From Slacktivism to Hacktivism: The Rhetoric of Technology and Social Change

PWR 2EPA - Spring 2015 - Instructor: Polk, E.

A guide to resources for PWR 2EPA: From Slacktivism to Hacktivism: The Rhetoric of Technology and Social Change

(1) Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

London : Reaktion Books, 2002.
Green Library » Stacks » HM881 .J67 2002
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2012.
Art & Architecture Library (Bowes) » Stacks » NK1520 .D57 2012
London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
Green Library » Information Center » P96 .A44 C69 2007
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » HM1121 .C85 2010 V.1
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2011.
Green Library » Stacks » HM851 .E23 2011
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » P95.82 .U6 C62 2009
Los Angeles : SAGE Reference, c2011.
Green Library » Information Center » P96 .A44 E53 2011
also available online
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Green Library » Information Center » P87.5 .I585 2013 V.1
Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » JC491 .I58 2009 V.1
E-book
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Information Center » HM851 .O98 2007
See especially chapter: ICTs and political movements 

(2) Subject Search Terms (Searchworks)

(3) Selected e-journals for articles on digital media

You can search within these journals directly using these links.

Elmsford, N.Y. : Pergamon Press, c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .C65 V.25:NO.1 2009
London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, c2005-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bristol : Intellect, c2005-
Green Library » Current periodicals
Hanover, NH : Dartmouth College, Dept. of Film and Television Studies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Palo Alto, Calif. : SNCR Press
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Berkeley, CA : Berkeley Electronic Press [Hoboken, NJ] : Wiley
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

(4) Selected databases and websites

Suggested databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
New York, N.Y. : Public Affairs Information Service, Inc., 1991-2015.
Green Library » Information Center » Z7163 .P3 V.24 PT.2 2014
This database is good for scholarly articles on public policy.
Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, [199-]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains working papers from biases and unbiased think tanks, NGOs and government organizations.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Really interesting site - working papers - some shared only with members of SSRN - very current stuff
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy