William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

The Stanford University Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation jointly award the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, a biennial competition for newly-published books.

The prize commemorates the life, legacy and intentions of William Saroyan - author, artist, dramatist, composer - and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.

The entry period for the 2016 Prize closed on January 29, 2016. We will begin accepting submissions for the 2018 Prize (for books published in 2016 and 2017) in the fall of 2016.

2014 winners

Long Division
Green Library » Stacks » PS3612 .A959 L66 2013
Riddle of the Labyrinth
First edition.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » P1038 .F69 2013

2014 finalists

First edition.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3612 .U538 F33 2013
A Marker to Measure Drift
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3613 .A37 M37 2013