Sci-tech: Written communication

This guide includes scientific and technical papers and reports, dissertations and theses, reseach and grant proposals, science books, and web & apps.

Home

Writing matters

"Everyone, no matter what their field, needs the ability to communicate effectively in a range of situations. Academic and professional success depend upon it."

Writing Matters: Faculty Edition: "Nicholas Jenkins, Faculty Director of PWR, asked ten members of Stanford's faculty in the natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering about the importance of communication in their disciplines and about why writing matters to them."

Writing Matters: Student Edition: "Stanford undergraduate students in engineering, the humanities, mathematics, and the natural sciences talk about the importance of communication in their disciplines, and how their PWR experiences played a role in why writing matters to them."

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
The craft of scientific writing
3rd ed. New York : Springer, c1996.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .A37 1996
"The Craft of Scientific Writing is designed to help scientists and engineers--both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions--write about their work clearly and effectively. The author, who is both a writer and an applied physicist, approaches the subject in a fresh way. Using scores of examples from a wide variety of authors and disciplines, the book demonstrates the difference between strong scientific writing and weak scientific writing. The book includes many useful suggestions about approaching a wide variety of writing tasks--from laboratory reports to grant proposals, from internal communications to press releases--as well as a concise guide to style and usage appropriate for scientific writing." (publisher's description)

Technical writing

Developing quality technical information : a handbook for writers and editors
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall Professional Technical Reference, c2004.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .D417 2004
The essentials of technical communication
Third edition.
Engineering Library (Terman) » On reserve: Ask at circulation desk » T11 .T295 2014
Handbook of technical writing 10th edition
10th ed. New York : St. Martin's, c2012.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .B78 2012
How to write and publish a scientific paper
7th ed. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .D33 2012
How to write technical reports
Heidelberg ; New York : Springer, ©2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Risk communication: a handbook for communicating environmental, safety, and health risks
4th ed. [Piscataway, NJ] : IEEE Press ; Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Scientific Papers and Presentations
[Rev. ed.] [S.l.] : Academic Press, 2013.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Scientific writing 2.0 : a reader and writer's guide
Expanded ed. Singapore ; Hackensack, NJ : World Scientific, c2011.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .L456 2011
The technical writer's companion
3rd ed. Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2002.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » T11 .A376 2002
Writing and speaking in the technology professions : a practical guide
2nd ed. New York : IEEE Press, c2003.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .W75 2003
Writing for science
New Haven : Yale University Press, c2006.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .G626 2006
Writing for science and engineering
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Writing science : how to write papers that get cited and proposals that get funded
Oxford [U.K.] ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .S345 2012

* Biology

Communication skills for the biosciences : a graduate guide
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » R119 .D58 2009
Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing : life sciences
Don Mills, Ont. ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QH304 .N67 2011
Planning, proposing, and presenting science effectively : a guide for graduate students and researchers in the behavioral sciences and biolog
2nd ed. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH315 .H25 2006
Quantities, symbols, units, and abbreviations in the life sciences : a guide for authors and editors
Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c1999.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Reference » QH304.5 .Q36 1999
short guide to writing about biology
8th ed. Boston : Pearson, c2013.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QH304 .P43 2013
Successful scientific writing : a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences
3rd ed. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » R119 .M28 2008

Biology > authorship

  1. Angelika H. Hofmann, Yale University. 2019

  2. Karin Knisely, Bucknell University. 2017

  3. Victoria E. McMillan, Robert Arnold, Charles F. Priore. 2017

  4. Jan A. Pechenik (Biology Department, Tufts University). 2016

  5. Leslie Ann Roldan, Mary-Lou Pardue, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 2016

* Chemistry

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
Art of Scientific Writing
2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2004.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD9.15 .E23 2004
3rd ed. Cambridge, UK : RSC Pub., c2007.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD451.5 .Q36 2007
A short guide to writing about chemistry
Boston : Longman, c2010.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD9.15 .D38 2010
Write like a chemist : a guide and resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD9.15 .W75 2008
Writing across the chemistry curriculum : an instructor's handbook
Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, c2001.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD9.15 .K68 2001

* Engineering

essence of technical communication for engineers : writing, presentation, and meeting skills
New York : IEEE Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » T10.5 .H57 2000
The essentials of technical communication
Third edition.
Engineering Library (Terman) » On reserve: Ask at circulation desk » T11 .T295 2014
A guide to writing as an engineer
2nd ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, c2005.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .B396 2005
Guidelines for writing effective operating and maintenance procedures.
New York : Center for Chemical Process Safety, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1996.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP149 .G845 1996
International technical communication : how to export information about high technology
New York : Wiley, c1995.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QA76.9 .D6 H63 1995
Professional communication in engineering
Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T10.5 .S26 2006
Reporting results : a practical guide for engineers and scientists
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .V358 2008
Technical writing A-Z : a commonsense guide to engineering reports and theses
British English ed. New York, N.Y. : ASME Press, c2005.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .Y69 2005B
Technical writing for teams : the STREAM tools handbook
Piscataway, NJ : IEEE Press ; Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

* Geology

art and the science of writing geoscience reports
Victoria, B.C. : Brian Grant, 1999.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G73 1999
Communicating rocks : writing, speaking, and thinking about geology
Boston : Pearson, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .C67 2012
Geowriting : a guide to writing, editing, and printing in earth science
5th ed. Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1995.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G46 1995
Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing : geography & environmental sciences
2nd ed. Don Mills, Ont. ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green Library » Information Center » G70 .N67 2001

* Math & Stats

Chicago guide to writing about multivariate analysis
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2005.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » T11 .M484 2005
Handbook of writing for the mathematical sciences
2nd ed. Philadelphia, Pa. : Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM, 3600 Market Street, Floor 6, Philadelphia, PA 19104), 1998.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Mathematical publishing : a guidebook
Providence, RI : American Mathematical Society, c2005.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QA42 .K727 2005
More math into LaTeX
Fifth edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Practical LaTeX
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The TeXbook
Reading, MA : Addison-Wesley Pub. Co., c1984.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z253.4 .T47 K58 1984

* Medicine

Medical writing  : a guide for clinicians, educators, and researchers
2nd ed. New York : Springer, ©2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Psychiatric Report  : Principles and Practice of Forensic Writing
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2011
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Successful scientific writing : a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences
3rd ed. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » R119 .M28 2008

* Physics

AIP style manual
4th ed. New York, N.Y. : American Institute of Physics, 1990.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QC5.45 .A45 1990
For guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication. Prepared under the direction of the American Institute of Physics Publication Board. Images are available free-of-charge for downloading from this site in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF).

Dissertations & theses

Dissertations & theses

Crafting your research future
San Rafael, Calif. (1537 Fourth Street, San Rafael, CA 94901 USA) : Morgan & Claypool, c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The dissertation desk reference : the doctoral student's manual to writing the dissertation
Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2369 .C273 2009
How to prepare a scientific doctoral dissertation based on research articles
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » LB2369 .G87 2012
How to write a successful science thesis : the concise guide for students
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, 2006.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » LB2369 .R87 2006
How to write a thesis
3rd ed. Maidenhead : Open University Press, 2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Technical writing A-Z : a commonsense guide to engineering reports and theses
British English ed. New York, N.Y. : ASME Press, c2005.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T11 .Y69 2005B

Dissertations, Academic > Handbooks, manuals

  1. Kate L. Turabian ; revised by Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, William T. Fitzgerald, and the University of Chicago Press editorial staff. 2019

  2. Julian Kirchherr. 2018

  3. Kate L. Turabian ; revised by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, William T. FitzGerald, and the University of Chicago Press editorial staff. 2018

