You are here

Rhetorics of Trauma

PWR 1VK - Spring 2016 - Instructor: Hasseltine, V.
Last Updated: 18-Apr-2016

A guide to resources for PWR 1VK: Rhetorics of Trauma

Reference/Background Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

New York, NY : Facts on File, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » BF175.5 .P75 D63 2010
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2011
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RC552 .P67 O94 2012
Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2007.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RC552 .P67 T744 2007
First edition [1st ed.]
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » RC473.D54 D76 2014
San Diego : Academic Press, c2000.
Green Library » Information Center » HV8073 .E53 2000 V.1

Streaming Videos from Kanopy

Reference/Background Streaming Video from Kanopy

These online videos are particularly helpful for case study and diagnostic definitions.

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Selected Searchable Ejournals

You will find articles from these journals using databases (most will be found in PubMed/Medline), but you can also search these journals individually for articles from a very specific perspective. Look at your options in the Find Full Text linked page. Different providers have different date ranges.

White River Junction, Vt. : The Center, [1990]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
full text access from 1983-current.
[New York, N.Y.] : [Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers] : International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Järfälla] : Co-action Pub. ; [Amsterdam] : European Society for Traumatic Stress Studies, [2010]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, ©2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Thousand Oaks, Calif.] : Sage Publications, 2000-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Philadelphia, PA : Taylor and Francis, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Tallahassee, FL?] : Traumatology Forum Research Group, [1995]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Selected Databases

Try these suggested databases  and these additional:

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and also in the arts and humanities.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Primary Sources

Here are some examples of primary sources that reflect experiences of trauma through media such as art, literature, film, music.

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Los Angeles, CA] : USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Survivor testimonies from European Holocaust, 1939-1945; Armenian Genocide, 1915-1923; Nanjing Massacre, 1937; Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, 1994. When you visit the site for the first time, you will need to register for an account. Use your Stanford email address.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Rev. ed. Durham : Duke University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .M5 M465 2006