Databases

Databases Menu

Key databases and A-Z lists

Below is a list of key databases for the Science Library. Some resources are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at Stanford. To use licensed resources from off-campus, please see connect from off-campus.   Report connection problems using this online form.

For a comprehensive list, please browse A-Z lists of databases for Agriculture, Forestry, and Wildlife | Aquatic Sciences | Biology | Chemistry and Chemical Engineering | Environmental Studies | Mathematical Sciences | Science (General) |  Statistical and Numeric Data | Toxicology and Chemical Safety | All Databases.   An A-Z list of selected Chemistry and Chemical Engineering databases with descriptions is also available.

Annual reviews
Biosis citation index
CAB abstracts
CSD enterprise
Current index to statistics
DeepResearch
Engineering village
Inspec
MathSciNet
PubMed
Reaxys
Science of Synthesis
SciFinder
Scopus
Web of science core collection
Zoological record

About key databases

Annual reviews [electronic resource] / Annual Reviews, Inc.
Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
BIOSIS citation index [electronic resource].
[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Biosis is a comprehensive source for life sciences and biomedical research from nearly 6,000 life sciences journals plus abstracts from meetings, books and patents. Search options include using taxonomy, MeSH, CAS registry numbers, Sequence Databank Numbers, and Major Concepts. Updated weekly, covers 1926--present. Cited reference searching finds more recent works that cite an earlier document of interest
CAB Abstracts [electronic resource].
CAB abstracts
Wallingford, Oxfordshire : CAB International, [19--]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The database indexes literature published from 1910 to the present. Over 9,000 serials representing 125 countries are indexed in full or in part.
CSD-Enterprise.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
CSD-Enterprise includes everything in the CSD-System, CSD-Discovery and CSD-Materials, software and application data for the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), the world’s only comprehensive, up-to-date, and fully-curated knowledge base of small molecule crystal structures.  Stanford also has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. (Structure Searching)
Current index to statistics.
Current Index to Statistics wordcloud
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:8.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:107%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri",sans-serif; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} Primary index for the statistical sciences; there is some overlap with MathSciNet. Covers articles in journals, edited books and proceedings from before 1975 up to roughly last year.
DeepResearch
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
DeepResearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 96 resources in DeepResearch include abstracts and indexes, datasets, full-text ejournal and ebooks, funding opportunities, methods and protocols, patents, streaming media, technical reports, chemical safety information, plus more.
Engineering village [electronic resource].
Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
INSPEC [electronic resource].
Inspec
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898.
MathSciNet [electronic resource] / American Mathematical Society.
MathSciNet
Providence, RI : American Mathematical Society, c1996-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Primary index in the United States for mathematics published after 1940, MathSciNet also gives you access to Current Mathematical Publications, a current-awareness journal that lists the latest books and journal articles in mathematics.
PubMed [electronic resource].
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
Reaxys [electronic resource].
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Science of synthesis [electronic resource] : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations.
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
SciFinder [electronic resource].
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Also includes access to MethodsNow, a curated collection of methods in analytical and synthetic chemistry. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Scopus [electronic resource].
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Web of science core collection.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
The Zoological record : being records of zoological literature.
Zoological Record
London, J. Van Voorst [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 016.59 .Z872 V.136:NO.19-20 2000
Indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present. Zoological Record has long been recognized as the "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics, but other topics in animal biology are also covered.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking