You are here

Casey A Mullin

Head, Data Control Unit


  • (650) 736-0849


Casey's role in the library

I lead the Data Control Unit, or data "clean-up crew" for SUL's vast collections. Our duties are wide-ranging, but with one overarching goal: the continued improvement of access to all library resources. As a metadata librarian, I also serve on the SearchWorks team, contributing to the ongoing enhancement of SUL's discovery environment in an advisory and consultative role.

Professional activities

Having a strong background in music, I am currently engaged in a number of professional service activities. In the Music Library Association, I serve on the Subject Access Subcommittee and Genre/Form Task Force, both within the Bibliographic Control Committee. Most recently, I have served as chair of the RDA Music Implementation Task Force, which is charged with developing and disseminating best practices for music cataloging under the new code Resource Description and Access. I also currently serve as Treasurer of the Music OCLC Users Group.

Selected publications

Review of Directions in Music Cataloging (forthcoming, in Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association, 2012)

Review of “International Music Score Library Project/Petrucci Music Library” (Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association, 67(2), December 2010)

With J. Riley, C. Hunter. “Automatically Batch Loading Metadata from MARC into a Work-Based Metadata Model for Music” (Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, 47(6), July 2009)

With J. Harden, et al. BCC Working Group on Work Records for Music: Final report" (July 2008)

With A. Berry, C. Colvard, J. Riley. "Definition of a FRBR-based Metadata Model for the Indiana University Variations3 Project: Phase 2: FRBR Group 2 & 3 Entities and FRAD" (July 2008)

Musikproduction Höflich (Repertoire Explorer series) - Munich, Germany

  • Preface to: Bridge, F. (2012). String quartet no. 3.

  • Preface to: Suk, J. (2011). String quartet no. 1 in B-flat Major, op. 11.

  • Preface to: Nielsen, C. (2011). Kleine Suite, op. 1.

  • Preface to: Arensky, A. S. (2010). Piano quintet in D Major, op. 51.

  • Preface to: Chausson, E. (2009). Concert, op. 21.

  • Preface to: Arensky, A. S. (2009). Variationen über ein Thema von Peter Tschaikowsky, op. 35a.


MLS, Indiana University, School of Library and Information Science
BMus, Western Washington University