Seeing Nature: The Power of Environmental Visual Rhetoric

PWR 1MS - Spring 2017 - Instructor: Stroud, M.

This guide is for PWR 1MS 'Seeing Nature: The Power of Environmental Visual Rhetoric' which explores environmental communication from the visual angle. 

Getting Started

  1. Use reference sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, and more.
  2. Find books, journal titles and media in Stanford's Online Catalog - Searchworks.
  3. Find articles in selected databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 2000 databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.
  4. See the library guides for finding images, especially Science Images, Photography, News, and Historical Images.
  5. Use a Bibliographic Management Tool to help you organize your research sources and generate bibliographies in multiple citation formats.

Background/Reference sources

New York : Facts On File, 2011.
Green Library » Information Center » GE150 .E53 2011 V.1
Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2007.
Green Library » Information Center » HM856 .E53 2007 V.1
Detroit : Greenhaven Press, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » GE105 .E5 2009

Journals on Science Communication and Images

Thousand Oaks : Sage Periodicals Press, c1994-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » SAGE
[New York, NY : Oxford University Press], 1951-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » WILEY
[Bristol] : Published by the Institute of Physics in association with the Science Museum, c1992-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » SAGE

Finding Newspapers

Suggested databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Industries,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library (Bowes) » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
New York : ARTstor
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub., [2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An amazing searchable collection of videos -- documentary, indie feature films, educational videos, and much more.

Writing Help

A list of resources to assist with writing and publishing for Earth Sciences.

2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2004.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD9.15 .E23 2004
PRINT ONLY. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors/scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide.
Boston : Pearson, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .C67 2012
PRINT ONLY. Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences, illustrating the importance of effective communication in geologic investigations. The book includes guidance on how to write an effective research paper, and the creation of PowerPoints, posters, a thesis, funding proposals, and more is covered in detail.
5th ed. Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1995.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G46 1995
PRINT ONLY. This introduction to writing, editing, and printing will help students and scientists cope with a process that many dread - the process that starts with a decision to write something for publication.
New York : Springer, c2011.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » T11 .B543 2011
ONLINE. This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals.