You are here

Television Studies, Television News

Last Updated: 30-Aug-2012

Television Studies, Television News

Network Television


Center for the Study of Popular Television

Museum of Broadcast Communications
Includes the Encyclopedia of TV.

Television News Archive
Database of news broadcasts.Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player.

Program/Series Guides, Credits and Plot Summaries

Internet Movie Database
Nearly comprehensive site for production credits, synopses, etc.
Comprehensive epidsode guides, cast info.


"Film and Television production services handbook online, the search engine for international production services."
Internation Film and TV Production Resources

The Art of Film and Television Music.

Television Production Basics

Television Production Handbook

Televison Production Tips


Critical Studies in Television: Schoalrly Studies for Small Screen Fictions
Sponsored by Machester Metropolitan University, UK.


Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Golden Globe Awards

Humanitas Prize
Writers award honoring human values in TV and film.

Telly Awards
Honors outstanding local, regional, and cable television commercials and programs as well as non-broadcast video and film productions.

Peabody Awards


Kaleidoscope: The Classic Televison Organization
Resources on classic British television

British TV History
British site with resources on US and UK television

Television Heaven
British site with resources on US and UK television

Public Television


National Public Broadcasting Archives
Cooperative effort between CPB, PBS and NPR, the Academy for Educational Development, and the University of Maryland.

Comments? Please Send to:

Dr. Henry E. Lowood
ph.: (650) 723-4602
Fax: (650) 725-1068

Subject Librarians

Curator, History of Science & Technology Collections: Film & Media Collections
(650) 723-4602