William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

The Stanford Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation jointly award the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, a biennial competition for newly-published books.

The prize commemorates the life, legacy and intentions of William Saroyan - author, artist, dramatist, composer - and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.

Congratulations to Claire Oshetsky and Wayétu Moore, winners of the 2022 Saroyan Prize!

2022 winners

Chouette: A Novel (Ecco, 2021) by Claire Oshetsky
First edition
Green Library » Stacks » PS3615 .S39 C48 2021
The Dragons, the Giant, the Women: A Memoir (Graywolf Press, 2020) by Wayétu Moore
Green Library » Stacks » DT636.53 .M66 A3 2020

2022 finalists

A Sense of the Whole, stories (Orison Books, 2020) by Siamak Vossoughi
Green Library » Stacks » PS3622 .O88 S46 2020
Kin: A Memoir (Bloomsbury Publishing, 2021) by Shawna Kay Rodenberg
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » CT275 .R7538 A3 2021