SearchWorks articles+

Articles+ is a new feature added to SearchWorks in fall 2017. It provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles, in thousands of databases, in a single search. 

Article search tips

1 For a known article, type author name and title in the main search box - or copy/paste from a citation. Example : block bioenergetics of captive yellowfin tuna
2 Start with keywords in the "All fields" search; add more keywords to refine. In articles+, adding more keywords to your search is often more effective than using facets.
3 Enter your search in lower case or mixed case, never in ALL CAPS Some upper-case words in your search may be interpreted as Boolean operators or field codes and will cause the search to fail.
4 For authors with common names, searching last name, first name brings the most relevant results to the top. Example : cornell, eric rather than eric cornell
5 Combine specific field searches using field codes: AU = Author; TI = Title; SU = Subject; SO = Journal/Source

Example : AU block, barbara SO science

Also available : AB = Abstract; IS = ISSN; IB = ISBN

6 Stopwords are disregarded, even in quotes. Searching for a title that contains only stopwords ("to be or not to be") is not possible. Try another approach: by author, subject, or by going directly to a topic-specific database
7 Not every source provides values for every facet; Geography in particular. Selecting facets (e.g., “Mexico” in the “Geography” facet) can exclude relevant items from your results simply because the items are from a source that doesn't provide that metadata.
8 Result counts are approximate; exact duplicates are removed from search results. A facet or result count may indicate there are more articles on a topic than the final result list actually delivers after de-duplication.
9 Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT (upper-case) can be combined with parentheses. Example : tuna (yellowfin OR bluefin)
10 Search for non-English titles in quotation marks. This helps ensure that non-English words like "su" and "de" are not interpreted as search codes.

11

Use wildcards to search for spelling or word variations

  • * for multiple letters
  • # for 0 or 1 letter (useful for British/American spellings)
  • ? for 1 letter
Example : comput* (finds computer, computing, computation)
Example : colo#r (finds color, colour)
Example : ne?t (finds next, nest, neat... but not net)

12

Remove "et al" and year+vol+issue+pages from citation searches.

Copy/pasted citation searches are very effective, but some details can make them fail. Most commonly:

  • "et al" for an author list
  • number/issue details for the journal. 

Example : 

Monllor Hurtado, Alberto, et al. "Shift in tuna catches due to ocean warming." fails
Monllor Hurtado, Alberto "Shift in tuna catches due to ocean warming." is successful

Online access to articles

Most of the articles, and even some of the metadata in articles+ are restricted to current Stanford faculty, staff, students, and approved affiliates only. 

On campus, and on the Stanford secure network

  • You should be able to see and link to most articles+ content.
  • You may be asked to log in (with your SUNet ID) to access articles from some content providers (this is contract-based).

On campus, but on Stanford Visitor network or eduroam

  • You will be in "guest mode". Some titles in the results will be hidden with this message:  "This title is not available for guests. Log in to see the title and access the article."
  • If you have a SUNet ID with access privileges, log in to see all content.

Off campus

  • You'll be in "guest mode" with some titles hidden. Log in to SearchWorks to see all articles+ content.

Off campus, on VPN

  • You'll still be in "guest mode" for articles+. Log in to SearchWorks to see all articles+ content.

What about browser configuration and proxy?

For detailed information, see Connecting to e-resources.

In simple terms:

  1. You do not need to configure your browser to connect to resources linked in SearchWorks articles+.
  2. Some e-resources in SearchWorks catalog may still require browser configuration; these will gradually be transitioned to the new, simpler style.

What's in articles+ (and what's not)?

Articles+ is built on Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS). EDS provides a massive, combined index of content from both Ebsco and other database providers.

Articles+ includes

  • most (but not all) of Stanford's e-journal and e-resource subscriptions
  • open-access sources such as Hathi Trust
  • "Topic overviews" for general searches, from reliable encyclopedic resources

...but does not include some key sources, such as

What does "combined index" mean?

Metadata from many sources

Publishers and content providers provide article metadata (author, title, subjects, abstract, etc.) to EDS. Each source has slightly different practices around the information they provide. Authors may be cited with their full name by one source, or last name and initial by another. Differences are especially noticeable across different disciplines, where the styles of subject headings can vary dramatically. EDS takes all this disparate content and smooths it out as much as possible without losing important distinctions. 

How this affects you: Linked subject searches on an article detail page will find all the other articles that use that style of subject heading, but may exclude relevant material from other sources. Follow links, but be aware that you may be narrowing your focus by more than just the topic.

De-duplication on the fly

Some articles are available from many sources. Exact duplicates are removed from search results as they are displayed. This means that the result count may not be completely accurate until you are looking at the final page of results.