Science fiction for children and young adults

This guide lists selected science fiction for children and young adults to be found in the Cubberley Library collections.  With series we list the first book, but we have others.

Recent received

Cover of The disasters
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .N454 D57 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E34884 D73 2019
Lexile measure 780; Ages 9-13; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN1991.77 .W3 J37 2018
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 10-14; Gr.5-9; Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book, 2019
Cover image of The lost compass
First paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O8455 L67 2017
Lexile measure 630; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .K77 A63 2016
Lexile measure 940; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .W58 C33 2018
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Dry
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H8645 D79 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .P735 Z47 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E825 N48 2018
Ages 13 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of The Forgetting
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A45343 F67 2016
Lexile measure 740;  Ages 14 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A3447 T66 2017
Lexile measure HL690L;  Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up;  Locus Awards Finalist for Young Adult Books, 2018
Cover image of These vengeful souls
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .H3547 T478 2018
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L58635 R47 2016
Lexile measure 820; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .K368 U54 2018
Ages 13 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Thunderhead
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H8645 T48 2018
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E974 R46 2017
Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L38 S47 2017
Lexile measure 670; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
Cover image of Landscape with invisible hand
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .N37449 L36 2017
Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R3813 I58 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N54397 M54 2017
Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
Cover image of The gauntlet
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .I28 G38 2017
Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .U22 W37 2017
Lexile measure 810; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T644 B53 2015
Lexile measure HL580L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .W435 S65 2017
Gr.10 and up
Cover image of On the edge of gone
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9130.9 .D89 O5 2016
Lexile measure HL640; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E4577 E47 2017
Lexile measure 800; Gr.7 and up

Elementary

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R722485 W55 2016
Lexile measure 740; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Guided reading R
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A5964 R33 2014
Lexile measure 660; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-5
First edition: July 2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A822 L54 2015
Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6057 .A319 F67 2013
Lexile measure 680; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6

Middle school

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C453 T46 2016
Lexile measure 830; Ages 14-17; Gr.7 and up
London : Atom, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A3447 D76 2012
Lexile measure HL690L; Ages 12-18; Gr.7-12; Guided readign Z
1st ed. New York : HarperTeen, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .E478 V37 2011
Lexile measure 640; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Y
San Francisco, Calif. : Chronicle Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3607 .L437 C56 2013
Lexile measure 880; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.7-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H3763 T47 2013
Lexile measure 830; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .H357 N64 2014
Lexile measure HL760L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
London : Young Arrow, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E476345 V57 2011
Lexile Measure 480; Book level 3.5; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H8645 T47 2014
Lexile measure 870; Ages 8-14; Gr.5-8
First edition. New York : Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books, Inc., 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R794 K55 2013
Lexile measure 860; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
Terre Haute, IN : Tanglewood, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .U453 A85 2011
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Feiwel & Friends, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E974 C56 2012
Lexile measure 790; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A83 M39 2009
Lexile Measure HL770L; Book level 5.3; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H8645 U59 2007
Lexile Measure 740; Book level 5; Ages 13 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
1st Simon Pulse hardcover ed. New York : Simon Pulse, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E854 L48 2009
Lexile measure 790; Ages 9-12; Gr.5-9
1st ed. Orlando : Harcourt, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .F37 L54 2006
Lexile measure 770; Book level 4.7; Ages 12-15; Gr.6-9; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E232 A63 2008
Lexile measure 570; Book level 3.8; ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12
1st U.S. ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .E498 K65 2008
Lexile measure 860; Book level 4.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O4556 H86 2008
Lexile measure 810; Book level 5.3; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
1st Simon Pulse ed. New York : Simon Pulse, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E854 U38 2005
Lexile Measure 770; Book level 5.2; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6-12; Guided reading Z
1st American ed. New York : HarperCollins, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6118 .E58 M67 2003
Lexile measure 990; Book level 6.6; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7-12; Guided reading X
1st Simon Pulse ed. New York : Simon Pulse, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .A7197 H68 2004
Lexile measure 660; Book level 5.1; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.7-12; Guided reading Z
New York, N.Y. : Sleuth Puffin, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E673 D68 2004
Lexile measure 690L; Book level 5; Ages 14 and up; Gr.7-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .O923 G58 1993
Lexile measure 760; Book level 5.7; Ages 12 and up; Gr.5-8; Guided reading Y

Young adult

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6118 .E58 R35 2016
Lexile measure 850; Ages 14 and up; Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy nominee, 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6118 .E58 R35 2016
Lexile measure 850; Ages 14 and up; Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy nominee, 2016
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E92384 A88 2016
Ages 14 and up; Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, winner 2016
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I566 D53 2016
Lexile measure HL810L; Ages 14 and up;  Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O8633 F68 2014
Lexile measure 850; reading level 5.5; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6118 .E5995 S69 2016
Lexile measure HL690L; Ages 12-18; Gr.8 and up
First Simon Pulse hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .U8595 W4 2016
Lexile measure HL800L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .D745 T86 2015
Ages 12-18; Gr.8-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A823 I45 2015
Grades 8-12; ages 13+
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6119 .E32 G49 2015
Lexile measure 920; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12; Printz Award honor book, 2016
First Simon & Schuster BFYR paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H8645 U53 2015
Lexile measure 870; Ages 12-18; Gr.9 and up
First Hyperion paperback edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .K368 T485 2014
Lexile measure 880; Ages 13 and up; Gr.8-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .U6558 M87 2014
Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
1st pbk. ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I4354 B53 2012
Lexile measure 610; Ages 12-18; Gr.9-12
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .U2 L44 2011
Lexile measure 710; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O315 S86 2013
Lexile measure 780; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.9-12
1st ed. New York : Harper, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O853 U53 2012
Lexile measure 580; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
1st American ed. New York : Holiday House, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .L693 C37 2009
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.4; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
1st paperback ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2004, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » On reserve: Ask at circulation desk » PS3601 .N5442 F44 2004
Lexile measure 770; Book level 4.4; Ages 12 and up;  Gr.9-12; Guided reading X
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I765 E44 2011
Lexile measure 790; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9-12
1st ed. New York : Katherine Tegen Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O8633 D58 2011
Lexile measure 700; Ages 13 and up; Gr.8-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A3447 S48 2010
Lexile measure HL690L; Book level 4.4; Ages 13 and up; Gr.9-12; Guided reading Z
1st trade pbk. ed. New York : Pocket Books, 2005, c1958.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3515 .E288 H38 2005
Lexile measure 770; Book level 5.9; Ages 13 and up;  Gr.9-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .M543 G73 2014
Lexile measure 910; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
1st pbk. ed. New York : Harper, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .L586 D45 2012
Lexile measure 920; Book level 6.1; Ages 14 and up; Gr.8-12; Guided reading Z
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3625 .A675 A615 2013
Lexile measure HL690L; Ages 15 and up; Gr.9-12; Guided reading Z
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I4725 A79 2015
Gr.9-12
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking