United States History
The American History collections have been an integral part of the Stanford University Library since its founding in 1891, with particular strengths in California history, the history of American railroads, and U.S. Government Documents.
Important early accessions include Timothy Hopkins' donation of over 2,000 items from his personal railroad library, which in expanded form became the Hopkins Transportation Library. Hopkins also donated a set of mammoth-plate albums of photographs taken by prominent San Francisco photographer Carleton Watkins. Leland Stanford's personal papers contain correspondence, speeches, and journals integral to the study of 19th century California politics.
In 1895, Stanford was designated an official depository of publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office. The first respectable collections of early government documents were secured for the University by Leland Stanford, then a U.S. Senator for California. Stanford's collections in American history were further bolstered by San Francisco Judge Elmer E. Robinson's 1939 donation of his collection containing books, newspapers, manuscripts, and photographs dealing with American history from the American revolution to the Civil War. In the later 20th century, the library's holdings in American history have been bolstered by the acquisition of important manuscript collections dealing with African-American history (Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation Collection) and Asian-American history (Emory M. Lee Papers).
Table of Contents
- America: History & Life
- American Memory (Library of Congress)
- American National Biography
- The American Presidency Project (University of California Santa Barbara)
- Avalon Project (Yale University Law School) Legal, historical, and diplomatic documents
- Digital Collections @ Stanford Collections Include the California Legislative Journal Appendixes, Dime Novels Full Text, Documents to the People, the GATT Digital Library, Medieval & Modern Thought, the R. Buckminster Fuller Collection, the Stanford Historical Photograph Collection, the 1924-1927 Survey of Race Relations, and more
- Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia)
- Historical Statistics of the United States (1975 print edition)
- Historical Monographs (Cornell Library)
- Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present
- The Making of the Modern World : The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature
- New York Public Library Digital Collections
- The Online Library of Liberty Classic texts on individual liberty, constitutional government, and the free market
- United States Congressional Serial Set
- U.S. Supreme Court (Oyez Project)
- America's Historical Newspapers : featuring Early American newspapers, 1690-1922
- California Digital Newspaper Collection Searchable facsimiles of selected California newspapers, including the Daily Alta California (1850-1890) and The Call (1899-1910)
- Chronicling America : historic American newspapers
- ALCS History E-Books Project
Guidebooks and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can provide useful descriptions, overviews, and lists of recommended reading on a topic.
- Guide to U.S. Elections
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Peter W. Williams, editors
- A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government / Editor-in-Chief George Thomas Kurian
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature / General Editor, Mary Beth Norton
- The Oxford Companion to United States History / Editor-in-Chief, Paul S. Boyer
- A Statistical History of the American Electorate
- Dictionary of American History / Stanley I. Kutler, Editor-in-Chief The latest version of a classic encyclopedia of U.S. history with articles of varying lengths written by historians. Includes brief bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of American History / Gary B. Nash
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
- Encyclopedia of American Economic History : Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
- Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System : Studies of the Principal Institutions and Processes of Law
- The Encyclopedia of American Political History / edited by Paul Finkelman
- Encyclopedia of American Political History / Jack P. Greene, editor
- Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience : Studies of Traditions and Movements / Charles H. Lippy and Peter W. Williams, editors
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century / Stanley I. Kutler, Editor-in-Chief