You are here

The Shape of Things: The Rhetoric of Design

Primary tabs

Guide for PWR 1 The Shape of Things: The Rhetoric of Design taught by Mark Taylor.

Suggested databases

This list of databases will lead you to articles, essays in collected works, book reviews, and more in the literature of design and beyond. Several suggested databases cover specific subject areas such as anthropology and sociology while xSearch searches across multiple databases and subjects at one time.

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
ProQuest database which contains article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This Ebsco database provides information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media, web design and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
[England] : Design Documentation
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
International index to over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Major areas of coverage include: Product design, Interior design, Graphic design, typography and type design, Advertising, Packaging, Web design, Computer aided design, Computer graphics.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
LexisNexis is a great resource for current topics. It provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
[New York, RILM]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ML118 .R574 V.33 1999 INDEX
RILM is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, with abstracts written in English. All scholarly works are included: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and reviews.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Scopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch allows you to search multiple databases at one time. Resources searched include abstracts and indexes that cover articles, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports.

Suggested reference sources

Reference works help you gather background information on your topic and will often lead to good bibliographies.

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

SearchWorks tips

SearchWorks is the name of the Stanford Libraries catalog. It contains records for books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, archival material and more. It does not contain records for articles. SearchWorks uses relevancy ranking in displaying search results, much like Google. You can do an “everything” search or, using the drop-down on the right, specify author, title or subject terms as your search type. You can then refine your search results by the index on the left, including format, location, language, date and more. 

Advanced search: This type of search allows you to search by author, title, topic, etc. by plugging the search terms into their own fields. You can then specify ALL search terms or ANY of your search terms. Think of this as AND and OR, respectively.

SearchWorks records include linked Subject terms which describe a particular item. Below are some Subject terms which relate to this class. Note how a main heading may further subdivide by subheadings like Social aspects, Environmental aspects, Catalogs, Exhibitions, etc. Linked headings will help you discover more material on your topic.

Design—Social aspects

Genetic engineering--Moral and ethical aspects

Web sites--Design