You are here

Sound recordings

Last Updated: 21-Jan-2014

This topic guide includes recommended print and online resources relating to the history of sound recording, discographies, periodicals / journals, and general reference publications relating to recorded sound. 

Subject Librarians

Jonathan Manton
Sound Archives Librarian
(650) 725-8862

Search for recordings

History of sound recording

 The following offer excellent overviews of the history of recorded sound. They examine the technological advances in sound recording, from its inception to today's digital environment; the sound recording industry; and finally the impact recorded sound has had on performance practice.  A number of other resources have been published that go into greater detail about particular record labels, formats, or time periods, but the ones below are suggested as starting points as they cover the topic more broadly. 

2nd ed. Cambridge ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Stacks » ML1055 .M47 2005
Rev. ed. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2010.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3790 .K277 2010
test
New and updated ed., 1st Picador ed. New York : Picador, 2011.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3785 .R67 2011
Chapter 3 - Infernal machines: how recordings changed music (p. 55-68)
1st ed. New York : Faber and Faber, 2009.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3838 .M645 2009
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2009.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3790 .S88 2009
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Green Library » Stacks » TK7881.4 .M674 2004

General reference

2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2005.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .S67 E5 2005 V.1
[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press
Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. 
Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press [1970, c1966]
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.2 .C647 1970
Also available as a PDF online.  

Discographies

Print

The Archive of Recorded Sound holds the majority of discographies ever committed to print. Each publication presents inventories of recordings, commonly arranged either by record label, artist, genre, or time period. 

  1. compiled by Craig Martin Gibbs. 2013

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.4 .B56 G53 2013

  2. William R. Bryant ; edited and with an introd. by Allan Sutton. 2012

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.2 .B735 2012 V.1

  3. sous la direction de Bertrand Dermoncourt. 2012

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.9 .D59 2012

  4. Dave Lewis. 2012

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.7 .L4 L482 2012

  5. James H. North. 2011

    Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.7 .K67 N67 2011

Periodicals / Journals

Fairfax, Va. : Association for Recorded Sound Collections, c1986-
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128 .P28 A84 V.41-42 2010-2011
Quarterly journal of the Association for Recorded Sound Collections.
[London : C. Mackenzie, 1923?-
Music Library » Stacks (Limited loan) » ML156 .G747 V.90:NOS.1090-1096 2012-2013
Monthly publication, dating back to 1923, which provides reviews of recent releases and historical reisssues. Also includes reviews of audio equipment. 
[Naperville, Ill., etc.] International Association of Jazz Record Collectors.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.4 .J3 I58 V.45:NO.3 2012:SEPT
Quarterly journal of the International Association of Jazz Record Collectors.
Canberra, A.C.T. : IASA, c1993-
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML5 .P5742 NO.36-39 2011-2012
Semiannual journal of the International Association of Sound Archives.
[S.l.] : Media History Digital Library.
The Media History Digital Library contains digital scans of media periodicals and fan magazines pertaining to sound recordings from 1904 to 1963
[Washington, etc., 1934- ]
Music Library » Stacks (Limited loan) » ML25 .M98 V.69:NO.3-4 2013
Quarterly journal of the Music Library Association.
Ipswich [Eng.]
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.9 .R306 V.57 2012
Quarterly journal of recorded vocal art.