You are here

Sample Guide

Primary tabs

Background

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » F1026 .C6868 2012

Finding Books

The Stanford University Libraries--like most libraries in the U.S. and even globally--use Library of Congress Subject Headings as their means of categorizing books according to subject in a standardized way (referred to as "controlled vocabulary"). Catalogers assign these headings using prescribed rules for format, but their actual choices of headings are based on their personal understanding of a book's subject. What this means is that searching on a single subject heading will almost never retrieve all of the books a library owns on that subject. Therefore it's often good to experiment and see what other related headings exist and to look at the headings that have been assigned to a book you want to find more like. The Library of Congress provides a discussion of subject headings here.

Tips for searching Searchworks using subject headings:

If you are reviewing a record in Searchworks and find one of its subject headings useful, simply use it as a hyperlink. But keep in mind: catalogers often augment subject headings by adding subheadings that make them more specific--e.g., a geographical term, a time period, a format. Where you click on a subject heading's link will determine how much of the compound term is included in your new search.

Try it:  Architecture > Composition, proportion, etc. > Textbooks.

If you don't know the specific subject you're looking for but have a general idea of what it might be, start by restricting your search to the Subject field. Then pick some terms that you think might appear in the subject heading of an item you'd be interested in.

Try it:  If you're looking for books about the depiction of women in Medieval art, simply try typing the keywords "women," "Medieval," and "art" into the Subject search box. Here is the result. Open a few records and look at the subject headings. Notice that often one keyword belongs to one heading, while a second keyword belongs to another. Subject headings tend to work well in combination, since books' topics can be quite complex.

Literature Types

Literature

Artists' Books:
 
Artist/author : contemporary artists' books / Cornelia Lauf and Clive Phillpot.
New York : Distributed Art Publishers : American Federation of Arts, c1998.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .L37 1998 
Artists books : a critical survey of the literature.
New York : Granary Books, 1998.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .K55 1998
Artists books in the modern era 1870-2000 : the Reva and David Logan collection of illustrated books / Robert Flynn Johnson ; essay by Donna Stein.
London : Thames & Hudson ; [San Francisco] : Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, 2001.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .J66 2001 
Book art object / editor, David Jury.
Berkeley, Calif. : Codex Foundation, c2008.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .B643 2008 F
A century of artists books / Riva Castleman.
New York : Museum of Modern Art : distributed by Harry N. Abrams, c1994.
Special Collections » Gunst Collection (Non-circulating) » N7433.3 .C38 1994
The century of artists' books / Johanna Drucker.
New York : Granary Books, 1995.
Special Collections » Reference (Non-circulating) » N7433.3 .D78 1995 
Cover to cover : the artist's book in perspective / Rob Perrée.
Rotterdam : NAi Publishers, c2002.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .P47 2002
Breaking the rules : the printed face of the European avant garde 1900-1937 / edited by Stephen Bury.
London : British Library, 2007.
Art » Stacks » Z246 .B737 2007
Children's corner : libri d'artista per bambini / mostra a cura di Valerio Dehò ; autori, Valerio Dehò ... [et al.] = artists' books for children / exhibition curated by Valerio Dehò ; authors, Valerio Dehò ... [et al.].
Mantova [Italy] : Edizioni Corraini, 2007.
Art » Stacks » N7433.3 .C53 2007
No longer innocent : book art in America : 1960-1980 / Betty Bright.
1st ed. New York City : Granary Books : Distributed to the trade by D.A.P./Distributed Art Publishers, 2005.
Special Collections » Gunst Collection (Non-circulating) » XX(6097705.1)
The Russian avant-garde book, 1910-1934 / Margit Rowell and Deborah Wye.
New York : Museum of Modern Art : distributed by Harry N. Abrams, 2002.
Art » Stacks » N6988 .B66 R68 2002

1 ¢ life.

Databases

Toronto ; Buffalo, University of Toronto Press [1966-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » F1005 .D49 SUPPL
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Web resources