skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
MATHEMATICAL AND COMPUTER SCIENCES LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Guides & Publications

Resources in Computer Science | Library Resources in Math & Statistics | Guide to Resources in Computer Science | Guide to Resources in Math & Statistics

Technical Reports and Technical Notes

Searching for Technical Reports held at the Math/CS Library

All technical reports held by the Math/CS Library can be found in Socrates, the online catalog for the Stanford University Libraries, by searching for the title of the report.

The collection includes computer science, mathematics, statistics, and operations research technical reports from various sources around the world from the mid-1950's to the present. The bulk of the collection is composed of computer science-related reports issued by U.S. institutions from the 1970's and 1980's. Many were later published in magazines and refereed journals.

Of the approximately 56,000 technical reports in the collection, about 30% are freely available online as of this writing through institutional Web sites. You may contact the librarian if you need assistance determining whether or not a particular technical report is online, as not all links are in the catalog. You should also check the list of Sources of TRs and online papers beyond Stanford below.

Searching for and Downloading Stanford Computer Science Technical Reports and Notes

The most recent technical reports (2000+ ) can be found at http://hci.stanford.edu/cstr/ and are only available online. For technical reports prior to 2000, use Socrates, the online catalog for the Stanford University Libraries, to search for technical reports or browse the Computer Science Department technical reports and notes available online (with abstracts) by decade and by type. Click on the link of the report (if available) to download a copy from the ftp site. Please note that only some Stanford technical reports are available online.

If your browser is set up to use an ftp client (e.g., WS-FTP), go to ftp://db.stanford.edu/pub/cstr. Click on "reports", then click on each folder (subdirectory) as indicated in the report number. For example, if you are looking for report number CS-TR-74-433, click on "cs", then "tr", then "74", then "433".

Otherwise use anonymous ftp. FTP to db.stanford.edu/pub/cstr. Set binary. Use the pathname for the report number. For example, if you are looking for CSL-TR-98-555 use the path /reports/csl/tr/98/555. Or if you are looking for CS-TR-98-999 use the path /reports/cs/tr/98/999.

Other sources of Stanford CS-related TRs and papers

  • Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA)
  • Knowledge Systems Laboratory (KSL)
  • Stanford Concurrency Group (Boole group)
  • Stanford Concurrency Group (Chu spaces)
  • Stanford Distributed Systems Group (DSG)
  • Stanford Medical Informatics (SMI)
  • Stanford Scientific Computing Computational Mathematics Program (SCCM)
  • Stanford SUIF Compiler Group
  • Stanford University Database Group
  • Stanford University Computer Science Department
  • Stanford Mathematics & Statistics TRs

    Most technical reports from the Mathematics and Statistics Departments are not available online. However, some faculty have made their reports available, so check their individual web sites. Abstracts of reports (in PDF and PostScript) issued by the Statistics Department for 1997 to the present are available at http://stat.stanford.edu/research/index.html.

    Sources of TRs and online papers beyond Stanford

  • Guide to Technical Reports
  • Online Technical Report Organizations
  • Virtual Technical Reports Center
  • DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
  • CiteSeer (aka ResearchIndex)
  • Related topics

  • Digital Libraries Project
  • About the NCSTRL project
  • Computer Science Technical Reports Project (MIT node)
  • Legal Issues

    Authors of these technical reports have granted Stanford University non-exclusive rights to distribute, perform, and display these works. The copyright remains with the author. You may copy a report provided that you agree to respect the author's copyright, please contact the author for information regarding authorized uses. A report may be copied for scholarly, non-commercial purposes, such as research or instruction. Reports may not be excerpted unless due acknowledgement is given the author. Moreover, we do not know what additional arrangements authors may have made concerning these reports. Therefore, in copying a report, you are assuming whatever legal responsibilities copying any document might entail.

    Electronic Collections

  • Electronic Journals
  • Newspapers
  • Reference Shelf
  • Forms for submitting technical reports

    Elib is currently not accepting new technical reports. It is an experimental server and is to be used for testing and evaluation purposes only and is subject to change without notice.

    Linda Yamamoto


    Last modified: May 31, 2006

       
    seal ©2005 The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University. All rights reserved.