Eng. : Adam Matthew Publications, [1998-
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » G240 .C65 1999 GUIDE
Marlborough, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew, c2001-
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » G240 .C655 2001 GUIDE PT.1
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, c2003-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JV22 .C65 2003 V.1
Rev. ed. Oxford ; New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 2002.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » DA34 .O93 2002
New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » E174 .O94 2001
Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HN57 .O94 2012 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » D20 .O94 2011
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PE1075 .O97 2006
Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » PE1611 .O94 2009 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005-
Green Library » Stacks » PR131 .O944 2005 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998-
Green Library » Stacks » DA16 .O95 1998 V.1

Literature Reference Resources

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » PR255 .C35 1999
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN1922 .W45 2009
Malden, MA : John Wiley & Sons, 2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PS25 .C59 2011
Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
Philosophy Library (Tanner) » Reference (non-circulating) » B72 .B565 1991 V.44
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN6707 .E49 2010 V.1
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PR9080 .A52 E53 2005 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Art & Architecture Library » Reference (non-circulating) » Z4 .O946 2010 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PR19 .O95 2006 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PR131 .O94 2000
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PR990 .O94 2011
New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN86 .L555 2006
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN3433.5 .R69 2009
Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2008.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN2189 .T494 2008
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN1993.5 .U6 W4942 2012 V.1
New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PS147 .D38 1996

Subject Searching

No results

Subject Databases

"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. It also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
"Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles"
Compact disc ed. Philadelphia, Pa., USA : Institute for Scientific Information, Inc., c1992-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z5937 .A8B
"Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books"
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
" Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis."
La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993
"Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics."

Proquest Social Science Databases

"Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."