Grant proposals

More books on writing research and grant proposals

Los Angeles : Sage, 2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » PE1404 .D46 2012
1st ed. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2003.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » Q180.55 .G7 B53 2003
Grant writing for dummies
5th ed. Hoboken : Wiley, 2014.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Boca Raton : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, c2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 O78 2012
Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » HG177.5 .U6 C37 2015
Planning, proposing, and presenting science effectively : a guide for graduate students and researchers in the behavioral sciences and biolog
2nd ed. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH315 .H25 2006
5th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 L63 2007
2nd ed. Dordrecht ; New York : Springer Science+Business Media B.V., ©2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Scientific writing and communication, 3rd edition
Third edition.
Engineering Library (Terman) » On reserve: Ask at circulation desk » Q223 .H63 2017
Writing science : how to write papers that get cited and proposals that get funded
Oxford [U.K.] ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .S345 2012
2nd ed. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2009.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » Q180.55 .P7 F75 2009

Proposal writing for grants from SearchWorks

Below are titles at Stanford with the subject heading "Proposal writing for grants."

  1. Anne L. Rothstein. 2019

  2. John D. Robertson, Stephen W. Russell, David C. Morrison. 2019

  3. John D. Robertson, Stephen W. Russell, David C. Morrison. 2019

  4. Thomas F. Hilton, Carl G. Leukefeld. 2019

  5. John D. Robertson, PhD, Stephen W. Russell, DVM, PhD, David C. Morrison, PhD.. 2018

  6. Maria Kreiser. 2018

  7. Maria Kreiser. 2018

  8. Maria Kreiser, Julie Jennings. 2018

  9. Laura J. Anna, editor, Montgomery College Rockville, Maryland, Thomas B. Higgins, editor, Harold Washington College, Chicago, Illinois, Alycia Palmer, editor, Montgomery College, Rockville, Maryland, Kalyn Shea Owens, editor, North Seattle College Seattle, Washington. 2018

  10. Stephen W. Russell, DVM, PhD, David C. Morrison, PhD.. 2017

Science books

Science books / science in fiction

The Case for Books
New York : PublicAffairs, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » Z116 .A2 D37 2009
Reading and writing the electronic book
San Rafael, Calif. (1537 Fourth Street, San Rafael, CA 94901 USA) : Morgan & Claypool Publishers, c2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Science--dramatic : science plays in America and Great Britain, 1990-2007
Heidelberg : Winter, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » E169.1 .J332 V.180
Science Writers' Handbook
First Da Capo Press edition. Boston, MA : Da Capo Lifelong Books, a member of the Perseus Books Group, 2013.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .S354 2013

How to write science books

 How to write science books

"In this 2010 Web Focus from Nature magazine, five top science book writers offer advice for budding authors in a series of interviews in Nature's Books & Arts section.

  • Peter Atkins reveals the hard work behind a successful textbook;
  • Carl Zimmer highlights how passion is essential for popular science;
  • David Brin reveals how criticism improves his fiction writing;
  • Georgina Ferry shares research tips for biographies; and
  • Joanna Cole explains how to convey science to children."

books on science fiction

  1. Elizabeth Bear. 2020

  2. Eric Barnes. 2019

  3. translated by Yasmine Seale ; edited by Paulo Lemos Horta. 2019

Books on geology in literature

Books on technology in literature

Web & apps

Web & apps

Community-built databases
Berlin ; Heidelberg ; New York : Springer, ©2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Folksonomies. Indexing and Retrieval in Web 2.0
Berlin : De Gruyter/Saur, ©2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Forms that work
Amsterdam ; Boston : Morgan Kaufmann, 2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Get into bed with Google
Good faith collaboration: wikipedia
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2010.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » AE100 .R43 2010
LaTeX beginner's guide
Birmingham, UK : Packt, ©2011.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Letting Go of the Words
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Morgan Kaufmann Publishers, c2007.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Wikipedia : the missing manual
1st ed. Beijing ; Sebastopol, CA : O'Reilly, c2008.
Green Library » Lane Reading Room: Digital culture and humanities computing » TK5105.88823 .W54 B76 2008
Writing for visual media
Fourth edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
XML in technical communication
Croydon [England] : Institute of Scientific and Technical Communicators, 2008.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QA76.76 .H94 C68 2008
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking